Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Harry and Meghan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭batman75

Just watched Harry's interview with the BBC. I do feel sorry for him regarding losing his mother so early in life and having to walk behind the coffin in such a public fashion. He has also had his biological origins questioned. That being said he has learned nothing from Andrew's interview with Emily Maitlis. I don't think this is quite as bad, but it is clearly ill advised.

He comes across as a spoiled brat who doesn't accept responsibility for the choices he makes and has an inflated opinion of himself and his own importance. It's a staggering fall from grace. Before he met Meghan he was a very popular member of the royal family. Now he's an outcast who pleads for privacy yet hogs the limelight at every opportunity.

He chose to leave the royal family. He chose to move to the U.S. He chose Meghan for better or for worse. His sister in law and father are battling cancer so crying about personal security in this light seems like someone who is self centred. Like his uncle his lack of self awareness is startling and for one so well educated borders on the bizarre.

His granny used to always say never complain never explain. Pity her descendants didn't heed such wise words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,030 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Watching it now on the BBC International it is comical. “Reconciliation cannot come without truth” he says.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,368 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

He’s been around long enough to know what he was doing in that interview- he’s stirring the sh1te for his own selfish ends- he’s a total pr1ck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

When he left the Royal Family I thought he was correct, he's not as indoctrinated as his brother or father, he can see the negatives, the bullshit, the toxicity…he has personal experience with it and I certainly wouldn't want my kids or wife to endure it.

However I think he's an out and out attention seeker, he has the wealth and status to just walk off into the sunset and be happy, he's bound by nothing and doesn't need the royal family or their suppourt to live a life of luxury and is set for life, but he just can't do it, he tries to portray himself as this down to earth regular guy who wants to live a quite life in privacy with his family but that's clearly not the case, he has an extreme sense of entitlement and lacks any insight into his own personal responsibilities, these interviews serve no purpose, they just make him seem entitled and bitter, which I suppose isn't in any way suprising considering the life he was born into, its been pretty much bred into him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Deeec

Thats exactly it. Harry didn't want to be a working member of the royal family. He wanted to remove himself from the spotlight and live a quiet life. His family said fair enough if that's what you want. We now hear more from Harry then we ever did. He's courting and using the media to keep himself in the spotlight. He's really embarrassing himself. Why can't he just sit back and enjoy the quiet life he wanted.

It seems he still wants to be famous, earn loads of money, have the UK pay for his security but doesn't want to do the boring work of a royal. He still wants his kids to have Royal titles. It doesn't work like that Harry! He's effed his life up horrendously.

At least the other members of the royal family keep their mouths shut. I bet they have a bigger story to tell than Harry's narrative of the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,048 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

He wanted to keep all the perks but none of the responsibilities.

You'd hope the average 3 year old would cop that idea isn't quite right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭forumdedum

So the general gist here is Harry's a bit of a tosser?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,368 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

At this stage, in general yes. While there’s one or two who delight in his sticking it to the royal family, I would say even they are finding it hard to justify this latest twist.

I’ve no doubt the separation of his parents and subsequent death of his mother was traumatic for him throughout his childhood. But he chose ultimately to leave the RF life- some would argue he was pushed but I think the reality was, Meaghans and his behaviour became intolerable in the RF household - it likely led to the press turning on them as spoilt brats - Harry’s subsequent biography in my view confirms that premise along with his moaning interviews for money, dishing the dirt.

he wanted “privacy”- except he’s been in the papers every few weeks ever since along with his wife.

He’s blamed publicly, most members of the senior royal family for whatever slights he perceives- it’s never his fault.

So yeah- Harry’s a “bit of a tosser”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,601 ✭✭✭valoren

He was asked for specific names as to who he believes wants to see him in harms way. His reply. "I'm not going to share, at this point". It's another guess who game just like the royal racist a few years back. Sh*t or get off the pot. Some things never change I guess as he's probably future faking/saving it all for Spare 2. Unless he can force a reconciliation. Great tactic if that's the case. Get along with me again or else I'll spill more tea and make a few more bucks. 🙄

Surely most can see by now why his family obviously want sweet FA to do with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,516 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Harry has time and time again proved himself too untrustworthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,338 ✭✭✭✭jm08

What the court case showed was that there was an assessment made every year on the level of security needed. At Harry's last assessment in 2019, he (and QEII) were assessed to be most at risk. Princess Anne etc. are given the amount of security that they need (which you or I do not know obviously). All the Royals live in places that have security provided (i.e., Kensington Palace), Andrew on Windsor Estate, all Anne's family have homes on her estate. Only the Royals with multiple homes (Charles & William) would have need for extra security.

