Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Premier League Champions 24/25 - Talk /Gossip/Rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,224 ✭✭✭✭klose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,863 ✭✭✭brevity

it’s a bit of a no brainer. He’s young, talented, home grown and at a good price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,945 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Hanging with Wayne Lineker ffs , dancing around with girls barely 18

Klopp had class, this is so not Liverpool.

Maybe Slot should have spent time with his family, who live back in Holland and didn't even move to Liverpool or embrace the city .

Slot is so not with it when it comes to being the Liverpool manager .

And yes Klopp has been to Ibiza, on his private boat, with friends and family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,364 ✭✭✭mosstin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,644 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Trent is not a legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,887 ✭✭✭54and56

So just gratuitous booing of your own player.

Classy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭DRedSky

Precisely why the poor chap has to leave.
    To become a legend. To set up loads of goals in the famed white shirt of Madrid by playing beautiful passes while ignoring attackers from the other team running past him with the ball… and all while winning the ballon d’or multiple times.

Washed down later on with a year or two possibly wearing the famed pink shirt of Inter Miami and hanging out with becks and his ball d’or trophies.

The proper stuff of legends.

To get back to the boo’s at the weekend, I wouldn’t have done it myself but by jaysus i wouldn’t have clapped either. Not a fan of the way Trent has gone about all this and tbh if boo’s upset him then he might be joining the wrong club!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

He's nota legend, he's a very naughty boy.

I wouldn't have booed him myself, but one things for sure, if he doesn't like boos, he'd be as well staying clear of Madrid. Boos and white hankies are never far away.

Anyway, it's a great opportunity for many to give Liverpool fans a kicking and maybe take them down a peg or two…feels like winning a trophy for many i guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭fplfan12345

He won a Champions League, Premier League x 2, FA Cup, League Cup, Club World Cup and UEFA Super Cup with LFC.

He’s a club legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

I also think it's a risk for him going to Madrid. He's has a very specific talent with glaring weaknesses so there's no guarantee that he will succeed at Madrid. There's a real possibility he could struggle. I'll be interested to see how he gets on next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭fplfan12345

I don’t understand the mentality around being angry at Trent leaving to the point of booing him or disrespecting what he’s achieved for us as fans of the club.

If it’s for the reason I think (the one the media are driving) then it makes zero sense directing your anger/disappointment at Trent.

The Bosman ruling is 30 years old this very year. The club shouldn’t have needed Richard Hughes or Michael Edward’s in place to have a policy around contracts ending. The club made a huge mistake and now it seems the ‘fans’ are happy to blame Trent. It’s morinic imo.

Slot is off partying with his mates in Ibiza and the players are on a yacht on the beer in Dubai, literally on the beach already I wouldn’t be backing us to win in the last two games 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭dogbert27

I'd say after they couldn't hit 90 points this season they just said "fxxk it, let's go on the lash!" 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,545 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Weve sent so many players off into the sunset who have achieved much less and considered them legends so im torn on the term.

On the Frimpong tweet, I don't rhink tnts silly at all. Yeah he is more of a RWB but we wont beat that price, he has attacking output and hed be in conjunction with Bradders so makes sense not to overspend

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,718 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Like pretty much everyone in this thread, I wouldn't have booed Trent. He has done phenomenal stuff in a Liverpool shirt.

The wrinkle will always be that this was in essence the plan since he signed that contract with us, he's been offered the maximum wages we can manage (as far as we know), he is capable and major part of us challenging for every trophy in the recent past and we would hope in the near future. He's choosing to leave that for essentially the glitziest **** show on earth, while I took no pleasure in seeing him booed at the weekend, I probably would take a bit of pleasure in seeing him booed in a white shirt if we play Madrid next season, and jesus if we could beat them, with say Diaz absolutely rinsing him, I would take my pettiness to hitherto forth unseen levels.

I don't think he should be in another match day squad now purely because it's a distraction, start Bradley replace with Quansah/Gomez/Jones/an academy player - move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,542 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Looking like the Frimpong deal is going to happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,258 ✭✭✭Damien360

We lost others in their prime previously and there wasn't this much of a backlash. The club moved on. Booing him was out of order. But he shouldn't even be getting on the pitch given his contract situation. The club should have moved on already.

