Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connacht Team Talk Thread VI - Some like it TOH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭bingobango12

Logically, why would any of those players you just named want to go to Connacht? Clarkson, Baird, Deegan, Frawley are in and around the 23 playing in European and domestic knock out games and getting into Irish squads. Byrne is going to be number 2 outhalf next year and will play lots of games. Connacht finished 13th last season and are unlikely to win anything for the foreseeable.

If you named players like Tector, Foley, Russell fine, but why would any of those 5 players named above have any interest in leaving Leinster for Connacht?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭AccidentallyOnside

Connacht advertising a role of "Performance Psychologist" this morning, great to have someone in looking after that.

Don't think we've had anyone in that role for a number of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,297 ✭✭✭seanin4711

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭KBurke85

Yes you pick your seat for the stand when it opens in January. You also pick a standing location for the first half of the season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭CowboyTed

I would say Penny, Sorka, Deeny, Mc Kee…

From Academy: Henry MCERLEAN (needs gametime massively), Alan SPICER, Conor O'TIGHEARNAIGH, Liam MOLONY

Leinster seems a little heavy in Locks and Wingers… Little light in Centers…

https://all.rugby/club/leinster/squad

That group of players is absolutely more realistic for a move. The original 5 named by the other poster is completely unrealistic. Spicer is one Leinster will want to keep. Very young but a huge frame and size potential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,719 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Because they are not first choice. They might feel, and realistically so, that starting every week would improve them and give them a better opportunity and in some cases of making the first 15 for Ireland.

As for Connacht. I fully believe that our squad right now, outside of out-half, is strong enough to qualify for the knockout stages of the URC and have a realistic chance at winning the Challenge cup.

We have a much better head coach and we lost by 3 points to Racing in the QFs a couple of months ago.

Lancaster developed all these players when they came through from the youth ranks at Leinster and I'm sure they all like him a lot.

I gotta laugh at your prediction that we aren't going to do anything this upcoming season.

2 of your players named are starting a URC semi this weekend. The other 2 on the bench and Byrne is in the UK.

What does do something for this upcoming season mean for you? If it's come 8th, fair play to you but I'm sure the players you named have higher aspirations.

Clarkson is third choice behind Furlong and Slimami despite the fact he's starting ahead of Slimami which seems to be a common theme of late with the foreigners there.

Baird is playing in the backrow because of injuries. He's been messed about there for a long time. He's a lock and a very good one but he's fourth choice now because they brought in Snyman.

So the fact that Leinster decided it was necessary to bring in reinforcements in their respective positions doesn't augur well for their futures there, they are clearly not that well thought of.

Agree with you on Spicer… He is also the one we really want..😆

Henry MCERLEAN should be a target… He was a start among a great class of U20s which have all developing into fine pros(link to former U20)… Himself and Fintan Gunne are really struggling for game time… Henry had only 81 min last year and 187 year before… This is not good for him and would find it hard to gain trust (much like Ben Murphy was in) to dispose Osboure or O'Brien…

Conor O'TIGHEARNAIGH has only got 88 min of Rugby in two years.. Alan SPICER is there now and Deeny is sponging up the loose mins in Leinster..

Scott Penny is the interesting one… This is mainly Will O'Connors or not… Will got the start against the dead rubber against Scarletts. If O'Connors is fit, he starts generally. If O'Connors remains fit for a season, he could dry up Penny's opportunities… Will point out that Penny is still only 25, 4 years younger than Will and 7 years younger than Josh… Leinster are hedging bets in this position, someone is loosing out…

I would say we need:

Outhalf or Carty find his Mojo… Probably need both…

Winger… Just a little shy considering how long Hansen is normally away.. Love it when he is around but have given a two to Munster alone..

We need an enforcer in the pack… Joe Joyce is doing it as much as he can but he can't do it every week and you can see him fading after a few games…

We need to be looking out for a hooker as well, Heffo is getting on..

==========

We also need to be very aware that we can't keep Blade, Murphy and Devine in the one club… It is too much… Any of those three would be number one in Ulster… One will go, probably Devine considering contracts and age…

Would we be better to try and create some kind of trade arrangement and get something in return? And I know, this is not done because it was never done before…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭MarinersBlues

It would make a mockery of grass roots to green shirts if Devine is the one to go.

I would be fine with either of Blade or Murphy going to Ulster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭RonnieL

Had a quick look out of curiosity, and the seats seem to be selling pretty well (link → https://www.connachtrugby.ie/tickets/season-tickets/ ). It'll be very interesting to see how many they manage to sign up in total (and if they run into problems housing them all in the first half of the season, because very few will want to be down the ends I suspect).

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭CuriousCucumber

I'm optimistic/hopeful that the new stand will be open before January.

