Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New TB proposals to be announced today.

• 08-05-2025 08:22AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,463 ✭✭✭✭

"Department to announce proposals to curb spread of bovine tuberculosis.

There was a 36% increase in the number of herds restricted between 2022 and 2024, while according to the Irish Farmers Association (IFA), in the past 12 months over 6,000 farmers have lost more than 40,000 productive animals due to the disease."

I have my TB herd reading today (second day) so a subject very much on my mind. I didn't realise it has increased so much in recent years.

Dept to announce proposals to curb spread of bovine TB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,024 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

We went through 6 tests in 2 years doe to "high rates in the area", having a frank conversation with the vet he said its out of control and in his opinion unlikely to ever be eradicated because of non cattle spread through badgers and deer.

Suggesting no compensation for cows over their 5th lactation seems punitave..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Is this going to be aligned in anyway with the new scheme in NI? It had a very light, almost no touch on wildlife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,463 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,450 ✭✭✭older by the day

Let's see will our weak unions, represent farmers interests or will we get railroaded again.

If you are waiting or depending on the department to solve the wildlife problem on your farm, you are in serious trouble. At least walk around and find out what animals is on the farm and where they are coming in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Spent 12k this spring mulching and clearing hidey holes, and was terrifying the amount of air b and b's they had here

I wouldn’t be moving wildlife without knowing if they were TB carriers.
    dont they say others may move onto your land who could be carriers.

I don’t know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭V6400

A lad that does badger catching told me if you have badgers on your land and no TB problem then you shouldnt touch them because they'll keep away any that do have it but if you see one out during the day get the gun because they more than likely have it and have been ran by other badgers.

I was thinking much the same as you, for years i saw rooting in the fields and drew the conclusion that they be left alone.

Then 1/3 of my dairy cows (the best cows) went down with TB last year.The badgers that were caught, had TB.

It's the same with deer. A man told me lately, he had 30 deer, feeding the silage fields all spring.

So Brian, do we cull some of the population or let them multiply and hope for the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭cute geoge

We all hear about this increase in herds with tb , Reactors showing up where no tb for 40 years etc but what I see there are a big number of herds going down yet there no legions when killed out , Does this mean they have tb or not.

Are there extra cattle with legions compared to previous years ,where is this information

Post edited by cute geoge on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭V6400

I had the first ever reactor for our farm in the test in January. One of the best cows and just 7 days calved at the time of the test. She didnt show up anything in the factory or on the cultures. 1 clear test then and a letter came to say all restrictions lifted so I'm taking that as an admission from the department that she didnt have tb. The compensation I got at the time would just about buy a weanling now and I'm left with a calf that didnt thrive instead of one of my potentially best weanlings. But at least the factory got a pile of cheap meat out of it. My herd will now go down as 1 of the increasing numbers of reactor herds even though as far as I'm concerned they have admitted she didnt have it. The whole testing things a load of shite and until vaccination starts nothing will change and the tb wheel will just keep turning making some lads rich and the poor farmer stressed and out of pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

There's two different levels. A farmer culling might make a positive, negative or no difference but there's no doubt a coordinated cull across the country of deer and badgers would make some effect especially if extra attention could be given to areas with mature forestry ready to be cut.

Lots of money being pissed away on a vaccination programme that isn't making any positive impacts, should be scrapped..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭jaymla627

I lost 11 cows as inconclusives last August, no legions, got two clear tests, vet reluctantly passed us as had two he wasn't happy with on severe interpretation but let them off, factored the above two, along with 25 cull cows since and noting showing up in factory

It's not logical that any of the original 11 had tb, given the amount of animals factored since that are companion animals that they seem hellbent on culling to have had no traces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭dmakc

Would you rent (& stock) a field with a sett in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

The trouble is the set in your field might be harmless it's the one in 2 fields over that can cause the harm or the deer coming in from a few mile down the road.

I just can't understand what is happening at the minute. Around me here it predominantly dairy farms that are going down but with big numbers 20 -30 cattle.

I have been down 3 times in the 7 years. 1 animal the first two times & 4 the last time. All killed out without lesions in the factory.

I have also gone down twice where I sold cattle in the mart and then a few months later they killed out with lesions.

I am thinking whatever is been injected into the animals is more reactive now than it used to be.

On my test in October where 4 went down 3 of them had big lumps you could see easily before they went near the crush. The other one was taken as a precaution. But I had two others with smaller lumps, vet said he suspected they were clear but if I wanted he could put them down but I didn't. They were crystal clear on the two subsequent tests & have killed out clear in the factory.

I have absolutely no faith in the skin test at the minute & I think the blood test is too severe, in that if an animal has any interaction with the virus the blood test seems to pick it up but the animal may never develop TB. There has to be a happy medium somewhere, culling/ testing & monitoring deer and badger needs to continue until a vaccine for cattle is developed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,422 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

The stronger injection is the only thing that's making sense.

As you say and myself included herds that were never down before and everyone going down last year. I was like others too in that all showed no lesions in the factory.

It only makes sense that there was a type of tb that was never showing before in the skin tests but that didn't show in lesions is now being picked up by bloods and skin test.

