Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

1564565566567568570»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭Village87

Typical Galway, absolutely pathetic. The absolute state of them for 60 mins, they are an embarrassment. Tipp will put them out of there misery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭Topcat32

Kilkenny minors are nothing, Galway an embarrassment, what are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭me89

People will say Galway were poor, like every kilkenny match it's the opposition are crap and just ignore the work rate and effort we put in to stop others playing.

TJ exceptional in the air again what a warrior, add Cody back into that forward line and we can match anyone.

Huw simply outstanding, the best defender in the country.

The team are right where they need to be and had strength coming in off the the bench. Good kilkenny crowd in Dublin after all the talk. Winning Leinster never get boring.

Hon the **** CATS!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Kilkennyfaithful

Though Cian Kenny played and worked hard through out. Plays very similar to Cian Lynch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭hogans heroes

GGood Kilkenny crowd in croke park and vocal.watching Kilkenny play since 1971 and have never seen z better full back than Huw Lawlor.Brillant also from TJ today.Hope the minors can drive on next weekend in wexford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,363 ✭✭✭blackcard

We were lucky to have some good full backs. JJ, Noel Hickey, Pat Dwyer. Huw is definitely the best at driving out with a ball, great fielder too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,100 ✭✭✭kksaints

That 10 minute scare at the end of the second half aside we were much much better than Galway in the 2nd half and deserved the win. Still have a frustrating habit of going out of the game for periods of halves and we've really poor scenario defending (the Galway goal should never have happened, the whole defense should have been much deeper and there should have been no other option but to hit it over the bar) but our best is very good.

Thought the midfield and half back line were immense today particularly Kenny and Molloy. The two lads got through a massive amount of work and more importantly used the ball well when they got it. Carey bar one bad shot in the 1st half also had a good game and Deegan while he made a few errors hit an absolutely monster point in the 2nd half. Richie Reid as a sweeper and spare man is really useful and he has a good eye for keeping the play flowing but when teams push up he's a liability and that a really awkward choice for Lyng and Co next time out.

Lawlor was a colossus in the full back line today. He made some incredible catches in both halves, used the ball really well also. Tommy Walsh had a tougher afternoon and was under pressure before he was subbed.

In the forwards Mossy got 2-2 from play and was heavily involved in TJ's goal. TJ himself was very good and much better than the Wexford match bar a few missed frees. The ball into him has to be on the money, he's not the play of five or so years ago that could make anything happen regardless of the pass but when he gets the ball he's still dynamite. Mullen scored 4 points from play and stood up when we were under pressure at the end. John Donnelly and Billy Ryan put a lot of effort and work in and were much better shooting than I initially thought. Stephen Donnelly will also have better days ahead of him and he still scored two from play.

Overall, it's always nice to win Leinster, not a performance to put the fear into Limerick or Cork but we've four weeks to work on the Semifinal now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Bar those unforgivable 10 minutes of just switching off completely that was comfortable. Incredible that they let them back into it like that. TJs best game in the championship. Mossy excellent, Billy excellent, Kenny excellent, Lawlor absolute king. Anyone not jumping out of their seat for 3 of those catches has better self control than me. Delighted Billy Ryan finished the last one although I would have killed for Lawlor to knock it over himself. As mentioned earlier it would've been great for Donnelly to finish his one after the rob on Whelan but he was off again today. Need him firing for Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Neewollah

Not sure what to make of that game. Great to get the win but still plenty to work on. The switch off again after the 2nd goal is a big worry. Lawlor is a beast. To be honest I thought our half back line was pretty anonymous. Carey showed some flashes but we need huge improvement there all round. We did look weak through middle. Midfield was good, Kenny has turned into a real leader. Mullen played well but not sure I like him dropping as deep as regularly as he does. Ryan steady again. John Donnelly decent but below last year's levels at the moment. TJ and Mossy did well off scrappy ball. Stephen Donnelly was OK but probably needs another year or 2 to fully bed into this level.

Time now to build for semi, plenty to get right. Hopefully they can get up to another level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

i know he's retired 10years now but JJ Delaney wasnt just a good fullback/defender.. he was the best ever.. you just need to look at his highlights video by Maurice Walsh photography on facebook to remind yourself of how good he was.. brilliant..

i fell asleep during game.. did Mackessy get a run???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Ha ha! 😂 Fair play for admitting you fell asleep alright. That second half was a hard watch.

Jj was outstanding but he didn't have lalors pace. Himself and gillane will be some battle if it comes to pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭jamesbond2022

Up the bloody cats

F**ck the begrudges naw sayers and negative nellys

It was a privilege to watch Mullen Tj lawlor Carey mossy and others in Croke park today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭conor05

No, Mackessy didn’t get a run. The only forwards who came on were Luke Hogan and Harry Shine.

A good chance now over the next 4 weeks to get Eoin Cody back fully fit as he will be needed for what looks like an All Ireland semi final v Limerick.

