Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2025 World Championships

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,939 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Fair play to Zhao. Winning with a session to spare as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,832 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Jesus lads Jimmy looks ropey

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,628 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

If there isn't even a frame, think they might be on the hook for a refund in that case.

Don't think an exhibition can be considered a substitute. But they probably put one on for anyone who travels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,511 ✭✭✭weemcd

Zhao played absolutely fearless snooker today. Took on anything. Kept Ronnie in his seat for 8 frames in a row.

He has a rest tomorrow now with a free day and shows up Sunday fresh. I wouldn't bet against him (no pun intended.)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,500 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Can't remember the last time a semi-final finished with a session to spare, in 2015 Barry Hawkins reeled off a few frames against Murphy to just about get it to the final session, otherwise my mind is blank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

I think Ronnie beat Henry in a semi final with a session to spare years back.

Also Davis beat Higgins and Dennis Taylor.

Dennis also beat tony Knowles

No refund or ticket exchange for the Saturday afternoon session.

Dennis and Steve will do their 1985 final frame exhibition instead.

Would be an expensive exhibition, imagine having the Century club hospitality ticket for that slot. Hearns still earn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,211 ✭✭✭Genghis

Yep, seen that. I would be fairly unhappy with that.

They should offer a transfer to the same session next year if they do not want to do refunds.

This - a session to spare in a semi or final, one table scenario- is a foreseeable risk, they should provide for it (or insure it with one of the betting sites) so they can refund tickets.

They also say they 'cannot refund' per T&C's, from personal experience they were very willing to refund (for a fee) once they had the opportunity to resell the ticket. Obviously that's not an opportunity here, so T+C's stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,015 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Judd trump snookered himself in frame 20 just now. He missed a cannon on the reds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,505 ✭✭✭✭walshb

huge frame win for Williams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,168 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

How come there is no backlash around Xintong being banned for matchfixing?

Surely that'd be a fairly big black mark on any future success he has

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭John arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,168 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I dunno, look at Ivan Toney. On the cusp of a move to a bigger club (Arsenal, United alone could do with him), got suspended for betting and no club will touch him now. Plying his trade in Saudi Arabia.

He served his time too.

Doping is a more extreme form of cheating, and the worst of the worst, but match-fixing is still cheating.

Personally will be vouching for Williams/Trump in the final, even when Xintong was sensational getting there.

Thing in he is still banned in China for a while longer.

I think the sport and broadcasters are slightly embarassed.

Otherwise we'd never stop hearing about this 'wonderful young talent' and the hype would be in overdrive.

I'd hardly seen him interviewed before last night.

I think he had a relatively minor role compared to Bingtao and others, so let him move on with his career/life.

Judd deserved a bit of luck with position, but he's going for it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,832 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

A lot of hand wavey craic going on.

He didnt actually fix any matches but knew matches were being fixed and bet his own money on snooker matches (inc during that period) and also placed bets for Yan Bingtao who was fixing matches. And he didnt report it to world snooker.

Great break from Judd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,810 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Way off on your analysis of the Toney situation. The clubs you mentioned still wanted him despite the (relatively minor) betting thing in much the same as players like Tonali are still wanted. But it was his personal choice to move to Saudi Arabia for the money.

It made complete sense from his point of view. He'd got to 27yo, and basically had no money (quite likely had sizeable debts). Going to Saudi Arabia relatively young gave him a chance to catch up financially. Estimated he earns £20M a year in Saudi, tax-free if he fulfils x years. In England his ceiling was likely half that, and pay 45% tax.

Thought WST had Kirk Stephens over this weekend, but it turns out it was Jim Wych that was over from Canada.

Reached quarter final in 1980, when Cliff won and Kirk reached the semi final. Burst on to the scene then and was still competing in the late 80s. One of the Canadian two piece cue players who specialised in plants, power shots and doubles back then.

Confusingly some commentators called him Jimmy Wych when he came along first, but it had to change to Jim to avoid the confusion with Jimmy White emerging at the time.

Post edited by Arthur Daley on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Holy Diver

I would agree that there appeared to be very little mention of it by the bbc - not surprising I suppose.

Hendry was on about it last night in comms but they seemed to be sidestepping it all along - in the coverage of the tournament thay I saw anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,015 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Personally I think the ban Xintong received was fair and it had to be harsh. Because snooker would be a sport easy to fix not just on match wins but other variables at the bookies etc. Given snookers fine margins it would become a farce otherwise .

Bingham was banned for 6 months just for betting on snooker his own matches, high breaks and winning etc . No players are allowed to bet on their matches or any snooker matches now.

Which is as it should be means no grey areas no messing. Precedents have been clearly set.

Not like years before that. Where it was the done thing. I seem to remember Murphy cleaned up when he backed himself to win it outright in 2005 for example.

I think far more embarrassing for world snooker is the Graham Dott situation. How do they deal with that? It is the anniversary he won it next year. His name is on the trophy forever.

Also this year I still have not noticed the name “Dott” on the “wall” logo design/dividing wall listing former world champions names with that red background different font/colour.I noticed there are even two “Higgins” in different colour and font. For Alex and John

But no “Dott” has to have been deliberate? Bingham is there even albeit not the more prominent all black or all white font.
    Hendry, Davis, Taylor, Griffiths, Reardon, all very prominent on the wall design. No sign of Dott!?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

John Higgins was suspended for six months and yet is treated like a God???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Musicrules

Speaking of Saudi Arabia...

Screenshot_2025-05-03-13-19-43-822-edit_com.android.chrome.jpg

I don't know if it's Saudi Arabia, I didn't click on the link, but that's what's on the BBC Sports pages and he has connections there I believe. Plus, I think he has been involved in negotiations with the Hearn's and Saudis before.

Ever the attention seeker. I think O'Sullivan would have no problem selling out Sheffield and the Crucible for more money.

Judd lives in DubaI now. Ebdon moved there before he retired.

It's probably an attractive base if you are into that sort of thing. Halfway between China and the UK.

Speaking of match fixing, remember Stephen Lee? He was given a 12 year ban, I think a match against John Higgins was prominent in his downfall. He too was a member of "the class of 92". 🙄

When he was given the ban of 12 years, it was effectively meant as a lifetime ban. Nobody thought he'd be around to play at 50. His ban lifted last year, he was free to try and qualify for this year's World Championship, but he's no interest. Besides, he still owes the snooker authorities over £100K in legal fees, so that would be a major obstacle too.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,628 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I’m sure he had interest, but the £100k is the real problem. He’s also even more massive than his playing days. I wonder could he actually do it.

Talk about a Rolls Royce cue action.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,211 ✭✭✭Genghis

Have they stopped referring to Xintong as an amateur? While technically correct, calling him that out of the context he became amateur is misleading.

Anyway, I haven't heard him being described as an amateur in 3 or 4 days. Probably avoiding any mention of his status.

I say all this as somwone who is in support of him being back, he was stupid, he served his time, it was proportionate imho, and I admire how he has come back so motivated; but we shouldn't pretend he is an amateur.