Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tiling over outdoor tiles?

• 02-05-2025 09:01PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭

I'm thinking about tiling over these tiles (see pic below) that run the length of our house (back garden) with either porcelain or granite tiles.

IMG_20250502_161838.jpg

The fact there are tiles there already can I just tile over them? I'm presuming the existing tiles are sloped correctly for drainage etc. They slope gradually from the back of the house towards the grass.

There are 4 of these manholes though...

IMG_20250502_161825.jpg

I'd like to cover them if possible. I've noticed you can get recessed manhole covers but they seem very pricey. Also is cutting outdoor tiles a difficult task? Thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭20/20

Absolutely not. They are dirty paving slabs not tiles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Escapees

Not sure if you're serious or not. Would it not be similar to tiling over a concrete floor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭ConorC1

I was serious until I read both of your posts!

They are terrible yokes alright. Rip them up so?

Why is tiling over them a serious no no? Just as a matter of interest

I was actually responding to 20/20! Maybe with a username like that, they can see a potential issue that we don't ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,743 ✭✭✭standardg60

You can lay over the existing perfectly fine, you'll need at least an inch of mortar for stability so bear in mind the extra height. The plastic recess covers are cheaper than the metal.

An angle grinder with a diamond disc is required for cutting, a wet cutter is better for porcelain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭baxterooneydoody

Why? It would be helpful to expand..

You can't tile over these slabs, get someone that knows what they're at as porcelain can be challenging to work with if not experienced with it. Also, if you're prepared to spend money on porcelain you can well afford to buy a recessed cover, they can be bought for 70 or 80 euro online or at most paving centres

Because them concrete slabs while a perfectly fine choice for paving would provide a poor base for tiling down on, a good base would be 4 to 6 inches of 3/4 down gravel compacted with a whacker plate and 2 inches of mortor to bed the porcelain. A concrete base would be better again but I find the gravel if prepared correctly does the job

Thanks. I'm not trying to be the devil's advocate here, but might a good base already be laid down under the slabs as they look pretty good from a levelness point of view?

If they haven't moved you've a good chance they're laid on a good solid base, that's a lot of work saved already

There is absolutely no reason why they can't be laid on the existing paving, it's no different to a hardcore base. It's actually better because it's already compacted and settled. If some are wobbling they can just be cracked with a sledge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭ConorC1

I can confirm that no tiles have moved or are loose since we moved in 5 years ago. Here are 2 pics I found from back then...

Screenshot_20250504_203034.jpg Screenshot_20250504_204336.jpg

The house is in a small estate and was built by a reputable construction firm so I'd expect (well I at least hope 😃) that the proper ground work was done underneath before they were laid.

Any suggested quick checks I could do?

Post edited by ConorC1 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭20/20

That base is not for tiling , and even if you do tile why porcelain ? It will be dangerously slippy. If you are using tiles make sure they are exterior rated and R 11 rated. The problem with R 11 tiles is the anti slip texture is a bit like sand-paper and dirt sticks to them. I would suggest looking at new paving from patio centers. New paving would be cheaper than tiles and transform that area. Also regarding the manhole covers spend the few quid now hiding them. Galvanised Pavior Manhole Cover 450 x 450 x 80mm - Ray Grahams DIY Store They also sometimes have a 12 inch version for €70. I know they are 3" thick which is perfect for paving, but I have used them for tiling by just filling the lid with 2" sand + cement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,401 ✭✭✭✭ted1

how is a concrete patio slab and different than base?

Regardless if there’s a slope on the existing patio you will be adding a good but or mortar ( don’t forget the primer ) so the slope could change. So ensure your lines are correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,466 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Before I did anything I would take up one of the existing to see how it was laid.

Doesn't matter, the only consideration is that the base is 'solid' ie not liable to settle or move any further. If it hasn't done either in five years it's fine. Taking one up is just disturbing that scenario.

To be clear while the OP referred to 'tiling' the area, it's not tiling in the conventional sense, it's laying tiles or slabs on a bed of mortar rather than a screed of adhesive.

I notice in the pics there's areas of concrete and a step to the back door circa the height of a recessed drain cover, so my approach would be to bring it all up to that level, with a channel drain in the back door recess.

I don't see how you can know that the base is solid without knowing what the base is or how its laid?

Maybe for 5 years its been sitting there unused and if it actually took traffic it would start to move. I wouldn't put down good money onto something that I didn't know & trust.

If you can tell just by looking at what it's laid on whether it will move or not in the future fair play to you. I'd have to wait around five years myself to be sure.

Edit. Didn't mean that to sound so smart. I just find it strange that you wouldn't trust the base when all logic and appearance says you should.

But each to their own.

Post edited by standardg60 on

If you can tell without looking then fair play to you! :)

If it was my money, I would want to confirm how it was laid and see how it was after a few years of use before I dropped a few grand of porcelain onto someone elses work.

If they are done properly and stable 5 years later then I wouldn't have any concerns using it as a base, but who knows, maybe half of them are loose but havent shifted? Maybe they are not actually that level and would cause issues tiling over without a screed on top? It would depend a lot on how much use they have had over the last 5 years also.

Also, Im not talking about taking them all up, just one or two to see whats underneath. That would seem like minimal effort in the scheme of the job for good info in my book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,568 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

If they are laid on a decent bed of mortar you should be fine.

Dig a little inspection square in the garden and check, run a level over all of them and see if any have dropped.

If it were me I would give them a good wash and get some chemicals on them to bring them back to their former glory, they looked grand 5 years ago, you could even paint them.

Spend the money on a decent outdoor couch and beer. 🍺

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,475 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I would take them up, not least because raising the ground level further with respect to the internal floor level might create problems with penetrating damp.

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Madd002

Or go for something like this, matt crete, I'd say base is level enough but definitely lift those tiles even if you do go with tile.

Screenshot_20250531_222235_Gallery.jpg