Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deposit return scheme (recycling) - Part 2

1130131132133134136»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Orban6

We don't have to do this step by step.

So I'll skip to the last step.

I go into a shop and buy a few items, I pay by card and present the receipt which is scanned and thus the amount subtracted from my account is that amount minus the receipt!

My account now has the same money in it as if the money had been originally been deposited into it.

The person who has an issue here wants to spend that money on something else. He still can. He still can, he just doesn't realise it. The money is still in his account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,260 ✭✭✭✭kippy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,452 ✭✭✭jj880

Reminds me of the time people were demanding proof that manual returns take up extra staff time.

Or that taking containers in store for manual returns is fine from a hygiene standpoint because shoppers are smelly anyway.

Or who could forget the classic. Prove that people need space to store containers at home when before drs they could just crush them and throw into a wheelie bin.

And Im being called dim and told to cop on 🤣. This thread is some craic at times.

Just please tell me where you are forced to do anything?

JUST DO THAT PLEASE!

You tell me?

what is "step by step"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,119 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

I think mr capital letters needs to take a step back from this thread 😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,479 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Another with the Ɍ logo, but not in the scheme. I did buy it in the North in fairness

image.png image.png

No-ones debating you can get your money back. Its about not having to go into the shop to get it.

It would be so much more convenient to go to an RVM, return your containers, scan the QR code on screen (we've seen from RVM manuals that this function is readily available) with a mobile app and get your refund to payment card or bank account. Before people start testifying that their granny doesn't have a smart phone it would be an additional option for those that want this refund method. No messing about with vouchers.

However right now gombeenery has dictated customers must print a voucher and go into a shop with it to get their own money back. It shouldn't be this way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,811 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The money would not arrive into accounts unless the financial institutions agreed. And they would only agree to get involved in the technology if it was to their advantage. Maybe millions of transactions adding a few Euro to accounts is not something they want.

Banks like money.

Or are banks now the same as these customers who "dont want their deposits back"?

If they need a sweetener add a minimum withdrawal amount or take it from the 54,000,000+ euro Re-Turn are getting annually from customers.

Banks like profits. They are the ultimate gombeen men. I wouldn't give them a cent of our deposit money.

Dont give banks any deposit money that Re-Turn currently has to make the scheme more convenient for customers?

Sounds about right from you. Im sure it will be spent wisely on other things like more bin surrounds 🤣

I'd rather that than giving it to the banks. Just so that cranks can get their money back by the same method they used for the purchase.

Honestly, you press a button and you get a receipt. You don't have to print it out yourself.

You use that receipt to offset the cost of your shopping.

What is so difficult to understand?

Nobody has answered that question.

As regards your comment about QR codes. Give me strength!

Do you really think that's easier than just using a receipt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

I've 17 months worth of stuff to return soon. Will be interesting to see the total

IMG_20250521_150043.jpg

We're being completely rinsed in this country. Nothing to do with DRS of course.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,458 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

jezuz, I had 3-4 months worth of (mostly) tins to return and it came in just shy of €40, took about half an hour and one of the machines crapped out after the first 10 cans. Have fun 🤣

Not only is it easier its better for the environment. No unnecessary vouchers. Since thats what this scheme is about? The environment? Isn't it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,816 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Print a receipt after every 5 euros or so in case the machine dies when you've loads in.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

You could do a little bit of planning. One of my local Tescos has four machines, and I never saw a queue. Somewhere like that would be better than a single machine. But if someone comes along with a few bottles, just print your voucher and let them away.

It would be wise to print a voucher after say every 50 containers anyway. There is no way of knowing how full the machine is before you start. You could combine a shopping trip with the returns, but the vouchers are as good as cash for as long as you keep them in good condition.