Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kneecap - New Footage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Musicrules

Mod edit:

@Musicrules

Post deleted and I will advise you to tread very carefully, you are very close to a warning.

Post edited by Irish Aris on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

So I guess that the Equality and Human Rights Commission were "bought and paid for" when they found that there was a culture of Anti-Semitic discrimination and harassment in the Labour party under Jezza? Which the leadership knew about and did nothing to address.

https://www.equalityhumanrights.com/media-centre/news/investigation-antisemitism-labour-party-finds-unlawful-acts-discrimination-and

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,345 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

The trick this year would be not to burn the effigies- then it would be news 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,322 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

There was never any particular evidence that Corbyn was a racist or was operating mostly for reasons of anti-Semitism. Yes, he was very left wing and quite radical in some of his views but this would be a not untypical viewpoint among left wing pro-Palestinian statehood types. There was an undoubted coordinated smear campaign by the British right wing press to blacken his name - hugely successful too, many on the right in Britain even now have an image of Corbyn as a hateful bigot, an extremist, a full blown anti-Semite etc (whilst scarcely even raising an eyebrow at Starmer and his cabinet's links to Israel).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭forumdedum

possibly entitled but foolish. Don’t alienate your market. Anyway, I know practically nothing about them. Seem like a few gobshites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I don't think we should turn a blind eye to the "kill your mp" remarks regardless of who says them.

I don't think the lads get a pass on that just because they (rightfully) oppose Israels genocidal actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,976 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

No we should not turn a blind eye to the remarks, it is much more preferable than to make that the story about Israels genocide and how Israel and their supporters shut down any group or person highlighting it.

What do you think should be done to Kneecap for their remarks in 2023?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,027 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Tayto - you hit the nail on the head but unfortunately @taratee has a habit of dropping a single random comment / post into a thread and disappearing - refuses to engage in any thoughtful discussion.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,027 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

@volchitsa Im not going to quote your whole post .

Being able to finish off the job or not isn't the definition of genocide though: the Hutus were never going to be able to genocide all the Tutsis using machetes, but it's still genocide - because it is the "intention" that counts. And as you say, they have been open about their intentions.

Moreover, if the Palestinians were really being genocided, it's a bit odd that they're talking about victory.

While Hams / Hezbollah are open about wanting to wipe the Israeli state of the planet - at least they are honest about it all be it useless at achieving it -if intention is the metric then a lot of what some Israeli ministers have said in the last few weeks makes it genocide aswell.

Now Israel on the other hand are saying they definitely arent committing genocide as they are the supposed "good guys" in the region, the only democratic state in the region yet its as plain as the nose on your face that they are committing genocide - an opinion that is backed up by a lot of Humanitarian agencies.

Im not sure who is the worse offender here - a crap so called terrorist group who are open about it but couldnt fight their way out of a paper bag or a democratically heavily armed country that are saying they arent committing genocide while killing thousands of kids , women, denying food and medical aid , displacing civilians etc etc - yep definitely a hard one to call.

While Kneecap have been stupid about calling for the deaths of MPs , I do support them in calling out Israel on its atrocities.

Part of their stage show is the ridiculous "ooh ah up the Ra" sometimes changed to "ooh ah up Hamas" - its an act to make them look "cool" and is a stage show for a certain cohort of people.My two daughters are going to see them in Fairview park in a few weeks - 17 and 18 not even born when the GFA was signed yet for some stupid reason they seem to like Kneecap and their "anti-Britisg" and "anti-Israel" stage show. I do wonder what their attraction is to these type of acts.

As I said earlier - I listened to a lot worse growing up - probably stuff that the woke crowd would want banned nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,195 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

There has been plenty of press about effigies of Irish politicians being burned on 11th night bonfires over the last few years, the reporting of it at this stage is a annual occurrence.

Plus that sort of behavior is not surprising from northern loyalists and unionists.

But as with a lot of the whataboutery on this thread, and this thread is full of whataboutery, the Kneecap case is different.

Plenty of people for years have been at pains to explain that supporting the Palestinian cause or the Palestinian people was not the same as supporting the Palestinian terrorists.

But what Kneecap did was come out and say they supported the Palestinian terrorists in front of a live audience.

And people didn't expect that to be the case, people thought they were like everyone else just supporting the Palestinian people.

That's why it's big news.

Well that and their straight up telling people to kill Tory MPs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I don't think anything should be "done" to Kneecap, but unfortunately for them I'm a nobody.

I've no clue how saying "kill your mp" is anyway related to standing up for palestine or what it has to do with genocide etc, and their/your stance makes no sense either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭itsacoolday

I do not think anyone could listen to worse growing up. Apart from the fact they are musically talentless, they are openly racist, ageist and incite others to violence. Not surprising as they dress up as provos and name themselves after a provo torture / disfigurement method. used to intimidate and maim. They said " We still have old men in London making decisions that affect my life in Ireland.“And even worse, they're f***ing Tories. The only good Tory is a dead Tory. Kill your local MP.”

