Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eurovision Song Contest 2025 - Mod warning in the OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,420 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

I've seen the video of the original Malta song. They should've been allowed to keep it that way for the laugh. I suppose the EBU didn't want another sh!tstorm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭Expunge

Just on the decline of Marty Whelan. There is a resourcing and cultural issue here as well.

On the BBC, Graham Norton will thank a team which will include, I think, 2 producers at the end of the broadcast. His (commentary) scripts are sharp, rehearsed and timed mostly perfectly - probably written for him.

Poor auld Marty and the RTE mob are not putting in that level of work. He's all over the shop timing wise - which leads to talking over bits he shouldn't. It's not the wittiest fare you'll ever get and his voice quality has diminished alarmingly in recent years.

As in most aspects of RTE's output, it's an "ah shur, it'll do" effort.

Being on the junket seems to be the number 1 priority for the RTE delegation - judging by the substandard output on the night.

Legendary former BBC Radio presenter, Ken Bruce, who did Eurovision radio commentary on the BBC for many years mentions in his autobiography how he would always end up socialising with the the Irish and Swedish delegations at the event.

Why? Because that's where the craic was. The difference being the Swedes and the BBC crew did their work before going on the razzle.

Post edited by Expunge on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Baybay

Emmy seems a nice enough girl who did her best with a dreadful song. We can talk about the staging, the dancers, the camera angles etc but really who wants to hear a song about a dead dog? While I’d have loved for us to go through, that song just could not have been more wrong for us, regardless of who sang it.

RTE needs to decide if they actually want to compete to win rather than just waste the money on futile attempts. Even the debacle that was the competition on TLLS is so old hat that you’d wonder why they bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,454 ✭✭✭archfi

I'm still gutted milkshake man didn't get the nod :(

A thing isn't what it says it is.

A thing is what it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭taratee

What Israeli diaspora? There is no significant Israeli diaspora across Europe, and it certainly wouldn’t be large enough to account for the number of votes Israel receives. There are a few thousand Israelis living in Ireland, for example, yet Israel still finished second in the public vote last year.

Like it or not, most people are capable of seeing Eurovision for what it is: a song contest. They're voting for entries like Israel, Luxembourg, and San Marino because they enjoy the songs and performances — not because of voting blocs or politics.

I sincerely hope you and others like you follow through on your threat to boycott the final, so the rest of us can put the worries of the world aside for a few hours and enjoy Eurovision for what it truly is: a light-hearted celebration of music.

Am Yisrael Chai - Bring them home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,727 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Eurovision selection needs to be front and centre at RTE. I don’t even mind a 4 week show where the six songs go through Developmrnt and emerge fully formed in epishde 4, ready fur Eurovision, properly ready.

Agree completely. There were a couple of songs in our Eurosong that I thought had the makings of something decent: the ones by Niyl, and Adgy. They just needed better production and presentation. Give them mentorship and with the additional exposure, they could really grow as artists. Having said that the Bobbi Arlo one was “yas queen/slay” shite, and Samantha Mumba’s was completely disjointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭taratee

I've had my eye on it for a few days, and I think it's a little gem. I love the song and the performance. I voted for it last night in the semi-final, and I'm going to give it—and the Israeli song—another listen tomorrow night before I choose which one to vote for. The best performance on the night between the two will get my vote.

Am Yisrael Chai - Bring them home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Champagne Sally

I have to say I used to love Terry Wogan (may he RIP) commenting for the BBC, he was very entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,159 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

A song written by a Russian woman about a Russian dog sent into space on the Russian Sputnik and the dog’s prearranged death. Maybe not the best vote catcher in the current climate even if it happened years ago. The song was not well liked by my dog-loving friends either who said it was bubblegum pop sanitising the cruel treatment of animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Libertine07

Its actually pretty cheap tele considering the size of the audience it gets, so we definitely won't be pulling out. But yep, it's the usual half arsed approach from RTE.

