Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kneecap - New Footage *Read OP for Mod Warning*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,246 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

These lads are complaining today about restrictions on their freedom to travel presumably facing a permanent ban from the US.

They must have known this was the likely outcome by involving themselves in such a sensitive issue. They must have known the consequences for them and if they didn't then they were very badly advised.

If you're in the public eye you need to balance very carefully how much you choose to promote your own beliefs vs your own interests.

These lads got that balance horribly wrong. All it would have taken to protect themselves was common sense.

They have no grounds for complaint. They knew they were playing with fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,108 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Tbf I'd say its fairly likely they didn't realise. It'd be anarchy if a lightbulb went on the tour bus and it was left the them and the manager to fix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,600 ✭✭✭francois

when kneecap are long forgotten, Israel's crimes against humanity will still be remembered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,508 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Kneecap are going to have to explain themselves if they don’t want a conviction - if you look at the charges wording that has been quoted in the media, it’s a particularly low bar in terms of proving guilt - you don’t have to be caught with a membership card of a terrorist group or an AK47 in order to be found guilty.

I imagine the Hezbollah poster/flag shown at the concert was merely an anti Israel atrocities statement rather than any intellectually conceived attempt to gather support for the organisation - but even if it weren’t illegal to do so, given what NI went through it was downright tone deaf .

Neither the band nor their manager could explain it to date- while I’m not a fan of the band and I think they’re numpties , the case against them is unnecessary in the main - as someone said above, let the police arrest everyone who displays IRA and UVF symbolism this summer up north if these lads have done wrong-

But I can’t help think they’ll be found guilty - it’s that low bar wording in the legislation .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Randycove

I would guess that for the met Police, this is a case of being backed in to a corner by the publicity.

There is a pro Palestine march near enough every week and it has been made very clear that the marches are ok, but support of Hamas and Hezbollah is very much not ok. Generally this seems to have been accepted, but then this comes along and is in danger of setting a precedent and making policing of these marches that much harder.

Can’t disagree with what you’ve posted and a point well made- we’ve all been fans of bands down through the years who have developed artistic concepts and whatnot - and had this been done in a more artistic manner, and they were still charged, I’d be protesting against the charges myself as “art” is a sacred cow to me that shouldn’t be interfered with by governments in the main- but I’m just not seen the artistic expression here- I’m seen a band performance and a terrorist symbol displayed to win over a crowds support -it was clumsy at best.

If this truly was taken out of context as they allege - they need to explain the bloody context- they’ve had ample opportunity to do so and have failed

the Kneecap lads need to have a conversation with Jake Burns and the various members of SLF. They always managed to get their point across, were very critical of both government and paramilitaries and managed to do it in a completely unambiguous way.

Probably a bit late now- my view (opinion) is clear -they tried to capitalise on their small success to date by hooking themselves to a “cause” and to grow the bands profile through that - whilst I might be wrong, and I’ve no doubt the band would “vigorously” disagree, that’s the impression they’ve left to me-and communication is all in the interpretation- and they’re the ones doing the communicating.

It’s rock n roll nothing more - and rock n roll is ultimately there to make some people very rich.

Their defence was “but but Gaza”- which is not really a defence considering many people support Palestine's right to be present in Gaza, but don’t advocate or otherwise publicise Hezbollah in any way.
    Good musicians start with quality, gain a large swell of support down purely to their musical output- and then if they do chose, leaverage that support towards a cause -I believe Kneecap are doing that in the reverse - it’s debatable if they’ll ever release “that difficult second album”- they certainly have the content and inspiration for it at this stage- but can they achieve it?

The one thing I would agree with them is - it’s a “distraction” from the atrocities being committed in Gaza- but it’s one of their own doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,231 ✭✭✭Tazz T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭Choochtown

"it’s debatable if they’ll ever release “that difficult second album”

They released their 2nd album in June 2024. You should give it a listen, it's very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,451 ✭✭✭✭Seathrun66

Worked in it for two decades so fully aware. What part is inaccurate?