Fingers crossed that they're only saying that, incase the run into a hiccup.

Because I wont be going to any games until that stand is ready. Watching games in an overcrowded main stand is a horrible experience in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭RonnieL

I'm hoping the same. Surely the terrace could be used while they're still finishing off other bits too? Probably insurance/health and safety aspects to be figured out there, but where there's a will. And yes, the sportsground was pretty uncomfortable this season, for lots of reasons.

By the way, I hadn't seen it earlier, but Connacht had a graphic on their instagram story this morning saying there's only 500 season tickets left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Zeugnis

Furlong is crocked. Slimani is 35. Leinster have a TH deficit which Clarkson is filling on his own, after that it's the cubs. Leinster shipped significant damage here with the Salanoa fiasco, Aungier's departure to us, and Vakh Abdaladze declaring for Georgia and turning NIQ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Zeugnis

Unless Fintan Gunne turns out to be the second coming, I'd see Ben Murphy returning to Leinster to take over from JPG (33) after this World cup cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Paddy_Mag

If connacht are looking at leinster for players, they should be open to a season loan idea the same way Leinster take All blacks on sabbatical

Exactly, the Connacht future has to be Devine and Reilly.

looks like its the South stand until the north opens!

Are the centre tier 1 104-105-106 areas sold out already?

Hi John,

The whole of the North Stand will be closed until January. You get relocated to the South Stand for the first part of the season - you choose this option when you are buying your ticket.

Hopefully that helps.
    Thanks,Conor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

I dunno if Reilly has enough about him to stick with the province in 2+ years tbh.

He has looked like a decent player the few times I have seen him. Very hard for him to get chances with the three ahead of him.

Blade, Devine, and Reilly is a balanced selection of scrumhalves. Murphy is an excellent player but very hard to make sense of the long term strategy they had when signing him.

It was unfortunate the loan deal couldn't have been signed off for Devine, it would have been a perfect solution to the current bottle neck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

He is decent but after 5 seasons and 28 caps I don't really think he's stepped up the level required to even displace an ageing Blade from the Murphy/Blade/Devine equation. Doesn't seem to have that step or speed that the younger lads have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭Trey13

With all due respect, those players moving to Connacht won't get them into an Ireland team. Clarkson and Baird are playing knockout games regularly. You can say they're not first choice if you'd like but that doesn't change the fact both are starting this weekend. Furlong is regularly injured and Clarkson is getting a great run of games. He is probably paid well, already in Ireland camps and I would expect his friends and family are living in Dublin. And in any case, if he did move then he would still have to contend with Finlay Bealham. Be somewhat realistic if you're going to throw out names of lads that would move.

Someone mentioned the likes of Soroka, Mangan, McKee etc - these are the guys that can't get into the Leinster 23. They're the guys that Connacht should look at.

Connacht aren't looking for scraps. Baird is the one that should come. He doesn't get to start big games unless there's an injury. He'd be playing every game at Connacht, as a lock, and put himself in the shop window more often.

Aki, Bealham and Hansen haven't suffered playing for Connacht. I really think Baird would improve with Connacht.

As regards family, Doris is playing with Leinster and his family live in Mayo and it's not affecting him.

Galway is just a little over two hours up the road from Dublin. You could go home any evening you wanted.

Put himself in the shop window for what?

You say he doesn’t start big games for Leinster, what big games do Connacht actually play? If it’s a URC quarter final, he already does that, in a far stronger team. He started in Champions Cup final last year with a fully fit back row.

Your posts make no sense to understand why any of those players and particularly Baird would move. It’s just made up fantasy stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 dee_kay

This is a replacement for Aidan O'Flynn who's leaving after 12 years with Connacht.

1000035102.png

I see you never mentioned the fact that I said that Aki, Bealham and Hansen have all been selected for Ireland's first 15.

The way you are talking no player from Connacht should be playing for Ireland unless they move to Leinster to become bench fodder.

As as regards last year's CC final. Weren't Conan and JVDF only back from injury and both were on the bench?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭lavrenti

I have to say it's very unlikely the likes of Baird will leave the comfortable confines of D4, however we have a marked need for a powerhouse second row to support Joyce and Josh Murphy and complement the more athletic Murray Bros and Dowling. Taking either Spicer or Soroka (even on a season-loan basis) seems a no-brainer.

We're short of depth at hooker. Heffernan needs back-up. I remain to be convinced of either de Buitlear or Tierney Martin. I'm also wondering if Stuart Lancaster might move Hawkshaw to 10 to back up Ioane and an aging Carty. Hawkshaw gives us an option at 13, but he may be better deployed at 10 or 22 next season as Naughton is not yet ready to step up IMHO.