Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unsolved Irish Mysteries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,793 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

If you talking about Fiona Pender. She went missing in 1996. It would have been one of big missing women caes from the 1990's.

They've a walkway for her in Tullamore called Fionas Way. It's the same walkway Ashling Murphy was killed on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,511 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

The land being searched would be beside the boyfriends farm.

As far as I know he's married in America

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,928 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

It was Canada he was in , whether he's still there or not I don't know, but he's not married anymore, his wife had her own serious issues with him and was/is in fear for her own life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,511 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

I didn't know that but heard that he abused her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

There is some info about the suspect being in Canada in this article from 2014 in the Irish Independent

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/fiona-pender-suspect-misled-witness-about-burial-site/30865528.html

In August the suspect was arrested by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and charged with one count of sexual assault. Last month three further charges were brought against him in the same case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭Will_I_Amnt

This seems to happen every now and again with some of these missing persons cases (Jo-Jo Dullard, Trevor Deely etc) and nothing ever comes of it. Hopefully this time but I wouldn't hold out much hope. Would a murderer be that stupid to bury a body that close to home and leave it there all this time - Especially if another person knew something about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭john9876

Someone buried a body in the home and it took years before it was discovered!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 andy6

My friend worked in Tullamore at the time. She said the 'dogs in the streets' know who killed and buried that girl. The sad irony is that 'Fiona's Way' was where Aisling Murphy was murdered, nobody to date has followed up to bring justice for that girl and her unborn child. Hope the guards have the info they need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭Will_I_Amnt

Well in that particular case, the killer is "that" stupid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

Never heard of this case before but it’s very bizarre. This GP got off a London flight and offered a lift to someone he knew in the customs area which was declined. Then two days later his car was found at the airport hotel (Maldron Hotel now) and he is never seen again, bank accounts never used, and an Irish and a UK passport are found in his home. He just vanished along with his GP bag and a load of Christmas presents.

It’s so long ago but was there just one LT car park in those days? And how did passengers get to the LT car park, walk or a shuttle bus? Did the shuttle run all night long? Presumably he was never in the hotel so did he vanish between T1 customs hall and the LT car park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭mazdamiatamx5

Couldn't tell you about the long term car park issue, I suspect probably yes there was only one and it was probably not even close to full mostly. The cars in it would have been mostly Fords/Nissans/Toyotas with the odd Merc or BMW for the well-connected (friends and associates of Charlie Haughey or if not that at least people that wouldn't cross him). Very few people or companies had the resources to frequently fly in and out of the country even just to London. 1987 was I think peak year of unemployment, highest % ever in our history, plus high(ish) inflation and high taxes on even average income earners AND the price of flights high. Not a triple whammy but a quadruple whammy as regards disposable income. Small business owners that were staying afloat were mostly cheating on their taxes. The governments later bought in two tax amnesties. Aer Lingus were the monopoly operator and charged what they wanted. For those emigrating, and there were a lot, most were getting the ferry and then train from Holyhead to London and staying in a kip of a hostel at least initially. Or squatting. an Irish property developer who made good in London, I forget his name, it'll come to me, would help fellas out by making available flats he owned for very cheap or no rent initially. I read an interview with the comedian Steve Coogan and he was saying his dad, a IBM engineer who would have been on good money by the standards of the time, was doing similar in Manchester at the time, putting up recently arrived Irish emigrants in the family home for a short period.

AI OverviewLearn moreIt's impossible to give an exact flight price for Aer Lingus from Dublin to London in 1987. Flight costs fluctuate based on demand, time of booking, and other factors. However, we can estimate that a one-way Economy flight might have cost somewhere between $150-$300 in 1987 currency. 

As a doctor, i.e. essentially sole trader, without the benefit of the expense account of a senior executive in a large company, and large companies back then were minnows compared to now, I am not surprised he was in financial difficulties.

