Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Newstalk: 'Lunchtime Live' with Andrea Gilligan

1212223242527»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I was actually enjoying that topic of the proposed tourist tax. The DCC counsillor sounded very out of touch IMO.

And I guarantee if they get the go-ahead for a working group, the first thing they will do is an exploratory junket around Europe to "sample" how other European cities do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Mohat Mogeansai

After the western economy craters and the few tourists with cash see ireland as prohibitively exspensive , that politician will pull the same “shocked and appalled “ stunt as the students finding out they arent being welcomed with open arms for dumping all over the US on social media

AG: Today we will be talking about water saving devices and how installing them in your home will save you money.

Pat Kenny: But we don't pay for water so how will they save you money?

AG: Well… if you had a leak…

PK: But we still dont pay for water so how would it save money?

AG: Well it would be very valuable for companies.

Yeah, because I am sure lots of CFOs tune in daily to Lunchtime Live.

Methinks the topic wasn't fully thought out by the production team. And PK spotted a flaw in the idea in 10 seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭leath_dub

The huge gulf between Andrea's and Pat's intellect in a nutshell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭Mr.CoolGuy

Another expert on here about reproduction issues.

One man texts in asking about premature ejaculation and the expert laughs at him. You see this a lot on Newstalk, especially on the "so you think you're an adult" section on Moncrieff.

I was livid over the ( bias alert) hippie types banging on about musicians. I go to gigs to have a good time , and the idea I should stand there and be lectured like a student union march pisses me off.

Todays pearl clutching is brought to us by Social Media. Do these callers think 20 years ago teenagers were dancing at the cross roads to Dana records with glasses of homemade lemonade to raise money for the local orphanage ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,483 ✭✭✭crusd

The idea that social media has not exposed teenagers to pressures and psychological harm that they previously were not is ludicrous in the extreme. But it allows you to rant about a radio show, so carry on

having less than zero psychological training or experience, Social media is this Mammies generation version of the vague , almost mystical “peer pressure” . MY little zahmantha doesn’t want to be posting pictures of herself snorting cocaine off the hood she’s clinging to of a stolen car reversing at 50 mph up Moore street in skivvys that more closely resemble a tangle of HDMI cables, it’s the internet !

And sure what do I know. I’m just annoyed that every day lunchtime live trots out some sort of moral panic , and the same demographics ring in toss out the usual cliches

AG: Should we outlaw the filming of tragic events? But first, representatives from the Gardai talking about the guard who died at the weekend(RIP), and one of the representatives said "If anyone has filming of the event please come forward".

Ooops.

As all things with the show , it’s fine when it’s listeners want to do it, but a National Disgrace if anyone else does it.

I’ll need a week off , Freddie Starr ate my hamster

God almighty , one Whinging Mammy after another today, this tone of outrage that the “goverment” isn’t actively intervening to give them exactly what they want.

AG: Should taking pictures of food in restaurants be banned?

FFS, What is it with her and banning things? Every other day she's asking is some completely unenforceable thing be banned.

sounds like rage baiting to me , her core demographic live vicariously through Instagram. It must be men doing it now or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Allinall

Well I didn't listen long enough to find out her position on it.

pseudoscience is saying stuff like “ we know energy doesn’t die” The first law of thermodynamics doesnt mean your gran is shaking your dream catcher

I can’t emphasise enough how ticked off I get that this show will hit the big red outrage button about fake news and evil social media , but will turn around and have this sort of rubbish on

what a Karen. Everybody just has to put up with Moi lurverly inbred demented nuisance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Danye

Are her callers stooges or pre arranged?

most of her callers are prearranged , they’re usually introduced as “Zoe Fingerson-Quinn from the Irish aroma therapy institute “ etc. I don’t think they’re trying to pass them off as random callers . The call-in callers , so to speak , all seem to be her pals though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Danye

Sorry yeah the first guest she generally has on would be an “expert” in the specific area they are talking about.

I’m talking about the people who call in to discuss the topic further. Surely a lot of them are plants?

much as I despise the show ( that I’m forced to listen too ) I don’t think they are hiring actors to portray characters . It seems to me the shows producers trawl instagram for whatever is outraging Mammies that day , and then line them up to tell us “ the government needs to do more…..” . they defo “ stack the deck “ as far as I can tell, which you could possibly consider as planting, maybe .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,639 ✭✭✭The Davestator

The phone the people that have text in that day, either in their show, or previous ones as they tend to stick to the same topics as breakfast and PK.

I think they trawl the comments section on The Journal to find the most outraged.

according to Andrea, this one just up the show with a big suitcase of Mammy Disgruntlement , and apparently that’s enough to get you on national radio .

there was a boy racer acting the maggot in the car park yesterday, I’m wondering if he come back again fir the hour