Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,192 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Or install a seagull flap, like a civilsed person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Hold My Hand

Bought (what I thought was) a lovely new bed for my cat last month. She hasn’t tried it once and continues to sleep in an old cardboard box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,294 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

An old caravan site holiday camp trick was to throw bread or chips on the roof of a neighbors caravan at night.

At first light the seagulls would do a tap dance in lead boots on the caravan roof fighting over the food.

Obviously this was best carried out when the caravan occupants were likely to have a really bad hangover.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,552 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Jill fooking Scott hanging around Keane, Neville, Wright and Carraher like a bad smell… Fook off and leave the lads to be the lads..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,810 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

• Lost a case off one of my pairs of Raybans, still have the sunglasses but the case, had it with me yesterday and checked the car, jacket I wore and all the usual. Hopefully it reappears.

• watching live county championship cricket on YouTube, or trying. The feed keeps crashing. What’s doubly annoying is that it is a very high quality, exciting, close and enjoyable match being played in close to perfect conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,715 ✭✭✭storker

Same, also links to YouTube videos. Sorry, Google, but if I wanted an answer in video format maybe I would have searched on YouTube?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

People driving round in maybe 80 grand worth of car with baldy tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,810 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I get that Saturday is a weekend day and all the rest but… literally every second neighbour is out cutting grass or pruning trees with their machinery. Kids have set up a table selling or collecting for something which I can’t see what but about 70% of passing vehicles are honking their horns to acknowledge them…. Was a time weekends here were relaxing, quiet, you could hear a pin drop. Since lunch I’m just chilled and was hoping for some small level of peace, quiet and relaxation… but practically everyone around here today just is gung ho on polluting the atmosphere with noise….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

People who are always busy busy busy and don't have 5 mins, nevermind 30, for an conversation or shoot the breeze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dan Steely

And magpies on the roof. What are they working on to cause such a racket at an ungodly hour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,616 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Seems like sometimes they are trying to dig something out of moss on roofs, I don't know if it is just moisture or creepy crawlies in the moss they eat.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,192 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Not a TA, but I came across this and it made me reminisce about the time the TA thread title got changed to "The Nicolas Cage appreciation thread". Good times. 😁

Untitled Image
    Post edited by New Home on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,746 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I started taking a vitamin and cod liver oil capsul in the morning two weeks ago.

This morning the cod liver oil capsul burst and all I can taste is fish oil in my mouth.

Getting zapped by a car door, ouch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,729 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

TA @NewHome for posting anything with Nicolas Cage . He’s one of the people that I inexplicably can’t stand . Or rather because if he wasn’t a Copppla he’d be unemployed .
    Sorry NH 🙂

Post edited by cj maxx on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

When you could do N easy jobs but you choose not to do any jobs because there is 1 hard job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,729 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

My TA is my blue bin is overflowing , as I forgot May 1 was a bank holiday .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Scanned in about a dozen receipts to claim, got to the uploading part and every single one of them is too big according to the messages!!!!!!!!!!!!!! htf?

So Ta'ed, not only did one set of forms need bank details, not even on the bank info, but call centre works bankers' hours!

Submitting expenses for the latest change, three almost identical forms, each one had that auto signature software🤮dyspraxia, and such software is such a bad match! I very much doubt it will pass, as it so looks like someone trying to forge a signature.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

I'm not mad about him, either, I just remembered the time when I thought "Why the f… am I subscribed to a NC appreciation thread?!?" only to realise one of the mods at the time had changed the title of the TA thread. It was very funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,265 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

For the last week the car is being covered in bird sheite, loads of it, even managed to get on the sides of the car. Odd thing is I can't see a single dropping anywhere on the ground around the car, it's like it was strategically bombed by them 😁.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,616 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Sharing a TA I spotted in the Sunday Times Culture magazine today:

Is it compulsory for every Finnish male to have a beard? I have found it almost impossible to distinguish between all the hirsute men in Helsinki Crimes (C4). Elizabeth Clarke

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,541 ✭✭✭Archeron

At a gig in Dublin last night, got a spot right at the stage, absolutely brilliant. Half way through the set, my gizzards unexpectedly whispered the words nobody ever wants to hear.

Explosive diarrhea.

Turn around and see approximately 75 million people between me and the gents, which was of course right at the very back of the venue .

Thankfully I made it and all was as well as can be, but if ever you have an "aw bollix" moment, that's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭New Scottman

Could you not "ride the clutch" until you got home?

In that situation you would be better off signalling to security and tell them you are not well so they can take you over the barrier. Every second counts in these situations 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭apache

Jesus.…..worst nightmare

Need to plan all my outings. Where are the toilets? Can I be close to them or are they easily accessed? How long is travel? Etc, etc.

Sometimes fast a day beforehand if it's a few hours or more. IBD.

Carry one of these

https://crohnscolitis.ie/support/no-waiting-card/

but usually get a "Huh?" when I show it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,541 ✭✭✭Archeron

Cool, never knew about this. My own urgent issue was the result of red pepper soup I'd eaten, thanks be I dont suffer from ibd but glad to know of this in case I ever see the card, cheers 👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,009 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

America celebrating Mother's Day today. Sorry, but it was 30th March. It's everywhere, watching Shane hopefully win in the golf this evening on CBS. And they've mentioned Mother's Day endlessly. Words With Friends is all about Mother's Day. 🤦‍♂️

Screenshot_2025-05-11-20-29-10-317-edit_com.zynga.words3.jpg