Anyway I'm rambling, did someone know he was coming off a flight at a certain time and intercept him on his walk to the Long Term Car Park? Let's assume there was no shuttle bus at the time, probably wouldn't have been a need for one if only one LTCP it would have been close to exiting airport one assumes.Threaten him at gun point using concealed weapon, make him drive to the hotel. Fantasy land stuff in 2025, in 1987 potentially plausible. Then some kind of discussion takes place and the doctor is invited into another car and conveyed somewhere else. Sure, David, bring the presents and medical bag with you, we just want to chat to you that's all, sort things out, you can collect your car later. How strange that as a smoker the pack of smokes and lighter were left behind, the presents and medical bag not. Yes, this was the 80s, plenty of doctors smoked back then. Odd detail that, as a nicotine addict myself in times of stress that's the first thing I'd be begging to hold onto.

Post edited by mazdamiatamx5 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Ozmodya

If you look up the details of the Fiona Pender and Fiona Sinnott cases... I mean, Occam's Razor. So it's annoying the way those two young women got added to the "vanishing triangle" media creation just for the drama. Sometimes Imelda Keenan gets dragged into it too - and again, no need for all this intrigue when it walks, swims and quacks like a duck. Also Ciara Breen, who didn't even live in the area in question - look up the details of her story too.

Annie McCarrick and Deirdre Jacob are real baffling mysteries as far as I can tell, but the other poor women should be left out of it. The Eva Brennan and Antoinette Smith cases seem very mysterious too (just going by what I know). And I get why, until recently, poor Jo Jo Dullard was included in the "triangle".

Spot on. There never was a serial killer. Deirdre Jacob is literally the only one where you know who is possible perp. Now granted, you know who may have fitted the profile of a serial killer, so I can kind of understand why he was targetted by some elements in media and cops. People need to stop thinking of AGS as single entity, like the Borg, there may be and almost certainly are strong differences of opinion within the force and case teams on various cases.

There may have been a very cynical PR agenda to keep piling the pressure on Larry and hopefully he would crack, get him on Deirdre Jacob and then most of the public would think "we all know it was him that did in those other poor women too, fair play to the guards for putting manners on the b***d ". So it looks, to most citizens, like 7 or 8 cases are solved but it is only one. Makes the force look good and very few have the time, energy or inclination to research matters for themselves. Profoundly cynical of course, but that's the real world. Fortunately for the ethical and moral cops and unfortunately for the corrupt ones and their media lackies and toadies, the sick strategy hasn't worked out very well, has it.

Drew Harris is leading a reform agenda to shake some trees and rattle some cages and see what falls down and so far is doing a great job. I understand now why he insisted on keeping his personal driver and car from up north. Bit more protection and accidents less likely that way.

It can't be a coincidence that a lot of this stuff is being looked into again in recent years, in the full spotlight of media, and in the wake of the various scandals which forced the resignations of the then head of AGS along with Ireland's biggest Israel defender , and I'm no Unionist, I can assure you of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Daisy78

The perpetuation of the involvement of a serial killer in those cases has done such a disservice to those women. Let’s face the majority of those missing met their fate at the hands of a partner rather than some random bogey man on the street. As Marie Cassidy put it fear the killer in your bed rather than the one underneath it. I really hope for Fiona Pender’s family that something is found this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,724 ✭✭✭✭walshb

in the artivle the boyfriend is named. Is/was he also the suspect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭GavPJ

I was going out with a girl from Tullamore at the time and she said the same.

Fiona would not have been liked by her boyfriend's family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭Champagne Sally

I always thought the Annie McCarrick case at the time didn't add up. I was perplexed as to why she would go to Quinnsworth and buy items for a dinner, some of them perishable I believe and just leave them in a bag on the table and go on a hike in the Dublin mountains. Nobody does that. I always thought at the time, that somebody called to the door after or just as she arrived back with the shopping. It seems to allude to my thought strand here in the Irish times:

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-style/people/2025/03/29/annie-mccarrick-murder-garda-cold-case-team-hope-new-timeline-will-lead-to-breakthrough/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,559 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Indeed, and +1 to the other posts above saying similar.

