Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump the Megathread part II - mod warnings in OP, Updated 18/03/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭randd1

Amazing what 10,000 people being paid nothing doing what costs 150 people over here to do can achieve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

are we talking about the same lads that built the railroads?

"They gave me an impossible task,one which they said I wouldnt return from...."

"You are him…the one they call the "Baba Yaga"…

yo! donnie vonshitzinpants,vlad putin,benji netanyahu..you sirs are the skidmarks on the jocks of humanity!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,680 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

It was always going to recover, people have short memories.

The high tariffs were a bargaining chip, they were never going to be long term.

Trump has successfully negotiated some big trade deals with countries now and the markets are recovering. Negotiations with other countries are looking promising.

He seems to be steadying the ship after an initial rocky period. Trade deals done, Minerals deal signed with Ukraine, progress on a ceasefire in both Ukraine and Israel.

Immigration is being tackled, Doge is reducing Govt waste. He has signed alot of common sense executive orders to roll back the DEI nonsense that had gotten out of control over the last few years under the Democrats.

Been a rocky few months but as I previously said its early days and you cant make an omelette without breaking a few eggs.

He seems to be learning and becoming more diplomatic and less combustible, which is good to see.

More carrot less stick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,517 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Trump has successfully negotiated some big trade deals with countries now and the markets are recovering.

Tell us more about these "big trade deals". Are they in the room with us now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,013 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,681 ✭✭✭✭Penn

"He seems to be learning and becoming more diplomatic and less combustible, which is good to see.

More carrot less stick."

….

…what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,086 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

You wouldn't know them.

They eh, go to a different school....

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

What a load of steaming MAGA shite. Someone has taken out their kneepads and vaseline for Trump….

Mod Edit: Warned for attacking the poster, not the post

Post edited by Necro on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Derkaiser93

I hate Trump and abhor his administration but did they not do one with the UK just there last week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,782 ✭✭✭yagan

The only constant with this administration is that whatever it is thought to have achieved this week will be completely forgotten next week when Trump announces another brain fart table flip inspired by something he saw on TV over the weekend..

The US stock market overall valuation can still climb on diminishing volume.

In a normal economic cycle t bonds would be the bolt hole in times of uncertainty. Now the only way for US citizens to diversify away from Trump's Peronesque economic nationalism is to head for stocks with an international income that can insulate against USD devaluation.

Combined with foreigners pulling back from USD devaluation risk the investment pool in the US will decline.

At the height of the GBP dominance Harrods of London opened a store in Buenos Aires. But the tariffs of the UK Imperial Preference policy undermined it's viability.

Any advantage accrued by protections and devaluation will be eaten up by rising costs and reciprocal tariffs.

It is strange timing that the populist Milei of Argentina is dismantling Peron era protectionism while the populist Trump raises trade barriers.

They may salute eachother in passing but Milei is on the ascending escalater while Trump is on the escalator heading for the bargain basement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,681 ✭✭✭✭Penn

No. Trump and his team called it a trade deal, but really it was a rollback of most of the tariffs introduced on "Liberation Day" and some pre-agreements regarding some aspects of a trade deal. But Trump cannot unilaterally make such deals, they still have to progress through Congress following further negotiations and discussions regarding regulations.

Nothing has been signed or agreed other than rollback of most of the tariffs Trump introduced a few weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,867 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

USA can sell something they produce next to nothing of (hormone and antibiotic free, traceable beef) to the UK and UK can sell something they produce (cars) to the USA.

Got to admire the art of the deal 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

I guess that people will have short memories is what Trump's backers are hoping for. I don't believe he has even a short memory himself. I have come to expect, from his "tariff deal-making" that there is a strong chance that when his negotiators send him feedback reports on how the talks are going he will behave as usual and bring back the tariffs with "immediate effect" he is incapable of learning any lesson his actions present him and the US with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭poop emoji

Damage has been done to small businesses which the stock market casino does not represent

https://www.wsj.com/economy/worried-about-the-economy-americas-small-businesses-are-reducing-investment-and-hiring-survey-shows-71e233cd

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,832 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

No. It was more of a tariff reduction thing. Real trade deals take years and years to negotiate. CETA took 9 years if memory serves.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,774 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

No…

That was a "heads of agreement" - which is basically saying that they both agree to eventually agree to a deal.