I used to be all for wide ditches and loving wildlife. But going through a breakdown and seeing the bs they are putting out with this forum in blackguarding farmers is seriously undermining all that. It's like the government don't want livestock farmers anymore.

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/dafm-has-30-proposals-for-emergency-tb-summit/

Some serious rules for a farm family, who get locked up. Dry cows have to be sold in a special mart, and anyone who buys your calves will have to have a tb test.

Compensation not paid on older cows, is a joke.

In my situation i would be better off, staying under the 60 cows, which seems to be a kind of cut off point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,463 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

image.png

….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭148multi

There is some amount of resources spent on microchiping and vaccination of badgers , if the vaccine is that good for badgers why not do cattle as well.

The dept seem to be targeting grassland beside clearfelled forestry, talking about badger migration.

The thing is farmers last year were told stay the course. That these were short term conditions that will lead to the greater good.

Now this year we learn the department has plans to use last year as the excuse to impose stricter conditions, removing compensation and to demonise any herds that were affected for the future.

All it's doing is making livestock rearing financially and mentally unattractive to farm.

There's some who've come through the tillage academy and find themselves in positions of power in the ag department as a goal to pursue just for the whole sake of bitterness tinged with telling themselves of climate targets. I know a few who used to be in sales for seed, fert, agri chem who now work for the dept and had a hatred of cows. The tale of there's too many stock in the country flowed like butter from their lips. Their bedfellows were the rewilding element brought into the department.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭bt12

I went down 2 years ago with one first time in about 30 years, killed out clean no lessons so have gone through all d bs, first thing d test is shite not accurate I think we all would b in favour of testing hard if it wud get rid of tb, secondly know a person testing d deer and they is some killing out with tb , there is loads of deer around my locality and it’s going to b impossible to control these, I think the only solution b to vaccinate in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Think you're getting a bit paranoid that they're out to get the livestock farmer.

Most of the problems have been driven by a lack of culling of wildlife and over reliance on vaccination which isn't effective enough in the real world. Which have been multiplied by more forestry being harvested and bigger herds, more reliance on contractors for slurry and probably use of trailing shoe/dribble bar also.

Lack of lesions doesn't mean anything in itself. There's no way to distinguish between where animals are on the scale of infection through bloods or skin test and even a minor infection has the potential to flare up at any stage in the future so there's no option but to cull.

Vaccination of cattle isn't going to be a saviour. Bcg in humans was aimed at tackling the worst of the symptoms. It wasn't the reason tb was reduced in the population

If they have TB that’s a different story, I was saying without knowing it’s risky.

The wild deer problem will need addressing for sure, I was probably talking more about badgers. Disturbing a clean set just risks bringing in unknown badgers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

There's a lot of talk about lesions here, which to the best of knowledge, are looked for visually in the factory. Nowadays aren't all these reactors PCR tested?

Are people getting the results from these tests?

Are ye saying that these are all coming back negative?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭grass10

I've asked many lads that have had reactors in skin tests about whether they showed up with lesions in the factory and they all aay no but then I've asked them did they contact the dept a couple of weeks after slaughter to find out if they had lesions and none of the farmers had any contact with the dept so they were jumping to their own conclusions that they had no lesions

Department figures are that a lot of tb cases are from cows yet 2 years ago someone decided that it was okay to sell cows in marts that were almost 12 months out of test mix them up with potentially hundreds of animals at a mart move them to a new holding and make the new owner test them within 30 days. This rule did 1 thing and that was to spread tb where the obvious thing was to have an at oldest 6 month pre move test for cows and that strange rule has coincided with an explosion in tb cases

Well I have no idea what a pcr test is ,all I know is I contacted dept. 2 months after my reactors were slaughtered and I was told they had no legions . The dept make no efford to let farmer have any details only whisk off the reactors ,that the job done ,they dont check for badgers unless a quick phone call if badgers have been seen on holding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Ten Pin

"Well I have no idea what a pcr test is"

Similar to what they used for covid testing.
    AFAIK it amplifies the sample constituents to make whatever they're looking for easier to analyse.
    The main issue with it is the number of cycles of amplification used. The more cycles run, the more likely something is to be found. Something might be seen at 40 cycles that might not be seen at 20 cycles.
    It could create controversy, there may be no visible lesions but if the PCR test says that TB is present, will that be allowed to be appealed/questioned.

Post edited by Ten Pin on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

I’m the only suckler farmer left around here. Buy in nothing but a stock bull every 5 years or so. Just out of contiguous testing coz all around me buying shite dairy calves had been down with tb. Got 2 letters this week saying 2 neighbours that buy shite dairy calves are down again so I’m probably goin to have go testing again.

Having that notion that dairy calves bring tb seems ridiculous. Probably luck of the draw.

We’ve always bought in dairy calves, going back more than 40 years. We’ve had one tb episode in that time, one animal, one of our sucklers at the time.
    suckler farmers round us have been down multiple times over that time.

We have had dairy beef only since 2006

In my case the dept liason officer gave the results of the first test clear. The vet contacted the dept for the rest and was told the other reactors were clear too. I was told they weren't doing culture tests on my breakdown by the dept officer.

It's as clear as mud into the what and why and what's going on.