Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

1411412413414415417»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭prishtinaboy99

Would prefer if we played next week, we thrive on momentum when it’s positive momentum…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭moby2101

Hunger is great sauce.
    Fair play lads, deserved winners on the day.
    Enjoy the celebrations.
    See ye down the line all going well👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭Seadin

I thought we would perform to restore pride but didn't see us having enough to match Limerick at home. You just never know in sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭newhouse87

Fair play lads, thought ye just deserved it and have shown again ye can match and obviously beat them when it matters. Couldn't but like pat ryan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Great win...but lots of questions still. Is Horgan still worth a starting place? Thought he was poor again today...maybe an impact sub suits him better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,586 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

I thought Kingston had a big part to play in the win, fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭Jizique

Thought the same. He's not fast enough any more I think. Age is catching up with him. Missed a few frees as well today.

Delighted for Lehane. He was getting alot of stick before for not performing.

Not so sure about Robbie o flynn, headless at times when he has the ball and lads Cahalane did alright but gave a way two stupid frees. They are all costly when games are this tight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,817 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Hoggie is well worth his place. 7 points today. 3 from play. He missed a few but thats because he has such high standards, it feels strange! Limerick missed a few frees too so the wind must have been very hard to judge.

Kngston got 3 points too and Lehane with 2 points.Lehane set up another point and was fouled for a free too. The input from the bench was crucial!!

In fairness, I am the first to give about Collins all the time. The goal he conceded was poor from his point of view and in the extra time, he went short when we had the wind. Limerick promptly put it over the bar and I was gong mad as it was a giveaway. But to see him before the penalties, he looked really relaxed and came up with the goods so he shut me up there!

I have been saying this non stop. We finish games really strongly and its a testaments to our fitness levels. I thought Limeick faded a bit. Not all but some players. Today was about just gettng over the line although we all know it should really be a replay and not penalties.

I have said all allong that I think we will be playing Limerick 3 times this year. But next time, they won't be at home and we know we can beat them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,586 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

I think they beat him at every opportunity early in the game, difficult to measure the effects of that,it might have played a role, not a good game for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,572 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

I reckon you boys will have 50k heading to Croker for the semi. Depending on who you meet it could be back to back semi sellouts.

A month for everyone to save up and plan the trip. Could be the biggest ever travelling cork crowd. Can't wait for it. The semi last year was something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,553 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

great win well done lads , delighted for pat ryan especially , 3 or 4 weeks ago cork were exposed in several positions , today the fixed each position and asked several of a great limerick team ,ciaran joyce , daragh fitz , and especially shane barrett on kyle hayes were outstanding , i give ye a great chance now to finish the job off

the worry from a clare point of view is the likes of young tommy o connell and diarmuid healy looked the part at this level , with the likes of timmy wilk and will buckley waiting in the wings to take over , brian roache out its a very impressive future ahead ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

I'm still buzzing after that! Limerick might feel aggrieved about the amount of time added on there in extra time, but we were the better team in normal time imo.

They only led us once in normal time towards the end and we probably should have sealed the deal without requiring extra time or penalties.

Kilkenny will probably beat Galway later on today so it will be Galway or Tipp in the semi final. Just hopefully we manage the layoff between games ok because on the last three other occasions we won Munster we subsequently lost in the semi final.

I think we won't be easily beaten now though there is a savage spirit and passion to this team. With the exception of that other Limerick game a few weeks ago we've been a very competitive team under Pat Ryan.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

@robbiezero How's that slice of humble pie tasting?😉

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

Don’t see how they’d be annoyed with the time added on, they wasted a minute or so on the Cahalane free. Quaid catches or bats away the long Coleman free (or goes in the net), it’s over.