Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭older by the day

I suppose the answer to the question is, build the shed in such a way, that you can cover the feeding passage later.

Wind is one thing, but that foggy shiity rain will wet your feed as well. But it may not make a difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,424 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Closed in sheds are a disaster for viral infection and pneumonia in young cattle especially but an issue with all stock as well. Mine is very open and it can still be an issue. My feed only gets wet on average less than five days a year and even then it's seldom an issue.

I get wet all right getting in and out of the tractor to take the plastic and net off the bale, while I am taking them off I am ok it's getting in and out of the tractor which is outside the overhang which is the issue.

In 15+ years and I buy cattle all year round , sucklers and dairy bred, weanlings to finishing cattle under the one roof and I ca count losses to viral and pneumonia on one hand. I live over ten miles away from the shed

Slava Ukrainii

Foggy **** rain is not an issue from the N or NE

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

one feed passage covered here with an over hang but not sheeted down over the cows

Other feed passage is completely roofless. Would notice the cows definitely have a preference for the roofed feed passage on **** days.
    A few days a year we do get bad rain and the rain would blow into the shed.

shed going up soon over a new tank and will just be an over hang. Have thought about sheeting down over the feed barrier but I don’t know if it’s a good idea yet. New tank is joining onto existing sheds - have 450 ft of slatted tank in a U shape now with cubicles inside. Theres going to be a lot of stock in it so fresh air is v important but I don’t want it to be a wind tunnel either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,846 ✭✭✭visatorro

Just seen a couple of slides from a share farming outfit down the country. Land owner took all the biss payments and the share farmer took the cull and calf sales. That deal wasn't written up this year anyway!! I'm sure you'd see an odd case where the land owner would be looking for a bigger share this year!

There Is a young lad that has opened a few coffee shops in Limerick in slightly out of the way places. He had a place in Mungret and the owner took it back and was opening up one himself. Young lad rented a place 50 yards down the road and all his customers followed him.

Land owner would want to be careful or he might be back milking full-time himself

Slava Ukrainii

90% of farm income will still be milk sales on a farm like that. Land owners can’t have it every way

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Everything looks easy from the outside looking in. I should know after the last 5 months!
    You'd imagine the landlord would be happy the tenant is making money as it makes it easier to collect the rent.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

I'm sure the land owner wants his partner to do well. Just not aswell as him though!

a friend of mine is share milking. All feed costs are 50:50 and cull cow sales are all his because he owns the cows. He’s still doesn’t fatten his cows because it’s usually not worth it and he’s not going to change his system to do so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

My old boss was a share milker and had worked with the land owner for 15 years by the time I was there. Between the two of them they had the cost of quad servicing to strimmer wire down in writing as they both realised how easy it is to fall out over the little things. I'm away from that job 8 years and they are happy, successful and as stress free as a farming partnership could be.

I'm being slightly sarcastic about the whole thing. If it works grand. As mehaffey says the more rules about money the better. I nearly went halves on a farm this year with a lad this year. He was saying what way will we do this, i said we'd worry about getting the ground first. We were blown out of the water when it came to the rent so didn't have to worry about fine details!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Jizique

Slightly off topic but there is a great Curb Your Enthusiasm episode where Larry David gets into a dispute with a coffee shop owner and the same thing happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭stanflt

just noticed an add for a bull that progressive genetics are pushing hard- the dam of the bull never milked

Aidan Brennan is telling lads not to cull on milk recording data

Irish dairy industry is facing a reality check

IMG_1657.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭green daries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,714 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

IMG_3036.png

368 ebi tho lads so has to be a superstar😉😉😉….

NNo Where does it state genomic on there and I presume that's not the dam which is false advertisement

And 113 kg of milk ...... that's really really low ...… what does no field fertility mean 🤔 I haven't looked on the inside of a progressive catalogue for a longgggggg time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭straight

What's The big deal that the dam never milked? I have a bull in Ai and his Dam only milked 1 lactation due to unforeseen circumstances. Blocked gut.

I put Teak on about 20 percent of my cows this year. Used a good few Dutch holstein too. Taking a break from American holsteins, probably won't go back to them. I have fine looking maiden heifers off Teak and his numbers are holding well. Looking forward to getting them into the parlour.

longevity is the true measure of fertility and health

a cow that calves every year is healthier and more fertile

Ebi figures are fictional scores designed to sell

take your cow for example if she was healthy she wouldn’t have been prone to a twisted gut- her bulls offspring will more than likely be far more likely to suffer with twisted guts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭ginger22

Definitely health and longevity runs in families. I am shure you have all seen it in your herds where certain cow families will take over. You may have a fancy favourite high production cow but can't get the family to prosper in the herd. EBI is a joke. A genius in ICBF thinks he can breed good cows with a computer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

Icbf gave farmers what theyasked for milk and fertility

I have cows here in their 12th lactation and their families are dying out because they prefer to calve in March and April. All my replacements come from the first 3 weeks of breeding.

Any dairy farmer should know that there is 101 reasons that a cow might not survive. The knackeries are full of injured cows these days for example through no fault of their breeding.

I'm not standing up for EBI. I thing the carbon sub index was the final nail in the coffin for me and the bollixing with the health sub index. But is is a tool I use in my breeding choices.

That cow in the picture is a fine looking deep bodied cow that looks like it could turn alot of grass into milk and last a hold number of lactations

As we're on families, I find alot of mine are concentrating around 4 or 5 main families. (100ish cows). I guess I would want to keep about 5 families?

that cow in the picture is not the mother of the bull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭ginger22

The department are some joke when it comes to TB. A neighbour went down over 4 weeks ago. I only got letter from department last Friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

no field fertility means straws havebt been in cows over 42 days so no figures for repeats from the straws

Trouble is that a lot of farmers think they can too

@straight You would really want 7

On a side note this quote thing is terrible on here lately 😕 😑

@bogman_bass SSweet Fooking Jesus christ on a bike .....

I used to always get them straws for free, with the plea thrown in will you please use a bundle of them on your repeats please till we see what he's like. 🫠🫠🫠🙃🙃🙃

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭ftm2023

Got an inch of rain here again today. 3.5 to 4 inches forecast in the next 10 days. In the situation where we are short on grass because of the drought, the cows could be in by night in the next fortnight due to the place being waterlogged. You couldn’t make it up.