Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline With Joe Duffy - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,308 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Wonder is it KT or Collum today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,145 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

I think, in a hugely professional and respectful manner, Joe will be back in the hotseat. Powering straight through the summer before a glorious exit.

Certainly it's the minimum required given the recompense involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,888 ✭✭✭CH3OH

No show like a Joe no show.

Blessed with Katie today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,492 ✭✭✭leath_dub

It's a joke shop. He should at least have had the decency to step down immediately rather than sucking on the licence payers teat for another 6 weeks

GDY151

Today, KT…

Helen McEntee raised high levels of absence from schools since Covid, are some children being taken out of school to avail of cheap holidays.

Price of stuff going through the roof, groceries like butter, rice cakes etc etc. Have you noticed any items in particular getting expensive, also have you noticed any cheap deals?

Joe Biden's prostate cancer diagnosis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,104 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Joe mitches more time off work, than the kids mitching off school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭mountain

carefully planned exit, statement read out by himself, appearance on the Late Late, he’s going to go out with a flourish, unlikely but he may even buy a new waistcoat for the last show

Unprofessional gombeen

Had to laugh the other day, when an advert ran for Liveline specifically saying 'Talk to Joe' two or three times interspersed with snippets of the previous week or so

All KT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,227 ✭✭✭Genghis

Or wot-a-boyt BBC colleague, wee Stephen Nolan.

Cushy number for Stephen, no more burning the candle at both ends with an 80 minute daily morning show on Radio Ulster and a 3hr late night show on Five Live.

He'd been down €100k but way ahead on work/life balance with a mid afternoon 75 minute canter. 15 years Joe's junior, plenty of life in him yet.

Well able to stir it for content, quite happy to play the cantankerous troll when needed (and play it on one side) and very used to treating parochial, tea-cup or smaller size spats as though seismic events.

Sure haven't Joe and himself traded places before in the name of co-operation?

Stephen might have to get used to crossing the border but other than that, surely a no-brainer?

Maybe Joe was even hinting at it on the Late Late with his BBC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,839 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Not sure I can be bothered tuning in today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,215 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Kinda crazy that he's just going to completely take the piss for the final few weeks. Especially after his valedictory appearance on the LL.

You'd wonder what really went on behind the scenes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Screenshot_20250519_135048.jpg

Not today Jose

Stroke a luck that John was listening to the promo and took it upon himself to ring in

Cynic in me would normally suggest that the researchers picked up the oul Cancer rolodex and got ringing

I think you are pretty much bang on the money there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

Not a like for like comparison. UK population is approx. 70 million v Ireland’s 5.

One could argue that Joe broadcasting to a population of 70 million would cost t her BBC approx. £4.9m sterling on a cost per head of population basis were his current remuneration rates to be maintained. Workings available on request if required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

I would like to say I’m shocked that Joe is off again, but I’m not.

GDY151

It would be great to take out a loan for €3.4 million if you were told you had 6 months to live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭avfc1874

I was thinking exactly the same thing.

Wonder how the researcher framed the question?

Hi John we heard you have terminal cancer and would love you to come on to the show and go into great details of your illness as ( We love to start the week with as much sad stories/ misery as possible) on our caller driven show 🙄

Untitled Image

Doc Google

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭avfc1874

I'm guessing this will be the whole show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,211 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Bit pointless. You could never drink that much in six months.

Good points there from Ross, but just for balance purposes, similar to when we cover political discussions, the alternative of doing nothing is also there. Yes, you will be in a state of blissful ignorance and, perhaps, a painful eventual death, but you will also have not have had a stranger's finger up your hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭rdser

Really, between RTE and Newstalk do they ever stop lecturing people on bringing up their kids. The Newstalk Breakfast show has something nearly every day on banning something for kids, doing something/not doing something for/with yer kids, banning phones / banning social media/taking days off for holidays…its bloody ridiculous and just distraction for bigger issues. Its like a constant lecture

Liveline is as bad…..wont someone think of the childers crap. Parent are allowed make their own calls on THEIR kids without the moral guidance of some radio jock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,215 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I'll give Katie a passing grade for today - Some of the lads have told their stories well and I think there's a public interest in hearing about this.

Give us more detail caller, the nation wants to hear about an 82yr old ridin'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,682 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Liveline researchers reading this thread again more like….looking for any auld topic to fill the unforgiving 1hr 15mins. They have exhausted every possibe Wimmins health issue, now probably reluctantly looking at mens problems

GDY151

The blue tablets to keep it running like a Swiss clock.