Double bale handler

• 11-05-2025 04:21PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭

Looking at double bale handlers, one that can collect the second bale without scraping the first on the ground, and can leave bales close together on their side. There's a load out there but what are people's experiences with these?

Fleming hydraulic seems good but it looks like there'd be a fair gap between the bales when leaving at the yard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,473 ✭✭✭limo_100

the Cashel ducks feet double bale lifter is a great one but just have a standard one but they do have a double pick and stack be a good job. Best lifters to not damage a bales aswel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭dmakc

Yeah they seem like a soft touch on the bale. Might not sort the issue of the first bale scraping the ground is the only thing

Another one standing out to me is the blue bull engineering / o'shea engineering one where the first bale gets lifted outwards on a diagonal ram so the second can be picked up, then the first bale returns. Once they're well made I could see it being a good option as the mechanism seems sound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,997 ✭✭✭emaherx

Just pickup the first bale, then drop it beside the second, pull forward and reverse into both bales at once. Then there is no dragging along the ground.

Lifter is then cheaper and lighter, which is good if your tractor is a little on the light side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,473 ✭✭✭limo_100

That's what I do myself don't find it that slow when your coming with 2 it makes up the difference

You wouldn't have to drag it with the pick and stack that I was on about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭red_diesel

Would a 100hp tractor be big enough to use a double bale handler?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭148multi

II like the way a Nugent duo tips the bales in near the tractor, but a big lump beside that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,949 ✭✭✭Dunedin

the Cashel yoke looks good. What sort of money are they.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 329 ✭✭queueeye

No problem, put weights on the front, use a hydraulic top link and drive on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭divillybit

Always liked the look of these 2 bale lifters as they lift one bale up and you can also tilt the bales if you are standing them on their ends. But they are wide so narrow gaps may result in a burst bale.

https://www.donedeal.ie/otherfarmmachinery-for-sale/hagan-side-lift-bale-lifters/34179628?campaign=6

174710079586339932737585784391.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭Thekeencyclist

Anyone idea what the tube thickness is in general with a bale lifter? Looking to purchase a double bale lifter, up between an Irvine Engineering and a Dowd Engineering. Both sold in different places. Salesman for the Irvine Engineering was able to tell me the tubes were 6mm thick (main frame 8mm) and the salesman for the Dowd Engineering one had no idea.

Anyone know what the tube thickness is on a Dowd model. (I did a google and it came back as 4mm…..)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Omallep2

4mm….that's why he didn't know....or did you tell him about competition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭The11Duff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭divillybit

Don't know, but I'd say €2100 or thereabouts.

https://www.donedeal.ie/otherfarmmachinery-for-sale/low-loader-7t-new/39925473

We already have the soft hands for the front loader so ended up buying a low loader similar to the above that came of for sale locally. Kinda needed it for our small track machine but it can bring 8 wrapped bales comfortably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Tibulus

Late finish stacking bales last night, online this morning looking at these:

https://cashels.net/products/catalogue/double-pick-stack

Anyone have any experience?

Risk of damaging a bale when standing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭V6400

I'd say you're adding a fair bit of weight with that especially when bales are lifted high enough for stacking. Do lads really find it that hard to drop 1 bale beside the other before picking them up, literally takes seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,226 ✭✭✭9935452

received_10206088974281493.jpeg

I would be in agreement with you.

I made my own double and a few for friends. This one has a 10mm 100mm box frame, heavy duty bushes, genuine kv stonework tines. Paddles made with blueband tubing. Cost 700 in materials a few years back . Bales are carried a couple of inches apart when it's lifted up

The one above has the pin for the lift arms 4 inches from the back of the bale.

A fleming trip double is 13 inches from the pin to the back of the bale..

Mine works well with a smaller tractor.. 80hp 2wd with 250kgs of weight on the front of it has drawn from a fusion

If you are using it with a loader, use the loader to line up bales. Makes it a lot quicker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,403 ✭✭✭endainoz

I just get the contractor to let off two bales together so they're much easier to back into and no issues with dragging anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭DBK1

That’s not possible for any contractor with a Fusion or any other combi baler though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,561 ✭✭✭visatorro

It is, it just takes too much time because they have to stop and wrap the second bale after dropping out the first one. I'd imagine there isn't too many fellas that would do it

Any driver that would do that should be put up through the fusion himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭Who2

in fairness he’s being paid to do a job and while some don’t some contractors do. It might just be the difference of who gets the call back next year.

There’s not a contractor in Ireland that would want your baling job if you’re expecting him to stop baling and sit and wait for the bale to be wrapped every second bale.

It’s different when it’s a separate wrapper and we do it for plenty of lads with the stand alone wrapper because when your wrapping one bale you pick up a second bale on the arm and then drive to the third bale. Leave the first 2 off as a double and you’re picking up the third then instantly so there’s no time being lost and repeat the process.

With a combi set up you’ve to stop baling to do that so straight away you’re down to 50% of your output. Any contractor worth his salt would tell you to shove your silage where the sun don’t shine and drive out of the field if asked to do that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭Who2

I didn’t ask the lad that done mine here and he done it. Some lads do and some don’t but I wouldn’t say any contractor worth his salt because he makes a savage bale and tries leave it handy for me ( I didn’t ask him to) but I appreciated it .

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,870 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

That

Ah no .First of all it's often only every 3 Rd bale if it's a double and loader drawing and often you don't line up with the swath you re on you back a little to a bale beside that swath while the the second bale is being netted of filmed much like if you were baling on a slope.a fella near us let's off the ales in a line across the feild so The super move can drive straight across the field with no messing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

IMG_0695.png

tr3 bale handler.
    grab the bale on the round part. Drop the bale. Reverse back around and into the bales. Very quick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭minerleague

Do you find with bales even a small bit apart they are very wide on the road? Often thought the double bale handler that lifts first bale up and out at 45 degrees can get bales closer when let back down

20160604_083942.jpg

Not really tbh. Frame of bale handler is 8ft4. Most tractors are around the 8ft make. So the bales sit within the width of the handler.

The handler was designed to carry the bales very close together when lifted.

Even the father used to hate having wide implements behind the tractor has no issue with it

I know ifarmwefarm has a trip nugent I think, he has said tgat carrys the 2 bales with a big space between them, so much so that when he trips tgem he can walk between the bales.

The fleming one which tilts the bale up and in so you can pick the other one , by design has to have a decent space between them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭Jim Simmental

looks a super job, I’d happily exchange my nugent double bale handler for your one if they were available to buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭minerleague

Very tidy work, did you buy the paddles or make? It was more the factory made handlers that the bales seem further apart when raised compared to yours

I made the paddles myself . We have a pipe benders at home.. blue band bent well, brown band pipes kinked.

The measurements for the positions of the paddles/tines were got from the local fabricator. It's the 3rd one tgat I have made so we knew the positions were good.

Magnetic / pillar drill to pop the holes for the bushes and pins.

The rest was designed for a small tractor putting the bale handler as close to the tractor as possible.