Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Very quiet in here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,399 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

Stating facts is not attacking the poster it's discussing the topic.

This is a feedback thread so context is important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,102 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I think you are reacting to a symptom not the cause.

The benefit of the doubt only goes so far. I think in general there is benefit of the doubt but it is on a short leash. Quickly exhausted by similar pattern from same poster or similar style of claim from a new poster.

Maybe the posters have been paying closer attention to the threads and have read every post. They have followed the duscussion in context. Mods dont or rarely follow every post on a topic.

And they can see the patterns in posts and can tell when someone isnt giving an honest account and deliberately misrepresenting things. I dont think it is an accusation that should be thrown out lightly, it should come with justification but nor should it be blindly sanctioned by a mod.

I have called out other posters for lies on different forums on the site, backed up by specific references either to their previous posts or articles they cited and plainly did not attempt to honesly present.

Its social media in 2025. There are bad faith actors out there pushing agendas. It is a hostile environment.

Isnt that one of the reasons the no anecdotes rule was brought in on a topic in CA? It is unverifiable, it is open to abuse to invent false rumours.

Posters react to that environment with shields up and a wariness of dubious claims.

And allowing posters to go around being able to claim another poster said X, without any expectation of backing that up with reference to posts - well I can think of few things less likely to improve the quality of discussion or reduce hostility than that.

Allowing posters to lie and not be subject either to mod overview or be challenged robustly for it likewise would lessen the quality of any discussion. "That is not accurate" doesnt come close to challenging such conduct imo.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

I'm not sure I understand this tbh, I can say something is not accurate, and I can say this is not correct, but I can't say this a lie? It seems like the same thing, said 3 different ways?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,969 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I can honestly say I have never seen a poster asked by a mod to back up what another poster claims is a mistruth, a not accurate claim or a lie. The interest therefore it would seem is not in fairness in moderation.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,816 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

Lads, this "fairness in moderation" line is getting old. Along with "maybe the charter needs to be updated".

The Charter is fine. It covers everything. If we were to add every single thing that posters suggest "should be updated" the Charter would be pages long. And people would still be looking for a get-out clause

Moderation is fair. The Moderators in CA are doing a great job dealing with arguably the most difficult forum on the site. Posters who act the dick get warned. Posters who act the dick when PMing mods don't get their warnings overturned. The feedback has overwhelmingly been that posters are tired of the carry on of others. This week alone I think 6 or 7 people have been sitebanned for being dicks. These are posters who have been given leeway for far too long, due to lenient moderation.

The fairness in moderation people are calling for is now resulting in those people who should have been banned long ago actually being banned.

Don't be a dick and you should be ok.

Be a dick and the moderators will soon tire of you and you'll be CA banned. Continue being a dick and the admins will tire of you and you'll be sitebanned.

There are plenty posters who manage to not be a dick. Some of you should try it sometime.

Post edited by Big Bag of Chips on

Ok, I can't say it is a satisfactory response but it is fairly clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

A couple of light-hearted memes regarding the Trump v Musk spat in the Donald Trump Megathread were deleted this morning, and a warning put up. I thought one in particular was very funny, as did others, it got a couple of dozen likes in the short time it was up.

17492085200974084077764839556108.jpg

We can't have a bit of fun? But it's OK to make a crass comment like this 10 posts below the warning?

That comment was made by a Mod btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Cordell

I just came off a three months ban and I just can't bring myself to post in CA anymore. I suppose that's the expected result so it's all good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭aero2k

The first two could be unintentional on the part of the person you're talking to, but a lie would have to be a deliberate act on their part.

But you can't say a post is a lie?

You can say it's not accurate, or incorrect, but you can't say it's a lie? Is that basically it?

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,838 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Honesty, drop it. If you genuinely can't understand the difference it's really no one's problem but yours.

That was an honest question. I'm not sure why I deserve the bit of abuse for trying to understand exactly what can and cannot be said. It's hard enough trying to understand what different mods see as uncivil etc. I'm literally asking questions so I do not say the wrong thing, and yet I get this response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,834 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Graham's_Hierarchy_of_Disagreement.svg.png

To try and explain it as simply as possible, calling someone a liar is name calling.