Limerick are beatable, a lot of their players looked tired yesterday but the level will have to up again from today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Box to box

Well done to everyone today. It's being touched on already but our wides in the first half should of had us further ahead. I know Galway were poor but to be fair kk played some good hurling the first quarter of the 2nd half. I dunno if it was the subs or what but a complete shutdown after that. Mullen got a hugely important point to settle things. I know every team will have it's purple patch but 1-6 without reply Is a lot. It's not good enough. Talking to lads coming out and we're never happy,terrible match,Galway useless. In a few year time we'll be losing them. Kk are judged from here on in. Leister isn't a currency. Like I said the other day cooney destroyed Tommy 2 years ago and it was obvious they went after him again and he was in bother in the first half. Murphy should push him hard and should start IMO. Cody could of being chanced but wasn't. They will have a dilemma the next day because he has missed a lot of hurling. Stephen donnelly is a big addition from last year. First big match and although ran out of steam I'd still start him. The find of the year is molloy. We have struggled for years in midfield and infairness Kenny has become a leader but they compliment each other very well. We probably are a little better than last year but it's the next day we will be judged. The 4 weeks is a big help.

Delighted for Brian dowling it's another feather in his cap. I'd like to give him a few years with the u20.laois will be very disappointed. All mustn't of being well when Rowland left and cha dwyer recently. Great for kildare. Big population and a win like that will inspire young lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 njcat

Encouraged by the impressive form for the first 25 mins of the 2nd half; higher gear; great work rate throughout the field; controlled the game; some great points; 2nd goal was a vg turnover and Mossy laid off the pass to give TJ lots of time.

We know Galway are decent when given space in their usual last 10 min surge and we strangely dropped a couple of gears after the 13 point lead. We did recover when they cut the lead by 9. As Eoin remarked to RTE, we need to play for the fill 70.

Cian Kenny and Huw Lalor outstanding today. Mossy showed great poaching skills and alertness for 2 goals. All the other players had a good time.

Hopefully, all are fit and we are flying for the semi in 4 weeks. Limerick yesterday were well off their peak of 3 weeks ago and only time will tell if mileage is catching up with them or they decided to hold back for the Croke Park games - their favourite venue. Munster games much tougher route again and this may sharpen or hinder Cork, Limerick and Tipp; still 6 Leinster games in a row with little rest is demanding and may result in better endurance than 2022-2024.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭usualstripes

Great position for lyng to be in now. 4 weeks to a semi final mote than likely against Limerick. Hurled well enough, was happier this evening coming out than any other match this year. Yes, we took the foot off the pedal but lyng will be hammering this home to all of them now. TJ getting into the right spaces today, as was mullen, who got some wonderfulscores.. Mossy with 2 goals and a few exceptional points. Billy Ryan with some great points. Carey an exceptional second half, Lawlor a colossus at full back. Richie Reid given a lot of space at times, and giving good ball into the inside forwards. He will be disappointed in letting his man round him for the goal.

I'd say we had 12-15 thousand there today which was good to see.

The next 4 weeks is the most critical for the whole year for the lads and id say they will relish it. Having Eoin Cody back will also be a shot in the arm for the panel. Looking forward to it already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,595 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

TJ won his 14th Leinster senior Inter-county medal today... I think he holds the record outright now

Edit: Mea cupla... Noel Skehan has 14 Leinster medals also.

TJ might go for a 15th next year 😉

Post edited by dastardly00 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭Topcat32

First Leinster winning captain since 1947 from Thomastown I believe, went on to have some great players such as Ollie Walsh, Tom Walsh, Peter Prendergast (Colm Whelan who plays with Bohemians grandfather) and Dick O'Hara but never a captain obviously because we never won the county championship, a healthy and regular provision of players from Callan, Castlecomer, Johnstown, Thomastown, Graignamanagh and the southern outskirts of Waterford city is important for the continued and inproved success to Kilkenny

Would Noel skehan have 12 or 13 Leinster medals ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,595 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Actually, Wikipedia says he has 14 Leinster medals! I'll edit my post

Was thinking he would have been in and around that with so many all Ireland medals and no back door back then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭hogans heroes

John donnellys form is worrying. Needs to to find his shooting boots the next day with Cody likely to be fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭The_Ghost

stopped hurling with 10 to go made it close enough but we done enough thank god. Plenty to work on and IMO Galway are poor but still. Tactics again tho we’re strange, going short puck out in first half and letting them go short? First half was bad now I thought but when the chips were down who showed up? TJ again, before the goal got a savage catch was 3 vs 1 unlucky nuff be blown for steps I thought, very next ball got it caught it hit good strike which mossy tapped in, ( sums up TJ imo if had to score be on highlights everywhere but he sets everything up). Mullen brilliant and Huw Lawor deserved player of match. Been going Kilkenny games for 20 odd years I’ve never seen anybody like him. What a hurler, best defender in Ireland and has been for a while. We need Cody back but look we’re there again 4 weeks off bring on Limerick. TJ scored a goal every game he’s played in championship this year? Missed a few frees today but next day id want nobody else standing over em. Bad weekend last weekend but seniors is where it matters, up the cats. Also thought scruff hit few decent puck outs in second half! But the goal was shocking lawor was lazy then passed him onto Reid who was just as lazy marking him