Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F1 2025 - Round 6 - USA - Miami 🇺🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,019 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭ricimaki

It's funny seeing the McLaren pair out of their cars, discussing the race, and Russel just parking up now. They are so far ahead of the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,589 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Lego race was better, should do that for the full race at Monaco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Gamb!t

Some speed from those McLarens.Piastris to lose.

Norris looks very unhappy, I wonder do McLaren have an agreed race that they'll prioritize the lead driver from?

Might not be an issue if they're so far clear but this track seemed to suit them more than others so there may be a decision coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,019 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

so sounds like I didn’t miss much.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 7,013 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Piastri really looks a champion in waiting. Much steadier and less emotional than Norris.

There will be other circuits that won't suit McLaren as much and Verstappen is still the best driver on the grid and drives the Red Bull fantastically. But for now: Go On, the Papaya!!

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland, The Courettes, Nine Inch Nails, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Nova Twins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,830 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Lando looks like he's hurting a bit

Mostly a good first half of a race. Some rain or a safety car might have spiced it up a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,551 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

I feel like things will definitely boil over between Piastri and Norris if the championship stays this close

I'm not sure they'll actually be allowed fight each other on track

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 7,013 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

I suspect you're right. For McLaren the main thing is constructors. Big advantage at the moment with only Mercedes look somewhat close with both drivers taking points, but until the title is guaranteed (which won't happen until 4-5 races before the end) they will be told to behave.

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland, The Courettes, Nine Inch Nails, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Nova Twins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭stesaurus

Norris is an unlucky driver in the main. He was absolutely faster than Piastri but got fecked over in the first corner. Nothing but hurt from it, what else could he have done? Piastri sails through

I'd love to see a proper battle with the two but will it be allowed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Rubbish. Hamilton should have been let through immediately when he was on the faster tyres. Instead they kept him behind for 3 laps, ruining his tyres so that when he did get past he didn't have it in the car to catch up.

And then they ballsed up swapping back too (told Leclerc before asking Hamilton).

100% blame on the team, neither driver was in the wrong at any point. I usually hate Hamiltons moaning on the radio, but he was totally in the right today.

Zak Brown says there's two number one drivers and they are allowed fight but if they are both this close in championship through out the season then you can't pick one over the other, you got to let them fight it out

Also, let's go Piastri! Clinical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭quokula

Three laps would have made zero difference, given how much faster Leclerc was. Lewis took all the life out of his tyres to stay in DRS try and make a point but the reality was that Charles was faster all race and Lewis was a hatful of places behind him until he got lucky with the VSC. The moment the team capitulated to his aggressive radio calls and let him past it was blatantly obvious he didn’t have the pace to pull away from Charles and was costing him time immediately. If they’d done it three laps earlier that wouldn’t have changed.

I think they'll be allowed fight for the first few laps but once the race settles the lead driver is going to get the priority.

No way McLaren risk both drivers fighting it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭quokula

Piastri was faster than him all weekend up until a mistake in Q3. If we’re talking about luck, Norris was handed the sprint win having done nothing to deserve it when Oscar had him beat all race.

In the first corner he could have backed out when it was clear it was Max’s corner. The same as Antonelli should have done yesterday and Max should have done in Jeddah. As was established in Jeddah, these are the rules now and they need to drive accordingly.

And while he was faster at the end of the race it’s impossible to know how much Oscar was saving his tyres. Piastri overtook Max much more quickly and efficiently than Lando managed and built a really big gap when he needed to. From there he was free to manage the gap so it’s hard to say Lando was faster just because he closed the gap, he didn’t close it by remotely enough to get in striking distance after all.

Lewis zipped up behind Charles, he was flying then. But then hurt his tyres while stuck behind.

The correct approach should have been to let Lewis past immediately, give him the chance against Kimi. If he couldn't catch him, then swap and let Charles attack. And do it earlier, so everything should have happened a few laps earlier.

If does seem that there are significant race team organisational problems with Ferrari, which has been the case for years. It's bizarre that Fred Vasseur hasn't gotten on top of them fully yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭steinbock123

I notice yer man Ben Sulayem hovering around at the post race driver weigh ins , both yesterday and today. It’s very obvious he’s trying to hog some sort of limelight, has it anything to do with his re-election campaign??

He always does it. I enjoy the complete lack of interaction the drivers give him, seems almost universal.

Rachel Brookes is insufferable, she'd swear Verstappen was out there trying to attempt murder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Barrett

The way Williams are improving, it won't be a huge surprise to see them finish ahead of Ferrari in the WCC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,898 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I don't think Norris has what it takes. Piastri is driving like an old hand at this stage. Cool as can be.

Surely.norris was better to let verstappen go at the beginning that putting himself to a position that put himself off and back to 5th.

Red Bull have made protest against Russell for not slowing under a yellow flag

RedBull must be confident that Russell didn't slow down enough

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,978 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Max called it straight away and he has a real nack of noticing things.

Norris seems to be having a bit of a meltdown in multiple interviews, taking this 2nd place a lot harder than he should.

Reinforces my view that McLaren have a cutoff point for letting their drivers race and it's fast approaching

I'm not sure what Lando is expecting from Max. Max will always race hard, it's like Lando wants him to move aside because he's in a slower car. Looking back at the incident I initially thought Max shoved him off but you aren't going around the outside there and Lando should have back out. We know the Redbull is bad on its brakes and Piastri exposed that perfectly by forcing max to brake late. I think Piastri being so cool and calm will win him the championship if the wing changes don't effect Mclaren too much