What little high level detail that was spoken about (but not actually formally agreed to) are more beneficial to the UK than the US.

For example , the UK get to import 100k cars at low/no tariffs but the US don't get anything for cars to the UK.

The US are "allowed" to import Beef to the UK , but only if it complies with all UK Health/safety requirements - And currently virtually no US produced Beef is capable of meeting that standard , but the UK now have a much higher import volume than before.

Trump got rolled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭poop emoji

UK was already exporting more than 100K cars to US

What the UK “won” was dropping some of the limits Trump added few months back

They are in worse place now than they were before Trump

Not that there actually is a signed agreement anyone can point at anywhere

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,774 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

What has been interesting is the fairly universal condemnation of this idea , along with the deafening silence from the usual suspects that can typically be relied on to come out and parrot his position.

You've had Charlie Kirk and many others on the MAGA right saying it's a terrible idea.

What we don't have are the Senators and Congress people appearing on Fox saying it's super "money saving deal" or whatever.

They all know the optics are beyond horrible so they are keeping very quiet…

They exported 103k cars last year , so getting a commit for lower tariffs for 100k pretty much covers them - And lets be fair , the majority of the cars the UK ship to the US are bought by buyers that are fair less cost sensitive than the majority of buyers so it's no wonder that the US car industry is crying foul..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,670 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Well that's some spin. He has not organised any big trade deals, his fans like to portray things as trade deals. The reality is we could be as easily be in a calm until the 90 days are through. On top of that, you seem to be ignoring that tariffs were rolled back on because businesses like Target called him out about it, they were not intended to be frozen

You seem to be trying to spin a disastrous first few months as a success when the reality is he's only served to destabilise their global position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,782 ✭✭✭yagan

Tariff pauses only cement trading uncertainty. Businesses don't survive on wait and see, they'll seek out other opportunities in predictable markets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,670 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

The new acting head of the library of Congress is Trump's former lawyer. So they went to a highly qualified librarian with a great reputation to a lawyer…

https://www.npr.org/2025/05/12/nx-s1-5395879/trump-todd-blanche-librarian-congress

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,197 ✭✭✭Damien360

I know we have jobs for the boys here but the number of his buddies currently getting jobs and getting obvious inside trading information regarding tariff pauses is making the US look like one of the most corrupt countries in the world. The US has zero credibility talking about dodgy goings on in other jurisdictions for a very long time to come. The country appears to be so divided that the obvious corruption is just not worthy news anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Land Rover paused exports when the initial tariffs were announced so even they knew a 25% tariff would affect sales. There's also Mini's, over 20k exported to the US. That production is split between the UK and Germany so I wonder if Germany will ship the parts to the UK for them to assemble and export to the US to avoid the 25% tariff.

As the details haven't really been fleshed out and with the US auto industry's pushback, I wonder if there's any sort of % of parts to make them a UK car, rather than a UK assembled German car.

The US is still trying to figure out what % of an American assembled car is actually American, they don't split the US from Canada manufactured parts, it's all just classes as North American.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,977 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Tariffs were a bargaining chip? He has said that the USA have been taking in billions and billions with how effective they were working..why would he roll back on them?

Indeed - Utterly lacking in detail because it's NOT a "trade deal".

The UK are worse off than they were before Trump started all this nonsense , but on the surface they have gotten a better deal than was there after Trump slapped on his nonsense tariffs , apparently without having to give up anything tangible in return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,086 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,832 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Definitely a case of 2 steps backwards, 1 step forward for the UK. The fact is that the UK still have 10% tariffs on everything apart from motor vehicles, steel and jet engines and depending on Trump's mood, that could change on a whim.

Even if it was a fully fledged trade agreement, ratified by both governments, Trump has shown he can and will just impose tariffs, like in the case of Mexico and Canada.