You can get the same point across without saying "you're a liar". For example, "What you are saying is demonstrably false" gets the point across without resorting to name calling.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,021 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

I think that's the issue: the poster is suggesting that they are the victim of a deliberate campaign of reporting by posters with a grudge against them, leading to unfair sanctions, as described below:

I don't get this logic: how is a one-liner post calling someone "Cathy Newman" more offensive than saying "No that's not what I said"? Seriously?

And surely the post itself has to be offensive no matter who posted it? Otherwise it means you moderate posters differently depending on who they are?

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,021 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

So when other posters have made the same "joke"/comment more than once, and not been sanctioned, is it possible that this particular poster might have been the object of, at the very least, a sustained campaign of reporting that repeatedly brought them to the attention of the mods, leading the mods to think of this poster as a problem, when in fact it might be just over zealous reporting? Add to that the moderator who acknowledges that posters having had previous warnings does lead them to sanction more readily, and anyone could pretty soon find themselves in the same position, if they were unlucky enough to attract a couple of "stalkers".

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Subscribers Posts: 43,285 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

im not a moderator but ive been here a long time and its very clear to me that:

1. reporting posts does nothing but bring the post to the attention of the forum moderator
    2. the moderator can decide that there is no rule break with the post and do nothing. I believe that happens quite often.
    3. the moderator can decide that the post breaks rule sand they can apply a myriad of sanctions
    4. that forum moderators communicate with each other and 'trouble posters' are discussed to get a consensus
    5. that any poster who has amassed 7 warnings and receives a six month ban (after doing a 3 month ban) has learned ZERO from the warnings and bans they have received and is here ONLY to troll and cause trouble.

now im not going to mention any specific posters because they are not here to defend themselves, but to receive that amount of warning and bans within 11 months of joining the site was not a serious poster in the first place and had no interest in discussion here. They themselves openly admitted they considered the moderation of the site to be biased. Perhaps that fed into their lack of taking on board the reasons for their warnings.

as to your question if moderators moderate posts differently based on the previous history of the posters, i would suggest they do, i would severely hope they do and i would encourage them to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

I've got first hand experience of everything you said in that post. I could have taken it to the Dispute Resolution forum(still might, though it was probably a month ago now). But that place is a joke, masquerading as a place of fairness and justice.

Again, I know from experience, so that's why I haven't bothered.

if they were unlucky enough to attract a couple of "stalkers

😁 Aye. Have several of them. One of my regulars appeared here as soon as I commented. 😁
    Sad bunch, no opinion of their own that they are prepared to debate but righteous to a tee about opinions they don’t like. Even in the self reverential ‘higher quality’ politics forum all that happens is their one line flame posts are removed quietly, no boldy text for them and they are free to like posts and after a while fire in the one liner personal arrack. But the charter is fine, nowt to worry about.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,816 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

Posts don't get warned just because they are reported. This had been said multiple times. People abusing the report feature by "stalking" posters and reporting posts that don't breach any rules are often pulled up on it and told to stop. So can we all move on from that claim now?

Necro has already explained the situation with the poster you are talking about here and clarified that they weren't simply warned for a joke that others had also made. That poster has since been permanently sitebanned by Admins so you can be absolutely certain that there was more to it.

Can we all move on from the 'moderation/DRP is a joke' line. It's not. It might not appear "fair" to posters who don't have the full picture. CA moderators deal with a lot. They also see more than the average poster does. Posters who end up sitebanned don't do so because they're "misunderstood".

I know my simple 'change of attitude' to posters who use the lie/liar word was rejected but here is another simple change that might improve the place, only allow the 'victim' to report single post personal attacks.

What business is it of anybody else's unless it turns into a forum disrupting spat.

Multiple times over the years I have seen posters sanctioned for 'insults' they fired at me which I wasn't bothered about and didn't report. Others I did report. Why a third party is allowed to feel umbrage on my behalf I don't see as having any value and it can be abused.

That would be unworkable, and lead to even more calls of unfair moderation or personal mod bias.

Example: you are in a heated discussion with someone. They call you [insert personal attack here]. You're not too bothered, find it mildly amusing, and move on. You don't report the post. Thread moves on.

