Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women's prisons and the Gender Recognition Act (2015)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,016 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

But I did answer it. I said I have no problem with using the term “people who identify as” when that’s sufficient for the context.

You then ignored that and moved on to what you hoped would be a gotcha since you’d failed the first time.

But it isn’t because the two questions about who gets to define something are related. If one is true so is the other.

So if you can answer Yes to my question then you have the answer to your own.

But since you don’t think that women are the best placed to define misogyny, you have to assume that I couldn’t say Yes to your question.

Except I’ve already pointed out that I’m not stopping anyone from using the language they want about themselves, simply asking that women be allowed to use the words they want to about themselves without being called transphobic. And you can’t/won’t do that.

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

Lol you keep answering a different question - one I didn’t ask. You haven’t answered the actual question even once.

That’s ok, I’m done asking you.

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Ezeoul

No actually, I didn't see that reply. But thanks for the response, even though it was merely just an attempt at deflecting from a simple, direct question that required only a yes or no answer.

And as it is not a "no", I will take that as you will continue to use this term despite you now being fully informed that it is considered derogatory towards the transgender community. That's all I wanted to know.

And as for your attempt to deflect from what you were asked with questions about who can define misogyny or my definition of women's rights - I have made no comment anywhere on either, so please don't put your words in my mouth. (Which is kind of ironic, when you think about it.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

🤣🤣 Just because you don't like the answer, doesn't mean it wasn't answered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

What nonsense.

Everyone knows men are more of a threat to women than other women are (all other things being equal) as men have superior physical strength.

Trans women are biologically male therefore they are also more of a threat due to having this physical advantage.

So your answer to why YOU think it’s appropriate for the IPS to put violent TW prisoners in male prisons but not to put violent female prisoners there is “I’m happy with whatever the IPS decides” - right?

Ok. I’ll expect to see you take the same top-down approach to forming all your opinions then: if the government says so, it’s all good by you? 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,701 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Everyone absolutely does not know what you're claiming they do, and the 'all other things being equal' effort doesn't make it any more true than it isn't already. Being of superior physical strength is not a threat to anyone. Being of a mind to inflict injury upon other people though, is what makes a person a threat to other people.

What you're doing is no different than the belief at the time that the nuns were a bunch of perverts, which is what saw Nora Wall being found guilty of rape.

Well if pointing out that trans women are more of a risk to women by virtue of them being biologically male is supposedly transphobic then fair enough.

No point denying the truth in order to placate a bunch of people who can't deal with the truth being pointed out.

Being accused of transphobia is meaningless these days as pretty much anything that doesn't play up to a trans persons self perception is transphobic so it's a pointless thing to be accused of.

Nope. Go back read the 4 answers again, because you must have read them wrong.

So you think men are inherently dangerous then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,226 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

WhWhatever sex you are at birth defines you. Therefore men into male prisons and women into women's.

TThe Belief that one can change sex is not one I could ever agree with.

No,just more of a risk to women than another woman is (all other things being equal )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭nachouser

Screenshot 2025-05-25 191014.png

Every times this comes up, it's a tiny amount of the population. Lads who are already a danger to women aren't suddenly putting on dresses and a bit of blusher to pretend they're women so they can be a danger to women.

Exactly. In a closed environment like a prison, when they can be a danger to women out in the open, with much less chance of being caught

And did you miss the point that three transidentifying males in Limerick female section at the same time significantly worsened the already overcrowded conditions that the women are living in, because the three TW had to be kept separate from the women? Or maybe you saw that, but you don't think that matters? As long as they're not actually raped, the women should just suck it up, kind of thing?

Second, did you miss the data in the OP that shows that male prisoners who identify as women are far more likely to be in prison for sex crimes than other male prisoners? Sweden and the UK had already found similar data on smaller numbers and now the US has provided a lot more data.

Now that suggests that "lads who are already a danger to women" are indeed "suddenly putting on dresses and a bit of blusher to pretend they're women so they can be a danger to women". Certainly when they're going to be in prison anyway. I agree that doesn't tell us much about non criminals - but this thread is about criminals and prison.

And yet the data says the opposite. So unless you're going to rewrite reality, there's a flaw in your logic.

Of course another possibility is that transwomen in general, and not just those convicted of a crime, are also far more likely to be sex abusers than your average man, but I don't think there's much evidence for that yet.

It does seem to be what you're saying though, if you think that those prisoners in US federal prisons are not abusers pretending to be trans for their own twisted reasons. I mean, unless you have evidence that disproves the data released by the US federal prisons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭nachouser

The thread isn't really about women in prison, it's another anti-trans thread, just one with a different slant.

But, sure, whatever.