Sensationalism where there was no need for it. and certainly not helpful in terms of gaining any members of the public to come forward- if all these names are seen as the victims of one serial killer, what sort of incentive is there for public cooperation and quality information “no matter how trivial”

The Annie McCarrick case is another one that went in a totally wrong direction in terms of both the Gardai and the publics perception as to what happened - at least that appears to be following a different line of enquiry now.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-41608546.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭I told ya

In my view, a lot of Garda investigations carried out in the 1990s would have been by detectives who were 'schooled' by the likes of Gerry O'Carroll, John Courtney and others in the 70s and 80s. Not the best of training.

The issue of the CCTV from the Bank is concerning. I would have thought that transactions on her bank a/c would have been checked against the CCTV, particularly in branch where possible. If her bank a/c showed no 'in-branch' transactions on the Friday and the CCTV showed her in the branch on the Friday and, presumably, at the counter, to me that looks like an inconsistency that should have been spotted at the time and followed up.

Even back then the Bank's computers would surely have been recording, dates, times, amounts and related information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

She may have been lodging money into some else's account, or paying a bill/giro so if her account showed no activity it doesn't rule out she wasn't there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,733 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Drew Harris is leading a reform agenda to shake some trees and rattle some cages and see what falls down and so far is doing a great job. I understand now why he insisted on keeping his personal driver and car from up north. Bit more protection and accidents less likely that way..

None of this is true.

Re Annie, indeed. And we only now or quite recently find out her American friends didn't give much or any credence to the "met a random fella in Foxes pub who seemed a gentleman but turned out to be a wolf in sheep's clothing" theory from day one. Crime journalists missed a trick there bigtime and I am not one who thinks all of them are glorified PR for AGS, some are very good. Others were, and remain, the latter.

The article is silent on why media didn't blow the whistle at the time regarding the blatant inconsistencies between the Garda narrative, based on eye witness from an honest source who just happened to be mistaken, and what her friends and family thought. Surely you'd think one of them would have reached out directly to Annie's family/friends? They will criticise the Guards - justifiably, in this case, for sure - but in relation to their own, circle the wagons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭New Scottman

In a mixed relationship where the man comes from a Protestant farming background, his family will often look down on the woman. They much prefer that their children marry within "the COI community" particularly where land is involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Daisy78

It’s one thing to disapprove of a child’s partner, another thing entirely to engineer their disappearance. Allegedly.

Basically true at that time. May well still be in some communities/families. This was not just present in farming but also business to an extent. IIRC Stokes Kennedy Crowley and Bank of Ireland while they would of course have employed plenty of Catholics but not so many ascended to the very senior level until well into the 1980s. All different these days of course, it was a different world back then. Of course there was plenty of prejudice on the other side also. The late Sean FitzPatrick who was the former chair of Anglo Irish Bank was reported to have ranted "who cares what those bloody Prods think of us" during some heated discussion involving BOI. That didn't come out of thin air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,357 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/crime/i-remember-the-posters-tullamore-community-recall-the-disppearance-as-new-search-for-fiona-pender-concludes-after-24-hours/a120349518.html

Search in Offally has concluded after 24 hours. Investigation was upgraded to murder yesterday. Gardai are issuing no statement for operational reasons. The search was expected to take a week. The tender family have bern updated regarding to An Gardai. Have they discovered the remains of a body? Hopefully a result for the families sake.

I do not think the Gardai every considered that Fiona Pender case was a serial murder case. They had there suspicions in a certain direction from the start. Deidre Jacob, Annie McCarrick and Jo Jo Dollard were the ones that were the ones aligned with that theory.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

This sort of issue was also believed by some to be a factor in the sad case of Fiona Sinnott, in Co Wexford. She had a baby, and a boyfriend. Vanished one night in mysterious circumstances, no trace ever found. Poor girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,559 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Without pointing in any direction, there were certainly a few cases of “disappeared” where persons known to the alleged victims were “known” as suspects - so again, no cause at all to generate a “disappearing triangle” - more like a triangle of unsolved Garda investigations.

Post edited by Oscar_Madison on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Woodcutting

Fiona search is over and nothing found.? Hard to figure what they base all these searches on