I really would love to see TG4 be given a shot at it. Obviously it would be low budget but maybe that could be compensated for with some creativity and originality. And with the trend away from English language songs, what better time to try it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,727 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

I think that’s what RTE think they have with Marty: the lovable elder statesman who can be a bit cantankerous, but can take the mick out of the whole thing too in a humorous way.

Post edited by DebDynamite on

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,676 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Thry leverage that diaspora for the rest of world vote. Heavy advertising also against the spirit of the competition.

If, as you say, people recognise it as a song contest, then why aren’t Russia included then? They’re rightfully excluded as they invaded another competitors country. I’d also call for their exclusion if they invaded a non EBU member. If you watch the Israeli entry and are ok with them being there then you tacitly accept that genocide is fine. It’s as simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭Expunge

Not fit to lace Wogan's boots. A poundshop version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,103 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I echo the marty sentiment. He was terrible and mostly incoherent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

I'll give him this, he was memorable. Whether that means you deserve to qualify I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

Gutted Czechia didn’t get through, loved the song and performance. Deserved to be in the final at least. Not as gutted for Ireland. Liked the song but staging just didn’t work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,299 ✭✭✭RoTelly

The EBU remove Russia's state broadcasters from membership of the EBU, as the felt that they had become an arm of the Russian state. EBU have so far failed to remove KAN's membership for the same reason as they believe that KAN is not an arm of the government.

Anyway so much for RTÉ's discussion on Israel, it gets them out of their own controversies and how they have approached Eurovision for the last 25 years, perhaps if they had called for those discussion after last years Eurovision I might be more sympathic to RTÉ.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,238 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

The key difference is that Isreal was attacked on Oct 7th and thousands of people, some of them at a music festival, were indiscriminately murdered, and others were taken hostage and some still remain hostages.

Russia on the other hand invaded a smaller neighbor with the sole intent on taking it over.

That is the key difference.

Even though the Isreal Palestinian conflict has been going on for decades, Isreal was invaded on Oct 7th and thousands were killed.

That difference goes along way to explaining why Russia and Israel are treated differently.

I'm not arguing one way or another how either should be treated, but that the reason why there is a different.

Plus, Isreal has far more friends in Europe than Russia has.

I highly doubt 99.99% of the audience has a clue what the song is about or the history of Russian space travel to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,859 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I think Bambie doesn't get enough credit for ho much they understood Eurovision. She put in a lot of work backstage and in social media and her #crownthewitch thing was an excellent idea.

We saw how important that stuff is with Jedward and that bang average English Spaceman fella who almost won the thing.

YYou really really have to commit to selling yourself and Bambie was great at it.

An unusual/interesting song with great staging can go a long way, compare it to this year and it's night and day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,493 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Are the Israeli entry running the country and the IDF? Or are they merely in a song contest

Am I the only one that doesn't mind Marty Whelan commentating 🙈

You could say tge sane about a Russian entry. It’s propaganda and that’s why they’re there.

I think she was the whole package. Unusual song, great set and well able to sell herself.

I was worried we would learn the wrong lesson and try Bambie 2.0 but it's worse. We learned no lesson at all.

Its a song contest. That's it. Why not leave the politics out of it. I wouldn't have an issue with Russia having an entry. They're singers not the leaders of their countries 🙄

I’m not disputing that at all. October 7 was terrible and if that’s where things remained it’d be understandable. What happened afterwards however is disproportionate. Razing a territory, commuting genocide with a view to annexing it is on another level entirely

The hospital workers and journalists being specifically targeted by Isreal are not leaders of their country either 🙄

And it's Isreal whk picked politically motivated acts the last 2 years and also Isreal who couldn't "just let it be a song contest" last year when they bullied and stalked participants.

If anyone else acted like them last year backstage they would be gone. Just like Joost who happened to run into problems soon after speaking out against them.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 7,118 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

You're probably in the minority suvigirl.

I think for Whelan this is just a job, and he is not really "invested" in the competition. I didn't watch in RTÉ this year, but I remember that last year I found his commentary by the numbers: just reading what's in front of him (probably prepared by someone else) and any personal commentary during the voting part came across as someone that's disconnected from the competition altogether.

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland, The Courettes, Nine Inch Nails, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Nova Twins