It's only an anti trans thread if you think it's anti trans to say that women should not be imprisoned along with males. Not even the ones that think they're women.

Personally, I think that's a pro woman sentiment, not an anti trans one.

Does it really? The data tells us that men are likely to pretend to be female in order to gain access to women in prison? You will have to show us that data again

That's one possible interpretation. I didn't claim to know what it means in terms of what the men concerned are thinking.

What it shows is that among convicted criminals, males who self identify as women have a much higher rate of sex crimes as their reason for being in prison than other convicted criminals who do not identify as women.

If you have another explanation for that fact, I'm happy to consider it.

And if you want to see the data again, it's in the OP.

There was feckall data in the opening post, not your fault, certainly the fault of whereever you source your information from. There was just nothing of any use in it - no context, no explanatory notes, just "here's something we ran off the photocopier". It's not unreasonable to point out that male prisoners who identify as women, are far more likely to be in prison for sex crimes than other male prisoners. What's not good enough though, is to attempt to mislead people then by using misdirection to point the reader to examples of sex crimes, which give no indication of what those male prisoners have actually been incarcerated for. The page they pulled the graphic from, doesn't characterise, or make any mention of gender, in any case -

Quick Facts on Sexual Abuse

You also know that what is being referred to there as lads who are already a danger to women are the vast majority of rapists and sex abusers who haven't been caught, or reported, and you know this because you started a discussion about it off the back of the case in France where for 20 years a man had been inviting men over to rape his wife, and you questioned the prevalence of men who were sexually abusing women and whether it was more than is often thought. I'm only sorry that discussion was closed. They aren't criminals if they haven't been found guilty, and you know what those conviction rates are like -

Less than 4% of reported rapes, sexual assaults, and child sex abuse allegations in certain cities across the United States ever result in a sex crime conviction, an NBC News investigation found.

The results of the investigation — based on a review of thousands of documents from police departments, prosecutors and courts in cities from Los Angeles to Boston — underscore what many advocates, experts and some law enforcement authorities have long said: The system routinely fails to get justice for victims.

Three major takeaways we learned from ‘Dismissed,’ NBC News’ investigation into how few violent sex crimes end in a conviction

The data isn't saying the opposite, you're not saying the opposite, and the data which has been released by that KPSS crowd just isn't worth a shít to draw any kind of conclusions or make any kind of determinations, unless one just needs it to back up what they already held to be true and hope that other people aren't that bothered to look too closely and see that it's bullshít.

Try reading it again. It came from FOIA requests which are all listed in the pdf, as well as links to various other sources.

https://usa.kpssinfo.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/BOP-Transgender-Inmate-Report-2025-01832.pdf

What information do you think is missing, specifically?

For instance, you say it's not clear what crimes the TW have committed - but unless those crimes were crimes of prostitution and similar offences where the prostitute is in many ways the victims, that's not relevant here. And the data I gave shows that these are NOT crimes of solliciting or prostitution etc, but are indeed crimes where the offender abused a victim. You may have missed that, but it's there.

And the idea that it's not relevant because there are far more unpunished sex crimes out there is whataboutery of a new and amazing level. By that logic we shoudl give up on everything until all crimes are punished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,871 ✭✭✭plodder

Okay, I appreciate that you edited your post to explain better what you meant, but you literally complained that transphobes were being allowed to use the term "trans identified males" on this website. That is absolutely trying to censor the discussion. I understand you don't like it and I understand why it is offensive to you but it is central to the question being discussed. I'm happy to say "trans women" much of the time, but there are occasions when biological sex matters, and it is dystopian nonsense to say that they can't be described as "trans identified males" on those occasions.

I complain about all transphobia and transphobic comments (that I see) that are allowed on this website, not just the use of transphobic language.

I have already explained in detail why the term "trans identifying male/female" is considered derogatory and transphobic.

So now you know.

If you choose to continue using the term with that newfound knowledge then don't be surprised if it results in someone calling you out for it.

I read it again already, and I read the twitter post where they made the point about M2F inmates incarcerated for sex offences was 51%, and F2M inmates incarcerated for sex offences was 7.46%, but what's specifically missing in both those links is the context for that information, as in the breakdown of sex of the inmates themselves. I found it btw - MTF inmates represent 1.3 -1.5% of the population of Female inmates.

image.png

BOP Statistics: Inmate Sex

It IS relevant here because the nature of their offences can be used to determine whether as you claim, female inmates are actually at any risk from M2F inmates, and the scale of that risk. Like you make this point in your opening post -

There hasn't been a lot of detailed data available about whether transwomen (or men claiming to be TW for their own reasons), though what there has been, from the UK, shows that at best, transidentifying men (transwomen) commit violent offences at rates similar to those committed by men in general.

