Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk Thread (Love you Furlong time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,405 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

I thought Lowe had a very good game. Cracking banana kick at one point and largely kicked well.

Biggest disappointments for me were Snyman (anonymous), Deegan (also anonymous), Sam (shocker) and Hugo (one of his worst games in blue).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,250 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

You really have to wonder what the story with Leinster is. There's something fundamentally wrong. They just can't get the job done.

If I take it that an IRFU dictat was the reason Barrett was on the bench, for the life of meI cannot understand how he didn't start the 2nd half. Leinster were on the back foot at the point and going nowhere. That's on the Leinster management.

Most of the kicking was aimless too.

I've a 10 yr old son who has never seen Leinster win a cup semi-final at home (Munster in URC a few years ago and today). The poor child actually thinks he's cursed.

On the plus side, ToB was outstanding. My wife was even impressed. Also, the disappointment is easier in a semi final I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,950 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Freeman took his tries well, has good pace to him. Don't think he was markedly better than TOB from first viewing, just for getting to be the one to score from a sequence of passes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭johnh6767

Tough day for Sam , getting way too much **** on X , transition periods are hard from a Sexton level . Reality is Northampton played their game of the year and Finn Smith/ Pollock were 10/10

Entirely disagree

Hard to see how Ross wouldn't have been a better choice in hindsight over Sam. But that's hindsight for you. Sam was fairly toxic today and it's really bewildering how he was left on the pitch for so long. I've all the faith that he'll improve and in years to come will be a top tier talent but anyone who tries to argue his performance was even passable today needs their heads checked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,912 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

The way Freeman absolutely glided past Lowe was a fairly black mark. Happy to be talked around but there's zero reason to say he was "very good'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,912 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

He didn't just get the ball with a straight run from twenty yard out. He worked very hard and delivered, always popper up in the right place.

Hindsight is 20/20 always easy to make decisions based on fact . Can’t blame the coaches on players performance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Mr Disco

Now now we must all worship at the alter of Sam whether Leinster, Lions or Ireland fans…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭Strand1970

10 - 20 years ago a home semi would be big news nation wide. But now Leinster are the only competive Irish province. It's a bit like the leinster football championship, no one cares anymore. My point is leinster is so far ahead it's killing interest in rugby for the casual fans. NOT leinster'd fault but IRFU needs to address and propose solutions. I see at under age in counties 120 players at under 14's desperate to make the cut for development GAA county teams while local rugby clubs struggling to field 15 players at the same age, rugby not on the radar for these lads and these are athlete player within each county that all sports want to attract. Rugby and the IRFU needs to figure out how to make rugby more attractive to the young players. Apologies for the rant but I am sick of people giving out aboutLeinster and not realising the rest of the country is falling behind due to not making rugby attractive alternative and just focusing on the existing clubs and schools. Connacht fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭eastie17

why oh why oh why oh why would u not not take the kick to level the game, get the ball back and build again. Brainless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭dublin49

forget isolated incidents , big picture Northampton scored 5 tries away against an odds on favourite for the title, fair play and good luck to them , they played great and we were below par, thats sport, on another day we hammer them, anyone wanna buy 2 tickets for final.

Yep, as I said... hindsight.

You can certainly blame coaches for player selection and inability to make changes when needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

I’m sorry but to leave Jordie Barrett on the bench for the Champions Cup semi-final, the exact reason you signed him to win, will go down as one of the most nonsensical team selections I’ve ever witnessed as a Leinster fan.

What was the point in having him if you’re not going to play him in these games? Complete rubbish to suggest the team that started was the right now. Not one player in their respective position in the outside backs is a better player than him.

It was a foolish call. Complete waste.

100%.

It was arrogance. If it was Toulouse, he'd have started. But they took Northampton as an easy ride.

Coaching ticket has a serious systemic issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Ruginator

Arrogance summed up the day. Supporters arrogant. Leo's team selection no Jordie Barrett. But to top it off the Arrogance at the end to go for a tap penalty having already turned down a kickable penalty. Arrogance gets you nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

I defended leaving Barrett on the bench but it only works when you have the rest of the team playing to the level needed to win and they were miles off it today.

Feel Leo's strength of keeping the wider squad happy and being best boy in class for rotating Irish starters has become a weakness. The team looked undercooked today and rudderless.

Big element of mental issue too, the side fails to hit their heights when it truly matters and they face stiff resistance. One too many years of a bounce of the ball being the difference in winning or losing when most of the 23 didnt play close to their peak performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,950 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

At this stage, it's best team available every week. No reason to put out such a weak team last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭conquestscarer

Honestly, either Andy Farrell is the best coach in the world or Leo Cullen should be no where near a pro gig. Has to be one or the other doesn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Ruginator

Irfu strategy is fucked. 3 provinces utterly disenfranchised. Leinster the golden goose constantly failing on the big stage. Rugby is in a bad place in this country.

Yet so many fans taking joy out of Leinster losing without any foresight as to the impact that has on Irish rugby.

Not sure how you could have watched Ross at any point this season and see him as a better choice to start today.

Ross didnt even play well last weekend.

Starting Ross over Prendergast would have made zero difference to the result of the match. He didn't have a great game but neither did the vast majority of the team - something that Ross has shown over and over again that he doesn't have the ability to overcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Mr Disco

frawley was the 10 that should have been given a chance. If he started today Leinster would have won

mod: warned

3 provinces are utterly disenfranchised due mostly to their own utter incompetence.

People talk all the time about Leinster funding but the other provinces are far better funding than sides they have been losing to all season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭This is it

Lads as poor as he was, Jordie Barrett not starting is a bigger joke than whether Sam should have or not.

All this talk of Ross or Frawley starting or whatever impact they would when we chose to start one of the best players in the world on the bench, when he was brought in to play these very games. I’m not saying he should have played 10. He was our best player for 31 minutes today and it’s utter incompetence that he didn’t start.

I don’t think there is anyone other than the coaching ticket that could look at that and say it was the right call.

In 10 years time, when we have hopefully gotten over this hoodoo of bottling it and manage to win a couple of more Champions Cups, I’ll still be saying ‘they left Jordie f*cking Barrett on the bench’

I said "in hindsight". Do you know what that means...

And for what it's worth, Ross would likely not have missed the two kicks that Sam missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,117 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

"Leinster is so far ahead"

Are they though given what we've seen once again today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,696 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

And for what it's worth, Ross would likely not have missed the two kicks that Sam miss

Northampton missed kicks too..that's Rugby.