Same poster, or different poster, sees the personal attack that is allowed stay on the thread and thinks "Oh grand, we're allowed say that now" and it gets thrown at another poster or two. It then gets reported. Mod warns/bans and immediately get a barrage of "x said exactly the same thing and they weren't warned. Unfair moderation. I'm being targeted. Mod doesn't like me. I have a different viewpoint so the mod is picking on me.... Etc etc etc"

A personal attack is a personal attack, regardless of who posts it or who reports it. It's a founding rule of the site and will not be changed.

Poster felt this was a personal attack. Mod Agrees, Warning applied.

Took me 2 secs to type the above.

Allegations are happening anyway.
    What you claim 'will happen; is happening as outlined by a poster here already.

My suggestions are based on the mod having to intervene anyway and I still see no reason why they would not result in fairer outcomes and less time consuming moderation.

*A personal attack is only an attack if someone takes it personally. And that someone should not be a randomer who may have other motives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,710 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

I made this exact argument where one 'side' of a debate might be less inclined to report posts than the other 'side', which could result in the perception of bias...

I think it would lead to more reports and more work for mods. Reporting posts is an anonymous procedure. If we start telling people who reported their post then that opens up a whole other element.

Attack the post not the poster is simple. There is no need to complicate matters with attack the post not the poster unless the posters isn't that bothered. Nobody else is allowed report these types of posts just other breaches of the charter.

The mods decide, as always, what is uncivil, what is offtopic, what is a breach of charter etc, not the posters.

Maybe I need more coffee, but for the life of me I cannot see how restricting who can report certain types of remarks is going to lead to more work for a Mod.
    Imagine if you allowed the same in our court system, i.e. allowed random people to take cases on behalf of people who don't wish to take cases, the system would grind to a halt.

The mod would still decide.
    Poster felt this was a personal remark, Mod agrees. Warning Applied

or as already happens, no action is taken because the mod disagrees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,805 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

There was a dedicated Political Satire thread before.

The majority of posts in it seemed to be Anti Trump posts, most of them were deeply unfunny, crude and vitriolic.

It was closed just before the US election if memory serves me correctly as it was becoming toxic.

Which was a pity as there has been an abundance of excellent memes since then that would actually be worth posting for both sides of the political spectrum.

There isnt much room for humour or sarcasm in some CA threads, it definitely could do with a bit more lighheartedness instead of the vitriol.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,557 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Imagine if you allowed the same in our court system, i.e. allowed random people to take cases on behalf of people who don't wish to take cases, the system would grind to a halt.

This happens all the time..

Random people (other posters) report crimes (rule breaks) even without the knowledge of the injured party. And if the injured party doesn't wish to take a case the guards and the DPP (mods) can still do so without their consent.

I have never seen a case a random person took on behalf of someone who doesn't feel a crime/defamation/insult was committed.
    Which is what I said.

We are also not talking about murder, rape or robbery here either.
    One person's personal attack is another's 'banter' 'robust debate' or 'fair remark' even.
    To me it's the 'rule' that is wrong. A personal attack should not be defined as such until the person supposedly attacked, (and only that person) takes it personally. It's then up to a Mod to decide if it is actionable. Reduces work and reduces the possibility of abuse of the report function in that instance.

Repeating myself so will leave it there.

Because people already find it difficult to follow the rules that are there. Not being allowed report certain posts will lead to people reporting, then reporting again (with a bit of mild abuse thrown in for the mods 'not doing their job') followed up by a PM and possibly a Help Desk Thread as to why we are allowing such and such to remain on the site.

The mods decide what gets to stay. Nobody else.

You keep saying this as if I have said something different.

You have already set up a system to ignore ban or warning appeals.

Ignore 'reports' too if they come from random posters insulted on somebody else's behalf?
    Adopt the Stephen Fry approach, 'You're offended? So what?'

Leave a Comment

Rich Text Editor. To edit a paragraph's style, hit tab to get to the paragraph menu. From there you will be able to pick one style. Nothing defaults to paragraph. An inline formatting menu will show up when you select text. Hit tab to get into that menu. Some elements, such as rich link embeds, images, loading indicators, and error messages may get inserted into the editor. You may navigate to these using the arrow keys inside of the editor and delete them with the delete or backspace key.