If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

YouTube Premium thread SEE OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

My girlfriend pays for my YouTube premium, Disney, Spotify, Netflix etc

Before anyone says i should share the burden, I'm more a Sky Q, Bluray/VHS type of guy. There's enough blurays, VHS tapes and 2TB HDD on my Sky box to entertain me. I rarely use these services.

I was listening to music a few months ago on the phone. Didn't I hear then "feels like a dream feels like magic" Temu advert.

I queried her about it and she said yeah sometimes she sees adverts.

For a couple of weeks it was fine again. Then Tuesday there was a 90+ second row of ads that weren't skip-able.

If you Google "YouTube premium showing ads" it will show you a load of reddit and Google forum complaints about this. I reckon they are selling ad space at a premium and targeting paid subscribers intentionally. When you complain to them they claim logging in and out will solve the issue, but i bet they don't compensate those who have seen ads.

I can't complain personally as I'm getting it free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I'd say Google targeting subscribers deliberately is just nonsense. I've been on YouTube premium for years now, it happens super rarely that ads appear. Maybe once a year, if even.

I've had similar happen for games that I have subscription for too, very rarely an ad will sneak in. Just shows their default is show ads, and premium removes it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Simi

Wow that's a huge increase, almost 2x the Polish rise in percentage terms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,974 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

Utter greed. I wonder where it'll just be too expensive, like disney and netflix.

The only thing making it okish is that youtube music is included and not far off spotify.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭muloc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,045 ✭✭✭54and56

Well that's one way to look at it. Pricing is a tricky issue to navigate. All businesses want to maximise revenue and ultimately profitability but there's always a trade off between having a high volume of users at a low price and fewer users at a higher price as some users get priced away from the service. Happened to me with Sky a few years ago. They pushed another €10 monthly increase and I just decided it wasn't worth it at all so terminated my account, installed free to air satelite and haven't regretted it.

I recall an Economics lecturer simplifying the pricing decision as follows:

"Never charge less than someone is prepared to pay"

Netflix are finding out how much people are actually prepared to pay. They will keep pushing pricing up until the marginal increase in revenue from price increases is less than the lost revenue from subscribers ceasing to use the service. Then and only then they'll have found the optimum price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭ECookie13

This has turned into whack a mole with pricing, every cheap country rises every few months. Not worth the hassle nearly I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭Fabio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,886 ✭✭✭Nigzcurran

Getting to the point where I think I'll have to dump the family plan and just go for the individual one to keep the brat happy as he lives on you tube so definitely needs it. The rest of the family members are just bumming along for free for the last few years so they'll have to figure something else out

Time is contagious, everybody's getting old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Romero

Got the Poland increase this morning going hold off pressing the accept button until the April charge goes through next Friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Del007

Romanis is €11, got charged yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭thos

I signed up for Poland but then got “Your YouTube Premium membership was canceled because we believe the signup country of Poland was inaccurate.”

Where did I go wrong?

I had been using Peru or somewhere before that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭feargantae

Lads I'm finally after getting the cancellation email.

What's the current best sign up country? Is it still Poland/Romania?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭ooter

Kazakhstan working well for me for a few months now, usually just over €5 a month for an individual subscription

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭ooter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,584 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Been on an Argentina Sub for the past 7 years or so. Got the emails from youtube a few time over the past few months (since first outlined here) but have left things as they are without any issues with service. Another email in this week so will see what happens over the coming weeks.

At this point though, I use YouTube so much I don't think I'd be too bothered paying the Irish sub as I've had it cheap for 7 + years or so as I use it for music also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,867 ✭✭✭Nollog

Anyone know much premium costs in malta?

I don't have that country in my vpn accounts, but one of my cards is issued there, wondering of it's any cheaper.

Have you gotten the email to say your sub will be cancelled or just the one to say to update payment method?

My account is being cancelled is about a week so I'm scrambling to sort it!

€6 for Student

€10 for Individual

€17 for Family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,584 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Same email I got in October asking me to update my payment method. I'll let it slide and see what happens.

You'll be grand so. It's the email saying your sub is after being cancelled and you can renew if ye want that you've to watch out for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭copper04

With Ref.to Ypoutube Premium ussing the iTunes/Turkey method.

Can one use your existing you tube account (Being Kicked out on 12th May)

or do you need a Turkish account via VPN. I have 200TRy itunes to try it out.

Im old and I'm confused on that point. New Youtube account or existing one ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭ongarite

You can use existing YouTube/Google account.

Your new Turkey Apple id is separate from your YouTube account. Sign in to Apple account on iPhone. Add credit though App Store.

Either cancel now or wait for YT Premium to expire. Then sign up through YT on iPhone which should be in lira.

Once successfully signed up, you can login back with your main Apple id account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,979 ✭✭✭✭shmeee

UAE (Dubai) €12 per month for family. Working away via Revoult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭Keith186

Got the cancellation email for Poland family last night. No reason given but I did open a ticket with Google for completely non related query, not sure if someone looked into it then as email came a few hours after the ticket reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭SlipperyPeople

guy on reddit https://www.reddit.com/r/PremiumOnABudget/ appears to be offering family plan access for 27 euro for the year

https://premiumonabudget.notion.site/af3479qfhut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Del007

I got the email as well, I'm using Romania

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭_John C

Had to move from Turkey to Peru in December, all went well and was working fine. But I got an email

Post edited by _John C on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,974 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

Got the peru email too. Took all of 60s to resign up to Romania.