Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unsolved Irish Mysteries.

1656667686971»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Woodcutting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭New Scottman

On RIP.ie yes

I was referring to the Facebook page called RIP.ie Offaly. Unless it was listed there twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Woodcutting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,462 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Post edited by Gadgetman496 on

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Has there been any movement on the Joe Deacy murder investigation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭mazdamiatamx5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Ozmodya

Yeah Sinéad has definitely been mentioned in relation to Trevor's disappearance. Both of them so fecking young - just early 20s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

What’s the theory of the connection? Sinéad Kelly died June98 because of a drug debt. TD disappeared in Dec2000 but he only started working in the bank in May99. Did he even live in Dublin in 98? That other woman Rosie Lakes who died from dodgy drugs knew Sinéad, she died in May2000. I read that both women were found immediately and if the same criminals were involved, it’s strange that TD just vanished into thin air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,845 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Rosie Lakes was one of several heroin addicts in Dublin who died at the time from a contaminated batch. In all likelihood there was no connection.

Whether Trevor lived in Dublin in 1998 irrelevant. There was a gang with Crumlin connections involved in drug dealing and also involved in pimping prostitutes in the Grand Canal area. Some of the prostitutes were themselves heroin addicts. So the gang profits both by dealing them the heroin and ensures payment by pimping them out. There's a theory that he was invited to a house party by some of the same gang that were involved in Sinead Kelly's murder two years previously, and it wasn't the kind of house party he was led to believe and some kind of row broke out. The theory is the guy that was seeing waiting outside the bank for around a half an hour was involved. Bear in mind on the night in question, taxi strike PLUS atrocious weather, their (i.e., the gang's) takings would have been down compared to a normal Friday night in the run up to Christmas so they might have resorted to doing something even they wouldn't ordinarily have done. Bear in mind, these types usually don't mess with 'civilians'.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,375 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

I remember a prostitute was found dead in the Canal (opposite the bank and the garden "centre" on the side of the chemist, by the bridge, IIRC) only a fortnight or so before Trevor disappeared. I've always wondered whether there was a connection between the two.

EDIT: I can't remember if that poor woman was Sinéad Kelly or someone else.

Post edited by New Home at

Oh no not a direct connection between those two poor young people, but the potential parties involved. What Mazda said.

Post edited by Ozmodya at

Sinéad lost her life before then, maybe the other poor woman Rosie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

I read that Rosie and other drug users died from a spiked batch of heroin. Also that Rosie was the states only witness about Sinead Kelly’s murder and after her death the case against the suspects was dropped.
    https://www.thefreelibrary.com/NEEDLES+OF+DEATH%3B+Detectives+warn+of+poisoned+heroin+as+eight+drug...-a062274439

It’s shocking that nobody was charged and that TD could have been a victim of vicious criminals simply by being in the wrong place at the wrong time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,928 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

That's the 1st thing I thought of in Rosies death a spiked batch . The perfect crime ?

Don't think it was her either, Rosie died in hospital after inadvertently taking bad batch of heroin. she had been due to give evidence in Sinead's case. Were the gang calculating and clever enough to ensure that she got bad batch? Unlikely, but possible.

the only realistic alternative is that he fell into the canal OR the river Dodder. Bear in mind to get home he would have had to cross both. I think in last photo on CCTV he had crossed canal but was walking alongside or near it. It is possible that his umbrella got caught in gust of wind and went down bank of canal or river and he went to try to retrieve it and fell in. Yes, a young fit healthy man, but under the influence of alcohol on a very wet and windy night. But it seems in recent years AGS now favour a theory involving something more sinister, bearing in mind the tip off they received, the field in Chapelizod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,874 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Couldn't be canal. Still water, shut off at each end, closed in winter. And only 2 metres deep. He could literally walk out of it. Or if it was a dead body, it would still be there next morning.

Dodder is much likelier, if he got that far - an unpredictable river that floods in heavy rain.

But really, would Trevor have got near enough to drown himself? He'd have had to be scrambling down…I think it is unlikely.

Watch from 30:50 in.

Black-clad guy arrives near to staff back-entrance to bank at Fitzwilliam Place, off Lower Leeson Street, at 3:05 am and is still there at 3:33am. At 3:33 am or thereabouts, Trevor arrives from the nightclub, Buck Whaleys on Lower Leeson Street, just a few minutes walk, to go into the office to collect umbrella and check his email. The guy seems to follow him towards the gate and seems to have brief conversation with Trevor. Trevor then gets let in by security and spends approx 30 minutes on the premises, emerging at 4:02 am. At that point, the guy seems to have gone, or at least isn't visible on CCTV.

edit: some references in the docu are misleading or have been superceded by new information, the guy in the overcoat in the last CCTV who seems to be walking after Trevor is a different guy and has since come forward, been identified and is in the clear entirely.

https://youtu.be/1w44MVynxKE?si=lSPpOg8iDurEg-n8&t=1850

Post edited by mazdamiatamx5 at

Point taken re canal.

You ask would Trevor have got near enough to banks of Dodder to drown, that I don't know but it is possible. It is as you rightly say an unpredictable river, I experienced the flooding myself, was living in The Sweepstakes Ballsbridge during the October 2011 floods * Some of the pedestrian back lanes are tricky even at the best of times.

• https://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1215/309935-flooding/

At this point, I don't think the case will ever be solved, barring a death bed confession or something of that type, if something sinister happened to Trevor. If something sinister happened, those involved statistically would not have high life expectancies, due to their involvement in drugs and crime, and may themselves be deceased.

There are only two realistic possibilities, accidental drowning or the more sinister one. We can safely exclude some of the theories that were being advanced in a previous thread on the case (Walter Mitty types speculating that it was something to do with his job and a hitman was sent to take him out due to something he discovered in the course of his work - pure nonsense. I think that we can also exclude the possibility of suicide, as there was no evidence of any such intent or even an inkling, nor any indication of depression).

I suspect the tip-off regarding the Chapelizod field came from a prisoner, probably someone serving a long sentence and who nearing the end of it and was long clean of drugs and the gangster lifestyle. Maybe someone was writing a diary and decided to clear their conscience. That said, it is possible that certain things were exaggerated and certain rumours got legs. Maybe a gangster planted rumours about himself as a means of scaring other gangsters ("you wouldn't want to mess with him, did you not hear he was the one that did the young lad in, the banker fella years' back? Got away with it too, he did, they buried him up in the field, remember the place near the Ballier where they'd hide their stuff? Yeah, 'scactly, remember all the rumours that used to be going around about the bodies buried up there? I wouldn't mess with that fella if I were you, pay him what you owe him would be my advice").

If you are dealing with hard core drug addicts,people who live by their wits on the streets, you are dealing with people who will do or say almost anything for the next fix. Plus, in some cases, they have brain damage and don't/can't think rationally, they don't think about the potential consequences of spreading rumours, they are just thinking about the fix, plus how are they going to avoid pissing off the wrong person at the wrong time, so they might say something to someone one day, and the next day might swear blind the complete opposite to someone else.

It's a pity that the family don't have closure, in spite of all their great efforts to get to the truth.

Post edited by mazdamiatamx5 at