Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shooting in Carlow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Do we need stringent security in shopping centres and all large events going forward anymore than we did say Saturday?

I don’t imagine so.

You were the very person saying you'd be thinking twice about ever bringing your family to Fairgreen again on Sunday…

Anyway, obviously any action that's going to cause a public panic is inherently dangerous - it's the whole "Shouting 'Fire!' in a crowded theatre" thing. I can't believe people are actually trying to debate that.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Raichų

do my opinions need to be set in concrete?

They cannot change when new information is brought to light, no?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Raichų

fair enough.

I still don’t really think we need to have armed Garda and metal detectors at shopping pavilions and etc.

at least not yet…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,923 ✭✭✭yagan

And we never will if we don't grant bail as advised by Gardai to people who illegally import/procure weapons.

I don't even understand what's recreational about lethal weapons. I can understand the origin of the Biathlon event when hunting guns were part of agrarian life, which was once the norm, but isn't now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,702 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

for example, contrary to the stereotypical violent schizophrenic such people are more at risk of being victims than perpetrators of violence. 

I get that aero, and that's why I made the point when I responded to the post -

you must surely be aware of the fact that persons experiencing ill mental health or who have any particular mental health condition are more of a danger to themselves than they are to anyone else.

The rest of it, I know you've brought it up before, and I love you man, but I'm just not going there with you, with anyone in that direction on a public forum, for what should be obvious reasons. With that said, there's no evidence that this line of discussion is in any way relevant to the circumstances in question, it arose because of assumptions being made in the absence of evidence. I'm not keen on encouraging that sort of behaviour either tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭aero2k

Thanks Jack, I fully agree, and I wasn't really looking for anyone to go there with me. It wouldn't be appropriate in the context of an event where there's a grieving family etc. I've also kept away from the mental health forum for the same reason. I was in two minds about posting, but I see so many of these threads and when the mental health thing is inevitably brought up it's inevitably in accordance with one narrative, a narrative that is increasingly being discredited. I thought it was important to provide another perspective, and a source where others can go, if they so choose.

I do think it's a discussion that could be had in another thread - we'll see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,577 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

We're talking about a guy caught red-handed with an illegal firearm, here.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,837 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

MULTIPLE illegal firearms AND explosives.

It wasn't like they had one unregistered weapon that they discovered in Grandads house or something - They had a whole heap of guns , ammunition and explosives of some kind.

And this guy would appear to have been the prime mover in the whole thing as he was going to be subject to more charges than the other two guys involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,877 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Once you've been charged with a serious crime, the burden of proof should shift. It should be up to you to prove that you are not a danger to the public or a flight risk and should be granted bail. The default should always be remand in custody

We are talking about the fundamental right to a presumption of innocence and a fair trial.

Hard cases make for bad laws.

Unless you believe there has never been a miscarriage of justice, nobody charged with a serious offence has ever been found not guilty, no appeal has ever been successful then you are suggesting presumptive detention, perhaps for years, and accepting that this will inevitably happen to innocent people.

That is not something that should be acceptable in any democratic society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,539 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Are there not regulations about having your legally held firearms secured ?

https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/national-news/1817500/constitutional-limits-to-bail-reform-taoiseach-says.html

"But the constitution is as it is, the law is as it is, and the courts took a decision on the occasion to grant bail"

No mention that Judges are restricted because of the lack of prison places, or secure mental health facilities which is the Taoiseach's fault, although that Judge Zaiden is an oddball.

he's great man for bringing up spurious excuses.

Post edited by expectationlost on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Fair play to the emergency services for a quick response on a bank holiday Sunday.

There needs to be some kind of emergency broadcast system for the immediate area around these types of events.

I'm not looking for a lot of detail, just a situation is happening stay away or situation is over type of message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,855 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

To the many, many on here questioning why the gardai were so eager to clarify the nationality/ethnicity of the shooter after the incident, there is a post on Shitter from an Irish far right gobshite, who has previously been retweeted by musk, at over 5.5m views and ~80k likes saying that there was a “massacre” in the shopping centre with kids shot and that it’s time for a civil war. Not one iota of the post is true, but 80k likes and over 5m views. That is what they are up against when trying to get the facts out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,120 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Imagine if this guy had entered the centre with his illegally obtained G3 automatic rifle, semi-automatic pistol and explosive devices instead of the shotgun he somehow got his hands on.