And this -

As in the UK, it also finds that transidentifying men are FAR more likely to be in prison for sexual assault than women, and also confirms that they are also more likely to be sex offenders than male prisoners in general.

But neither of those points give any indication of any threat to women in prison, and I didn't miss the point that the offender abused a victim; what is missing though, is the sex of their victims. I know I pointed it out before that the organisation Fair Play for Women Scotland tried to portray the rise in female sex offenders as male offenders claiming to be women, but that was easily demonstrated to be false by the fact that the sex of the offender was reported by their victims -

Victims of female child sexual abusers face "enormous stigma and shame", according to police and charities.

Figures from BBC Radio 4's File on 4 show there were over 10,400 reports of this type of abuse from 2015 to 2019 - equivalent to an average of 40 a week.

Experts say there is still a "lack of understanding" about the extent of such abuse.

The UK government said it would not allow "any safe space for sex offenders to operate - male or female".

Between 2015 and 2019, the numbers of reported cases of female-perpetrated child sexual abuse to police in England and Wales rose from 1,249 to 2,297 - an increase of 84%.

How widespread is the problem?

In 2018, 5,547 offenders were found guilty of child sexual abuse in England and Wales, according to the Ministry of Justice. There were 66 convictions of female abusers

There were a total of 73,260 reports of child sexual abuse offences in England and Wales in the 12 months from March 2018

One in 25 resulted in a charge or court summons

In 2018-19, 3.8% of all child sexual abusers were female, based on police reports, Office of National Statistics data shows

Up to 16% of those abused in residential care and 6% of those abused in other institutional contexts such as schools, sports and religious settings said female perpetrators were involved, according to data from victim reports to the Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse (IICSA)

Female child sex abuse 'remains taboo' while victims struggle

I didn't claim it was irrelevant, you tried attributing things I hadn't said to me earlier in the thread too, no need for that craic at all. I agree with you that it's relevant, what I don't appreciate is the idea of people committing sexual offences, when I point out that the conviction rates are as poor as they are, that's handwaved away as though it's irrelevant, yet you also make the point in your opening post about the silence that surrounds this topic -

But where there are women's groups in the UK and the US actively investigating the safety of women in prisons there, does anyone in Ireland care enough about the welfare of Irish women in prison to break the silence mentioned in the title of the first article? It seems that they don't. Apart from Paddy O'Gorman's podcast, there's been almost nothing in the Irish media. Certainly nothing in the mainstream media.

I never needed to listen to Paddy O' Gorman's podcast where I lost count of the amount of times he interrupted women telling their stories to try and force them to use the pronouns that he wanted them to use, but I'm not surprised you didn't mention that as evidence that women can't talk about themselves; it stands to reason that you wouldn't because it doesn't gel with the narrative that you need to portray. There are dozens of organisations in Ireland who care about the welfare of women in Irish prisons, and while it's true that there's very little coverage in the mainstream media of the welfare of women in Irish prisons, the reasons for that are obvious - it doesn't sell newspapers and it doesn't get clicks. What does though, is a disproportionate focus on men in women's prisons, all three of them, and one of them in particular who's more of a danger to themselves than they are to anyone else, who belongs in CMH, not prison, but there's nowhere else to put that particular individual because they've aged out of the care system, and soon they'll have served their sentence in prison where what you've dismissed as whataboutery will invariably become relevant again.

Why is the offence for which they are imprisoned relevant? Are we afraid that murderers are gonna commit more murders in prison?

Tbh, all this is doing is creating an argument that all prisoners should be kept separate from each other all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,871 ✭✭✭plodder

Do whatever you want. As I said to you, I will use language appropriate to the situation. It's okay for language to be fuzzy at times when you don't want to offend someone. But, at other times clarity is necessary - like when discussing the subject of this thread. We need clear definitions so we have clear understanding of what is happening around us.

The fact that some people find the term "trans identified male" offensive, paradoxically adds to its value because there is no ambiguity around "male" referring to the male sex, rather than gender identity. The dictionary definition of "male" refers to both meanings. I presume it's for the same reason that people don't like the term "biological male". It's too precise and unambiguous and doesn't suit those who are trying to change the world by changing the meaning of words.

"It's okay for language to be fuzzy at times". When? When it's not offensive to you?

For someone who is going on about how important the use of language is, you're now just doubling down and making convenient excuses to allow yourself to use terms that you now know are derogatory towards the transgender community.

There is no context I can think of (and I have thought about it) in which "trans-identifying male/female" can't be replaced by "transgender male / female".

Unless of course, paradoxically, you don't actually care about using inappropriate language and thereby causing offence.

It's sleight of hand, used to misgender and invalidate a transgender person's identity, and you just perfectly demonstrated it in your last post.