According to Court documents, Harry's security was cut off when he was still a working royal, so the working royal argument is redundant for that reason.

Charles evicted Harry from the secure home (gifted to Harry by the Queen, refurbishment paid for by Harry and was paying rent) he had in Windsor (which would not have put an extra cost on anyone as it is already protected).

Its still probably empty because Andrew refused to move, so its costing the Crown Estates money!

As for Harry staying in Royal Residence - to be spied on by the Royal Family when he is taking legal action against the British tabloids who Charles & William are beholden to and have actually supported the Daily Mail in Meghan's court case?

As for the trips abroad - you bet they get full security when visiting countries where there might be a threat. UK is unsafe because of the security offered (if Harry is at an official function such as coronation, trooping of guards etc)!

What makes you think they get paid for going to visit other countries? Who actually pays them to visit and why would they want them to?

Actually, I think you will find from court case that in this instance, the Crown have had a large say. From what I can gather Harry knew he would not win this case, but he pursued it anyway to expose the truth that his father had cut his security. Harry's argument was that there was an assessment carried out regularly on security needs and his last one was in 2019?

Well, I think most people would be very upset with a parent who cut their security and left them stranded in another country while they were still working members of the royal family. Not only that, Charles cowardly let the security staff tell H&M that they were off. Then Charles (or his staff) leaks where they were staying in Canada to the tabloids! And Charles would not take calls from Harry.

And bear in mind, this all took place well before Harry and Meghan did any interviews or documentaries.

Well, if his family won't communicate with him, of course he is going to speculate on how long he has to live. Maybe some of his supposed family might pick up the phone and let him know!

Charles looks dreadful, so its no surprise if people do speculate. Anyway, what harm is the speculation doing if you don't communicate what his health status is anyway. He is the Head of State.

She really hasn't separated herself from Harry. H&M made millions from the book and docuseries. They bought a mansion in California with the proceeds, Meghan is wearing clothes & jewellery worth 1000s of dollars. If I was Harry, I don't think I'd want to have anything to do with his parent, though I can see why he would try and make the effort because of Charles's health & age situation. At least Harry will be able to say that he made the effort to reconcile.

If I said to my employer that I don't want to work for them anymore but I still want them to pay for my pension and healthcare what do you think my employers answer would be? I would be told to sod off and rightly so.

Harry publicly said he did not want to be a working member of the royal family so why should the taxpayer pay for his security? The other royals still attend events and perform some duties - that's the difference. I think we all now know Harry was behaving badly before any interviews or docs took place.

Harry airing his issues in public was idiotic on his behalf. Its like watching a 5 year old have a tantrum. All Harry and Meg had to do was abide by the rules and life would have been sweet for them. They would have been relatively left alone as the focus is always going to be on William. Harry and Meg are attention seekers and want all the focus to be on them though.

I have no doubt that the stress Harry caused contributed to both Charles and Kate's health issues. Harry really should just shut up at this stage.

Harry wanted to continue working for RF, but live in Africa or Canada (Commonwealth) for part of the year. His security was cut while he they were on an agreed break in Canada.

Harry had 38 years service at that stage, so would be entitled to both health care and a pension! In your case, if you left your job you would carry pension entitlements with you. You would not lose them. For example, Liz Truss was PM for about 3 months, she has a PMs pension and security for life.

But sod all that - the issue has been security as the son of the UK Head of State.

Why should Harry just shut up if he has a grievance? Why shouldn't people just shut up moaning about them?

Edit: Liz Truss was PM for 43 days and has a pension and lifelong full security. The UK taxpayer is paying for that.

You've completely misunderstood the point I'm making - my employer would not continue to pay into my pension if I left my employment. Hence why should the UK taxpayers fund Harry's security when he doesn't want to be a working royal? He has voluntarily left his job effectively.

Harry did not have paid employment. He was in the family firm. He had 38 years of service, so was well entitlted to a pension.