Trent is doing exactly what so many other players are doing and cashing in by running down their contract. At the rate it appears to be happening, in my opinion, transfers will have to change model away from the current one of large money transfers from club to club. To do that, it needs a EU level buy in to that model. Smaller clubs rely on it heavily as a funding model so I am unsure how it can be resolved but without change we risk many mega contracts in future and mercenary type behaviour for moves. In my opinion !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭Appletart Upsetter

Slot has spoken previously about versatility. Frimpong looks like he can cover the entire right side and I think someone mentioned he's been used as a 10 this season at Leverkusen. So he definitely ticks all the boxes, especially at the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭antimatterx

So Frimpong is done. Cherki and Huijsen sound like we're pushing. Kerkez should be next.

It's funny all the work we need to do on a league winning team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,770 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Another plus for Frimpong, hes homegrown as he spent 9 years at Man City academy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭dogbert27

He won the league with Celtic too in a back 4 formation so it's not alien to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,033 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Will be interesting to see how Frimpong is used if it that deal happens. He's very quick so I think adding pace to the team is usually a good thing. Defensively he's not ideal for RB but I don't think he's a worse defender than Trent for example so can cover there for Bradley. Could he even cover for Mo on the right wing?

I remember when he was at Celtic he seemed a really bubbly happy character so the type of lad who should be good around the the place as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,245 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Isn’t AFCON on again this year? Scope for him to play for Salah then (sorry Chiesa). Pace is king these days so no harm having him on board, I assume him and Bradley will rotate, how he would fair in a back 4 is an unknown for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,627 ✭✭✭McFly85

Was ridiculous to boo him in fairness.

Hes absolutely a club legend considering he’s been part of the most successful period the club has had in the PL era. The quick corner is arguably the most iconic moment from that period.

He wants to go, fine, thanks very much and best of luck. The club has lost big players before and has been fine, this will be no different - and it looks like we might already have our long term replacement.

It always sort of bothers me that a player is supposed to have undying allegiance to a club, while the club(and fans) can be happy to push him out the door as soon as it suits them.

When I mentioned Frimpong, it was a negative response, not a right back

When deal is done everyone is like, Firmpong, amazing player, great asset 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭JPup

It'll be interesting to see how he is used if we do sign him. He could play right back or as an alternative to Salah.

Slot the person is a struggle for me, haven't taken to him at all. The treatment of Chiesa is nasty, mixing with Wayne Lineker, an Andrew Tate wannabe is sad.

When Klopp brought in a player, he'd 100% back him, show ever faith in him, give him every chance, and he also carried himself in a certain way, as did his family who embraced Liverpool.

I'll put it this way, when the bad times hit for Slot, and it will, he'll be questioned straight away, won't get the grace Klopp did, even in the worst of times under Klopp fans never questioned him. One bad run under Slot and the fans will have a lot of ammo to fire at him.

We had a glimpse of when knocked out of FA Cup, and losing Pepsi Cola Final, the bald fraud was getting thrown around straight off the bat, which shows he has very little good will built up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,789 ✭✭✭Talisman

He wouldn't be my choice to fill the position but if as Dominic King suggested Slot is going to revolutionise our style of play for next season then Frimpong could be a vital component in providing an additional attacking threat. If he makes the diagonal runs that Slot likes, then he would prove to be a serious problem for the opposition because he covers the ground so quickly.

However defensively the version of the player that lines out for Leverkusen will leave us more exposed on the right than #66. Looking for positives, Klopp made switching Milner to full back work so there is hope for Frimpong to do the same. They are of similar height and Frimpong has much quicker feet and more pace.

His pace (36.34 km/h) would put him in the top five fastest players in the Premier League this season, so he won't get burned by the likes of Anthony Gordon. If he's available for £30m then the transfer makes financial sense and the fee falls right in the sweet spot for FSG. It's a Mac Allister like bargain transfer fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,628 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Why boo Trent, its completely pointless.