I think an actual massacre has been narrowly avoided.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,820 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Depends on what you consider a massacre, in the US a mass shooting is defined as one where there are 4 or more casualties.

In Ireland, a non-restricted shotgun has up to 3 rounds and is more than "good" enough for a mass shooting. Shotguns cause huge damage at close range. That a massacre has been avoided here seems to be more about the guy not wanting to carry out a massacre, losing his nerve etc. rather his choice of gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭Caquas

Good to see the Taoiseach agrees with me about the central issue here.

"I think we do need to have quicker acceleration, perhaps of speed and time in terms of the conduct of prosecutions and court cases, and there are other areas perhaps where we can improve so that bail time would be shorter before someone comes to court."

His "other areas" to improve may refer to the secondary issue I mentioned - Garda monitoring of bail conditions.

And of course he dismisses the "lock 'em up" nonsense from some posters here.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/politics/arid-41644726.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,757 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I think the sad thing for me about people like that is they were probably disappointed nobody was killed.

I'm not sure if we are referring to same person but I saw tweet which said 9 were killed. I mean what type sick **** do you have be to post that.

And then you have likes of Phillip O Dwyer giving **** to a fireman.

Lunatics.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Orban6

I don't think hysterics are needed.

He didn't. Lets stick to the facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,120 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Hysterics? Haha. He didn't, because he couldn't. - because the guns and explosives were seized.

He could have legally purchased airsoft versions of those weapons if he had an innocent interest in them. Instead, he went to the dark web to purchase the real weapons, plus ammunition, plus explosives.

Those weapons and explosives were subsequently seized, and he was released on bail.

He went to a shopping centre, discharged a shotgun, then shot himself with that shotgun. A very public place and very unusual choice for suicide by gunshot, I think any reasonable person would agree.

People are entitled to speculate why he might have gone to all that trouble to secretly obtain those lethal weapons and explosives.

Post edited by Esel on

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,251 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Might I invite you and any others to a range to experince shooting a firearm in perfectly safe conditions and dispel possibly a few myths in the process?

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Stranger question is this.

If the house was raided for these arms,it would be known that he had a legal firearm,either registerd in his name,dual liscensed with some other family member and would be ,or should be standard procedure to name check the name and address on PULSE,as when you are sending an armed response unit,you might want to know what sort of person and gun you might be up against..As would his co accused,if they too were liscensed. So if rumours be true,WHY was he left with a liscensed shotgun in his possesion or had access to one?If it is the first ,raided the house,didn't check for him owning legally held firearms.

That is a major ooopsie by AGS and heads will be on chopping blocks,or should be. Second that he had it dual liscensed with another family member,friend etc and it was in his home address,it's just as bad for AGS.If someone loaned him the gun,and knew about this losers legal problems.Well then they are in very big trouble too. Those are about the most likely scenarios as how he got a legally liscensed firearm that we can see.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Absolutely!Its graded on how many you own and at minimum requires a single lockable gun cabinet,up to needing monitored alarms, security graded locks on doors& windows and a security standard gunsafe ,and those are minimum requirements,a Garda Superintendent can ask for extra security measures if he thinks it necessary.

But it wouldn't matter if you had Fort Knox security,and you still have access to them because the local law enforcement left you access to them after you have been caught purchasing and smuggling illegal arms and raided your house and somehow missed that you have a legally liscensed shotgun in your name or have access to one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,833 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Have they clarified that the legally owned gun was actually his?

they said the gun was legally registered to an associate, Im wondering if they will prosecute that person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,923 ✭✭✭yagan

My childhood was spent at in the country with my cousins who used to shoot rabbits. That's as gun culture as we need on this island.

You bet they will!They'll throw the damn book at them if this is the case,esp if this idiot knew what legal trouble this loser was in regarding firearms.You cant "loan" someone you gun in Ireland even if the two of you are liscensed to the same type of firearm.We liscense the gun, not the man in Ireland,unlike the UK and EU.Here he would have to be liscensed as a dual cert holder on that gun,and if this was the case,the dual liscense holder certainly would be aware of this losers problems,and is looking at criminal charges for allowing them access to their firearm.

It hasn't changed much,we are still miles behind whats the norm even in Northern Ireland and the EU. The invites for ANYONE too who wants to try somthing different and maybe get a different perspective on their biases and pre concived ideas about guns.Whats a "gun culture" bTW?