Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Very quiet in here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,442 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Doesn't defamation need to be a false statement said to damage someones character?

All the things I've seen posted about Justin Barrett seem to be true? I mean he's not exactly denying he's a Nazi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,695 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Given the public reputation among 'reasonable members' of society of some political figures - especially ones abroad, hard to see how that reputation could held to be damaged by anonymous comments on an Irish message board.

Quite distinct from example of e.g. an Irish based business which may lose business because of comments posted here which potential customers hit upon when searching.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

She's not so dismissive of "hurty words" when it's someone she likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,021 ✭✭✭✭28064212

Strictly speaking, no. A defamatory statement is defined as one which "tends to injure a person’s reputation in the eyes of reasonable members of society". That's the only qualification, there's no requirement for it to be false.

Where the truth comes in is that you can use it as a defence in a defamation case. Specifically:

It shall be a defence […] to a defamation action for the defendant to prove that the statement in respect of which the action was brought is true in all material respects.

One vital point: the requirement to prove the truth lies on the defendant. The plantiff does not have to prove the statement is false.

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,840 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Of course. Defamation is a simple word with a simple meaning. It's telling that all the interpretations so far involve putting certain figures like Elon Musk and Donald Trump above all criticism though.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,862 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

would the mods not have removed the offending post themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,659 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,085 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

It'd be defamatory to say Barrett doesn't idolise Hitler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,486 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Is it trolling to make personal remarks about another poster, presumably it is. Let's hope mods get to grips with all these trolls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,975 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Who is" she" in this post and why do you not refer to them by name and @ quotation?

A little craven maybe , or " snarky " ?

Snarky? Pot meet kettle. I've seen the way you speak to people.

Responding to the behaviour which you display publicly here is hardly personal. And like you can talk about trolling. 😆

Well I wasn't the one who left the " she " comment , so maybe own your own snarkiness .

"She" is obviously the person nullzero was replying to. Not complicated unless one is spoiling for a fight. And yes she does cause snarkiness with her constant antagonising, dishonesty and obtuseness.

That explains it so ,does it?

It's still being snarky about a poster and not quoting them , which would be the straighter thing to do.

Interesting about the fight comment seeing you are the one who started it with the cowardly dig .

Maybe use this thread as actual real feedback instead of having a go at someone behind their back ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭nachouser

Just out of curiosity. What's the justification for keeping the "Garda killed doing his job" thread open? It would appear to be a bit disrespectful to his surviving family and friends to have anonymous posters speculating on here what might have happened. Ireland is a very small place when it comes to knowing people who have died in tragic circumstances that make headlines. He's not even being buried until Friday and the thread is still open and reliant on part time, unpaid mods to keep it free of any and all inappropriate posts that might be read by those closest to him.

Post edited by nachouser on

"Behind their back"? I know you enjoy bullying (you're a classic "be kind" person - off on one about me being mean to a very inflammatory poster and doing so by... making up sh1t to throw at me) but what the f are you talking about? Nullzero was responding to suvigirl, I responded to his response. Nope, you started the fight, being you.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

Don't have to make anything up . Your posts there for all to see .

Name calling now as well . Bullying ? Ah poor you .

My post in response to nullzero, which everyone including suvigirl knew was about her. Yes you are just making stuff up - to be a "be kind" bully.

What name-calling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,309 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Why don't you take your own advice and use the thread for actual feedback?

Your last few posts are looking to engage in an argument and not the advice you are giving that poster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

In fairness, the poster has yet to divulge the defamatory posts. It's just a vague claim. The reality is he's likely just claiming being critical of Trump or Musk as defamatory. If somebody is claiming something and not providing proof, then it's logical to be dismissive.

°°°°°

The logical thing to do would be to read the threads in question. Plus if I was linking to posts that meet that criteria there'd be a flood of people making up reasons that I'm wrong anyway. It's a pointless exercise.

I person don't give a damn about people saying defamatory things about musk or trump, I'm just pointing out the logical inconsistency around the issue.

How it relates to feedback is tentative anyway, it was mentioned as an aside that perhaps boards isn't on the radar of most people or organisations or in the thought process surrounding ongoing court cases in this country.

In any normal setting that would be met with a reasonable response, instead it turned into a deluge of "you don't understand X or have a poor grasp of Y". A perfect microcosm of what's wrong with this site and why it's better to not engage with people at all for the most part so bravo folks.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,442 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

A logical thing to do would actually just be to post an example of a defamatory post rather that trying to tie yourself in knots explaining your way out of it?

If it's worth bringing up here as a massive issue then it's worth having an example of it to hand.

Otherwise it just comes across as vague claims.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,840 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I'm confused how there can be so many instances of something that not a single example can be shared. Asking other people to research an argument for you is a weak way to make a point.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Pointing out how posters jump into conversations just to post personal insults and attack the poster, is feedback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Raichų

god do ye remember when everyone didn’t try take strips off each other on boards?

those were good days.

That was never a thing. Cards and bans were implemented for a reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Raichų

I was being some hyperbolic. There was certainly plenty of more heated discussion that led to the odd outburst but unless I need to clean my rose tinted glasses, generally there was more respect afforded in discussion.

Everyone is very angry around here now. Everyone and everything is shite including boards. I don’t think the place was so bitter back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,499 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

Yeah, the core rules were enforced and therefore adhered to more in the past.

°°°°°

I've observed this stuff but I'm not digging through threads with hundreds of pages to provide evidence for people who will just tell me it's not acceptable evidence.

The logic has changed thanks to the way people conduct themselves.

If you'd asked me for a link a couple of years ago I'd have no problem providing one, but there's such a vein of vitriolic hate filled inability to accept anything presented as have any validity that the exercise is utterly pointless and just serves to derail the discussion further.

What's the point of trying to win an argument with people who have never accepted being wrong about anything in their entire lives?

If you don't believe what I'm saying that's fine, I'm not the one hopping around foaming at the mouth about it.

Glazers Out!

Noone has to believe you, you cannot post any defamatory posts, and we can all read threads that while they may have 'mean' things written they are not defamatory.

Boards will delete defamatory posts.

Leave a Comment

Rich Text Editor. To edit a paragraph's style, hit tab to get to the paragraph menu. From there you will be able to pick one style. Nothing defaults to paragraph. An inline formatting menu will show up when you select text. Hit tab to get into that menu. Some elements, such as rich link embeds, images, loading indicators, and error messages may get inserted into the editor. You may navigate to these using the arrow keys inside of the editor and delete them with the delete or backspace key.