Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

1434445464749»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Aravo

How is B still involved with the local Gaa club about 10mins away, it's a wonder others have not pushed him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

My uncle was a chain smoker up until the doctor told him he had the heart of a 65yo (he's 50). He quit on the spot after 40 years of smoking and hasn't smoked since. I'm massively impressed (and proud) with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,671 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

28 years married today, oh got home from hospital yesterday evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Going by your posting times you're pretty woke yourself, unless you're on nights or something?

If you're talking in code, is waking up different to woke? Are the woke supposed to wake up (more? again?) Or as language would suggest, are those who are waking up then woke, or maybe nearly woke? And which ones are the oddballs? Is time of day or night a factor?

Sounds like ye'd a goodnight anyway, had ye a bit of country music going? Maybe add a bonfire the next night and turn it in to a proper rally, get the numbers up and it could be the start of something great.

There was an election not so long ago, did ye not vote for people that would represent ye? Ye might get something going in time for the next one, although you'd rarely see single issue candidates get far.

There's often a lot of anti- dump posters anywhere there's a new one proposed, similarly anti- wind farm, anti- bioreactor, anti- phone masts etc but the thing about NIMBYism is that it's inherently self-limiting, and everywhere around, people just shrug their shoulders, thinks ye're dead right, but well... NIMBY!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭farmertipp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,950 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Carrick was a rough town 10 years ago before refugees were housed there. Daughter went to gymnastics there for a while and my wife said it always had a horrible element of lads hanging round intimidating women and girls. Look at the fighting and trouble there was in the Oasis.

There’s a bunch of refugees over the road in Kingscourt and you’d hardly know they were in the town other than today they are out with the tidy town litter picking all the access roads, maybe the difference is the locals ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭Grueller

I would not be anti immigration but to be fair to ye up there Carrickmacross was a ridiculous situation. Immigration and integration should go hand in hand but putting the amount of IPAS centres that are around Carrick in one town was never going to lead to any sort of social integration. Banty should hang his head in shame.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Integration is rarely considered from what I can see.

Govt policy seems to be

1. get ‘em in
    2. pack ‘em tight, and,
    3. hand over the money to the local business man.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,627 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Carrickmacross was always considered a rough town in the late '70's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Farmer2024

i don't remember anyone being killed in the Oasis until your friends moved in? That case of the killing in the Oasis went very quiet when it turned out it was a fella new to the parish?

Honestly Brian, we are probably neighbours, I was in Kingscourt myself today. Fellas like you are beyond understanding and just oddballs standing against your own neighbours but nothing new in our history sadly. At least the lads in the past were getting paid for it, you I presume are doing it for free?

There are no houses to rent in Kingscourt for our own, yet every time I drive into the approach roads I see plenty of obviously foreign lads walking into the estates with their SuperValu shopping bags in the middle of the day to their government supplied housing, it's a disgrace and people are rightly annoyed.

That’s great.
    much the same ourselves, 30 years this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,021 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

"That case of the killing in the Oasis went very quiet when it turned out it was a fella new to the parish?"

I've noticed that too, the most recent one where 5 were involved - only one name mentioned in the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Aravo

Storm Eowyn occurred 24/01/25. I submitted assistance form mid march but had the form back dated to mid Feb. Got €€€ recently. So not to late to get them in. There was a rumour that it was cut off on around 21/02/25.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Farney Farmer

Probably cause of the amount of money he’s pumping into that club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,671 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Indeed the gaa are a different breed, they can ignore things when it suits them. Money talks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Farney Farmer

Plus that club is full of McEnaneys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,320 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Per chance happened to be in the well pump house and the pump was kicking in and out every odd second. The expansion tank had no air in it. Had to open a water pipe and let air into the tank via the valve at the top. Tank is about half full of air and water now. A quarter full of water, would be too low I presume?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭davidk1394

The tube in the pressure vessel is either under inflated or its leaking. Pump it up to 30psi and see if the pump stops kicking in and out. If it starts doing the same thing then the tube is leaking air

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭davidk1394

First day out on a bike. There's a group of us doing a charity cycle from Dublin down to home. Roughly 180km, I cycled 30km today. I have until the middle of August to get fit. Few of them are raising money for charity. I'm half tempted myself but I'll want another few weeks and see how the cycling goes first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

Turn off the pump and release all the water. Most pressure switches are set at 30/50 psi so pump tank to 28psi of air. If it’s not holding the air or if there’s water still in the tank after you empty it you’ll need a new tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Ran my first Marathon today in Limerick. 4hrs48

I know not the fastest but for a unit like me- I’m happy. Small bit more pace in my legs but I was with my brother who had to walk a few times, we split at 28km.

Could be sore tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

I see donkey (Grassmen) done a leg of the Belfast marathon. Surprisingly he done the second longest leg (5.7miles). Done it in 1:12.

Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

I got awful confused by the lads doing the relay- pace was unreal- a few had the Battons tucked and. I couldn’t figure it.

Another part that would mess with you was when people turned back and you running against them-

head would go down when in among the 10km walkers/runners and they gunning it past you- only a steward called me by name and said I was going solid for a full marathon and keep going.

Needed it then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

Sad story down here in West cork this evening. 13 year old girl killed in motor racing accident. How fun can turn to sorrow.