Anyway, pension isn't the same as security. Liz Truss gets a pension AND security for her 43 days of doing severe damage to the UK economy.

Again you are missing the point. I'm not talking about Harry's bloody pension. The point I am making is that as he has left his role in the firm ( as you put it) (the firm) no longer have to pay for his security!

Someone who leaves their job/role can no longer expect the perks of that role! It's as simple as that.

Needing security isn't exactly a perk of the job. I'd be pretty sure that there isn't a person alive who would would actually want to have fulltime protection.

Harry was born into the Royal Family - he can't resign from that. He is the son of the Head of State.

And the custom has been that all children and grandchildren of the Head of State (Queen/King) got full time protection until their 18th birthday at least. What about Harry's children? Why are they not getting protection?

Edit: Harry has offered to pay for his own protection so does not need to be a burden on the taxpayer.

Charles pays for Prince Andrews protection seemingly. And Andrew bringing the Royal Family into disrepute is far greater than anything that Harry has said or done. Its not as if Charles is short of money to actually pay for it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,649 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Harry gets protection as needed when in the UK. He's not the spare anymore and he's not a working royal so why would he get constant security? No other non working royal gets that. Even Anne only get security when she is performing royal duties. Why should british protection officers have to go to the US where they will be treated like assistants anyway and sent off for coffee and sandwiches? If hes so rich as you claim then he can well afford to pay

I'll repeat again. Protection is supplied to the royals based on the need (from court case I think it is assessed yearly). Harry's risk was last assessed in 2019. He has not been assessed since. Then he was in the same risk category as QEII - in more danger than KCII and William & family (due to probably having married a black woman - there are white supremacists in prison over threats to Harry & family and because of his military service in Afghanistan).

Its nothing to do with working/non-working. William's children (or indeed Kate) are hardly working. They get protection because of their relationship to the Head of State (King).

Harry is only looking for protection for his family (wife and children) in the UK. Not in the US.

Where did I say he was rich?

They do get protection in the UK. Harry let's them know of his plans to visit and his security needs will be assessed and provided to him. He is not being left unprotected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭lumphammer2

I never liked Meghan Markle ….. saw her as a manipulative drama queen from the very start ….. she 100% controls Harry and can manipulate every situation to suit her agenda …… by all means a bit of a bully too and a name caller ….. she lorded it over her staff and called Princess Catherine Waity Katie …. all in all not a nice person …… she destroyed Harry and I like Harry overall …. but Harry would be better off with someone else …..

But they will be left unprotected. They will only get protection at official events on invitation from Charles (who doesn't talk to Harry)! They were evicted from their secure home in the grounds of Windsor Castle by Harry's father.

And what about his children visiting?

So, as someone who has never met MM, you think that Harry would be better off leaving MM and his children with her?

In what way would he be better off? Have you someone in mind who he would be better off with?

Yes and what's wrong with that. He can pay for his own extra security. Harry quit the firm ( as you put it). All the other royal family members haven't quit - they know their job and their place is to sit back, do and say what is asked of them and they will live a privileged life.

Unfortunately Harry quit because he wanted a so called normal life. He's finding out though that living a normal life and paying the bills isn't all that easy.

Harry's security was taken from them when they were working royals. Read my post earlier.

He has offered to pay for his own security in the UK.

He does pay for his own security, but in the UK his personal security are denied access to intelligence (of threats) and they cannot carry firearms.

Andrew was sacked and he still has security in his home (which Charles was trying to evict him from and why he evicted Harry from his home so that he could put the sacked Andrew in it).

Writing a best selling book isn't easy I suppose!

Harry wanted to remain working as a Royal, but live abroad (in a Commonwealth Country where Harry's father is Head of State). What Harry wanted was for him and his family to stop being abused by the British press (and not be the scapegoat for the British Royal Family).

That's not true at all. He gets protection every single time he is in the UK. His complaint is that the protection provided isn't good enough and in his eyes, under the current rules he will only be sufficiently protected if at an event with the king. Thats because he thinks that he should get the same level of security that charles and William do at all times, despite not being in the direct line of succession anymore and not even living in the UK. If he brings his wife and kids to the UK with him, they will also be provided protection. The level of that protection is assessed on each occasion. Its a complete lie to say he is left unprotected.