With a waiting list of 2,000.

And about to play to 25,000 people in Brockwell Park this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

I remember when the Wolfe Tones outraged middle class Ireland by singing old maudlin novelty songs, hell the football team even had to apologize for daring to sing one. Yet Kneecap are media darlings, what changed?

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,829 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I think the authorities are in a tight corner on this one too.

Im sure they don't want the bad publicity of jailing a musician for stupidly waving a flag about. The band seem to have a lot of support across the music world, barring Sharon Osbourne of course but in the great scheme of things, her opinion is meaningless.

And as others have said, if this guy is jailed for this, it means that those guys hanging up LVF or UVF flags this June and July in NI all need to be arrested and charged too, otherwise it'll be pointed out on every occasion it doesn't happen. You either enforce anti-terrorism legislation or you don't.

Should he get 6 months in jail, it will be the best sales promotion for them ever. They will go massive.

But I can see a slap on the wrist and maybe a suspended sentence.

2,000 on the waiting list which was the maximum number that could be put on standby. 25,000 off to see them tonights and several hundred thousand over the Summer.

They were playing to huge crowds long before this. 12,000 at the Electric Picnic in 2022. A lauded debut album, an award-winning movie and significant spots at festivals throughout Europe in 2024 and 2025 (including a packed Woodsies at Glastonbury last June, see below). They're playing to 25k people tonight, 45k in Finsbury Park in July and another 43k in Belfast the same month. Add in Glasto plus stadiums in the Autumn and they're doing okay.

They didn't need the publicity. They're huge. And they're genuine. The UK government has picked the wrong fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,894 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

The Wolfe Tones only outraged Joe Duffy, Sky News and a few tabloid rags. Nobody else much cared.

Kneecap are lauded cos their opposition to the Gaza genocide reflects the overwhelming view in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,829 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Not sure tbh. I would assume it would be, otherwise it would be grand to fly the Hezbollah flag in NI without any issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,894 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Could well be the case, isn't there separate flags legislation for Northern Ireland because of the, em, cultural issues associated with them?

• Subscribers Posts: 43,106 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

it will be interesting to see the disparity between their numbers at TRNSMT and 50 Cent. They're on a smaller stage but i would be quite confident they will pull a bigger crowd than Curtis James.

Smart management would move them onto the main stage. Health & safety reasons for starters as their crowds are going to swell all Summer long.

Glastonbury has them at West Holts which holds about 30,000 but even that may not be enough. Would be wise to move them to the Other Stage.

Smart management would move them onto the main stage. Health & safety reasons for starters as their crowds are going to swell all Summer long.

agreed.. they have had issues at King Tuts stage over the past few years with over capacity and having to close it off. Example and Becky Hill are two acts that required it to be closed for access due to capacity being exceeded.

I’d say it is about different policing methods as well. The Met seem to concentrate on removing any flash points. Tell someone to remove a flag or banner rather than arrest someone for waving it. The last thing they need is “but Kneecap…”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

25000 off to see a bunch of bands/artists play, not just Kneecap.

Same with all the Festivals they are part of. There are 100 bands/artists at Glasto. Not just Kneecap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

True but I'd put money on them being high on the list for a lot of people and even more so now.

Kneecap are the headliners at Wide Awake tonight. Some of the other acts are decent but not on the same rung of the ladder. The ticket sales are due to the Belfast lads.

They're on the third stage at Glasto but could possibly be moved to the second as the demand will be huge. They also have big slots at several European festivals never mind the outdoor and indoor shows in London, Belfast & Dublin this Summer and Winter. They're pretty huge, and they have momentum.

Fontaines, Amyl and Kneecaps at Finsbury park is going to be EPIC.

I wouldn't be attending that if you have any anti-Palestinian sensitivities.

Yep, you can expect to hear more of this (Fontaines nab a RS award) and huge support for Kneecap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science