Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,994 ✭✭✭Odelay

Thats about right for a professional including all materials vat etc. Painters are in demand, supply is low. A locl painter lost two of his lads to someone paying €400 a day. Thing is they are foreign lads so they should be sitting around claiming benefits and clogging up the health system 😂.

To who said you don't need primer and then said they give it a coat or two every three years….. well that's why you need primer. A well prepared job on an old house should last 10-20 years.

There is a saying "if you think a professional is expensive, wait till you pay for an amateur".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,061 ✭✭✭Suckler

I was quoted 800 for roof wash recently, included chemical treatment also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,948 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Smoking was just expected and accepted. The 60’s and 70’s it was just everyone. Hearing of folks on 80-100 a day was common.

one wonders will alcohol be looked back on in the same light in a few decades. I’d have a drink maybe 2-3 evenings a week, glass or two of wine or a beer.

If you picked it up just based on the title, I don't think you'll like it….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Tileman

sounds dear but isn’t everything dear now. Was quoted 3 k for similar job pre Covid so probably double that now. Biggest problem is getting some one.

I would do it myself next time though. Fed up paying over the odds for every tom, divk and Harry who wants cash. You won’t do quite as good a job as a pro but I’ll have the family holiday covered with the spare cash.

Post edited by Tileman on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭massey 265

Does this painting pricing craic seem a bit over done or what?Seems alot like what went on in the celtic tiger era and we all know how that ended up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Randomn observation..... Is the mart the only place in Ireland that smoking indoors Is still accepted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,494 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

I spray my roof every second year with 'Patio magic', I use the power washer and can do most of it from the ground.

It's not as good as power washing but keeps off the moss, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,494 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

I used to always do it myself, all of my walls can be done with a roller, but age makes it difficult now,

We're at the edge of a 'tidy village,' so have to keep a reasonable standard.

The wash from the road cause havoc on the house, I often have to power wash the front of the house.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I think I saw it referenced some place and I’m curious about Europe and history in general.

We might be more familiar with emigration in Ireland so immigration is bound to cause discomfort. Initially at least.

But then Ireland has changed more socially in the last 30 years than the previous 300 so there’s lots of new stuff to get used to.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭older by the day

There was a man, near me, who spent, his life painting, and he always advised to go easy with the power washer. Just knock off the dirt, he would give a light run of a wire brush to most chimneys and would paint away.

He reckoned driving water in to the wall was not good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,611 ✭✭✭straight

Nice Video I thought. Plenty young people included.

https://www.facebook.com/share/v/169dwzKAXd/

Derek blight was one of the biggest anti immigrant protestors around here. I hear he's after immigrating to Canada himself which is great news.

Certainly can’t think of another place that it’s accepted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,318 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Hard to blame him if he has emigrated ,he stood up for his beliefs and he was tared by RTE and Irish media worse then if he was a drug dealer gangster .

I remember at the election count RTE did not even want to publish his votes and yet they continue to squander millons and no one holds them to account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭minerleague

Seems to be, just finished up testing every 4 months with one outbreak and now another neighbour gone done. Letter out have probably to test 6 months after last. If not a big outbreak or if your neighbour went down on bought cattle may not have to test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

He has free movement to Canada too AFAIK through his wife he's dead right to head over.

Better living everyone

Good Riddance to him. He got his answer here once he came out of his echo chamber online.

I thought it was ironic that he was married to a foreigner and that his children are "half irish". I never paid much attention to him but allegedly that was one of his things.

Blighe the anti-immigration immigrant. That's twice now he's been on the move, but one rule for him……

At the end of the day these gouger a don’t see a problem with their emigration because they are white English speaking. It just knocks down their argument to ugly racism. If he had such a problem with emigrants taking jobs then he wouldn’t be going to other countries taking their jobs. But it’s not about employment or services or any of those things. They want to limit the movement of brown & black people while doing what his privileged white ass feels like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,268 ✭✭✭enricoh

He's a bricky, an in demand skill in most countries and he will be of use to Canada.

83% of roma gypsies here are unemployed according to pavee point. Hopefully freeing up his house will get another one of these assets to our country their forever home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Clear herd test, great relief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭148multi

Would like to know how many got to stay after visiting Ireland and then having a child here. Am not against immigrants but there's one thing that never seems to be mentioned, UK convicted paedophiles moved here, known to the garda and not a peep out of anyone. One man put in a housing estate full of familys, when there was uproar he was moved to a house beside a national school with only a chainlink fence between the two.

Post edited by 148multi on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭kk.man

I experience this. Years ago I went on a lads holiday to Greece and they were two far right English fellas staying in our complex. After a few days we decided to sus them out. They were 6 of us so numerical we were grand. We got chatting in the bar one night and we in a roundabout way asked them about their beliefs. It was all relatively new in the early 2000s. They hated coloured people and the usual, taking our jobs, social welfare etc. All complete bull. At the end of the night we asked them about their feelings towards the Irish. Apparently we were a great race, we were white and willing to work. Every now and again I look back and laugh at the encounter with their full body tattoos and their reasoning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,994 ✭✭✭Odelay

You can smoke indoors in prison. Dont ask me how I know..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,671 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

It's mad in the hospital seeing healthcare workers taking patients out every hour for their cigarette. Must be some affliction to be addicted to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭148multi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Farmer2024

Was up in my local town of Carrickmacross tonight, the usual few woke oddballs in here posting day and night would have been clutching their pearls extra hard if they were there.

Over one thousand on the streets of a relatively small town protesting over the dumping ground the town has become. Real great atmosphere, lots of families, women, kids, local farmers, lads working in the local marts, contractors, etc in attendance. Such a great and happy atmosphere, like people were waking up and not afraid to call out the crap for what it is. Local Sinn Fein TD and councillors forced into hosting a meeting in the town next Tuesday after years of attacking anybody concerned about the state of the town and millions being made from the "refugee" racket, it will be good craic I'd say!

Post edited by Farmer2024 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

@Farmer2024 was the local millionaire out of the hole thing Banty in attendance. He and his family have made some money out of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Farmer2024

Of course not, they are a true disgrace for what they have done. When I was learning Irish history as a child I never understood how individuals could sell out their own people so easily, unfortunately it's very easy to understand these days!