A bad image for Ireland and not a great image to be associated with the Irish language either, or indeed Irish Republicanism or Irish unity, because the mask slipped and we saw how inclusive they are. Not only do they hate Tories, we know they also hate the English, old men, protestants, unionists, people who they do not agree with etc. I suppose the same people who their heroes ( if they were not their heroes would they wear a balaclava, call themselves Kneecap etc) the provos attacked and killed also. They do not seem too bright, no wonder they are never interviewed by the media. If they wanted the Irish language to be more inclusive, and if they wanted to foster decent community relations, they would not dress up as provos, call themselves Kneecap and proclaim that every word of Irish is a bullet towards a United Ireland, or words to that effect. Obviously if it was a U.I. there would not be much respect for Tories, English people, old people - people not like themselves.

Footage has also emerged from a concert in November which showed a band member shouting “up Hamas, up Hezbollah” at a performance at the Kentish Town Forum, and a Hezbollah flag being displayed. This has also been referred to the counter terrorism internet referral unit in the UK.

Both Hamas and Hezbollah are banned in the UK and it is a crime to express support for them.

Our taoiseach said Hezbollah was responsible for the killing of Irish peacekeeper Private Seán Rooney in Lebanon and Hamas was responsible for the “appalling killing of innocent people on October 7”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,511 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

not necessarily bought and payed for no (it's possible they were but so far nothing has come to light to show it) however they did base their decisions on the basis of the poor quality evidence brought before them.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭itsacoolday

Cannot understand why some Irish people support Kneecap, when they support Hezbollah and they killed an Irish soldier? They support Hamas and they killed and burnt alive and kidnapped and raped welll over 1000 men women and children at the music festival etc in the October attack? Even killed babies in surrounding houses and put them in ovens in front of their mothers. And Kneecap said they support Hamas?

As far as I can tell (and I’m no kneecap expert)- they have a history of using well known phrases from the past such as “Brits Out” at their concerts- it’s like a retro visit into the world of the “troubles”.

They have been complained about by politicians in the North previously and one person associated with the band lost their job as a teacher for doing a “ Brits out” stunt.

I’m was happy to take the “up Hezbollah” comments in the same way- ie just some sort of retro vibe to get themselves noticed - however, given their very defensive press statement followed by a complete train wreck of an interview with the manager on RTEs prime time, which didn’t give us any clear insight as to what exactly any “context” or indeed “art” was for these comments.

my own view at this stage is, people will think what they want and rightfully so, simply because the band are incapable of explaining themselves. If they get prosecuted, particularly as a result of investigation by the UK terrorist police, it’s frankly, their own stupid fault.

One of the band members shouting a two word slogan 'Up Hamas' between songs at a gig a year ago (something that wasn't even reported anywhere at the time) can hardly be said to be definitive proof as to whether they support them or not. It's not the same thing as if they expressed support for the organisation in a lengthy tweet or in an interview with a national newspaper.

It's noticeable too that no other video footage of them purportedly supporting Hamas has surfaced in the last fortnight - and they presumably have performed many gigs in the last two years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,982 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

What stuff did you listen to when you were younger that people want banned nowadays?

They’re now on a world stage - what might have been seen as “the craic” is being viewed in a completely different light by an international audience. The killing Tory statement also needs clarification - I think that’s the one that might get them from a UK perspective in that there’s likely a stronger “will” to prosecute that.
    But I agree with you- I don’t believe they’re “supporting” a terrorist organisation - but I wouldn’t blame some American government organisation for thinking they do

Shouting 'Up Hamas, Up Hezbollah' at a gig was a stupid thing to do - but they are a punk rock / rap group catering to a similar type audience and are out to be controversial and provocative. Saying though that this definitively proves they are supporters of Hamas is a huge leap to make.

I can remember Morrissey making some very provocative statements about Margaret Thatcher and the Queen in the past. I recall him saying of one of his media critics: "I hope he dies in a pile up on the M1", but he was never cancelled or removed from Glastonbury or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,666 ✭✭✭volchitsa

it’s like a retro visit into the world of the “troubles”.

How would one tell the difference between the above, and people who want to drag us back there? I'd say the difference is that the former includes editorialising the events of the time. Good examples would be the various guided tours of the Peace Wall in Belfast, or the Martin McCrossan tours of Derry. I've taken foreign visitors on both of those, a few times.

I can tell you that there's plenty of retro there, but absolutely no chanting of "Up the RA" or "Kill a Tory MP" - never mind "Up Hamas".

This is something different: three men who are nostalgic for the days when it was quite acceptable in Northern Ireland to express support for violent thugs, as long as they were our violent thugs.

In fact it would have been risky to express any disagreement with that notion.

And to @Hellrazer who said he heard worse growing up: well so did I. That's why I never want us to go back to those times. And I'm very aware that some people do. Especially those who never lived through it. Out of curiosity, did you grow up in Northern Ireland?

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

That’s the nub of the issue isn’t it? Other artists would have some name for it like post-troubles retro irony or some rubbish like that- kneecap clearly never thought this through and in my view, are just doing it for likes and ticket sales - I don’t think they’re a “national threat” but it’s their responsibility if they’re classed as one by the UK or any other government

Even killed babies in surrounding houses and put them in ovens in front of their mothers. And Kneecap said they support Hamas?

Please back that up with evidence - because there is ZERO evidence of that happening other than hearsay from Israelis - same as the beheaded babies that never happened either.

So evidence or retract the statement.

Some extreme death metal, old school rap etc. Satanist metal etc.

And to @Hellrazer who said he heard worse growing up: well so did I. That's why I never want us to go back to those times. And I'm very aware that some people do. 

Especially 

those who never lived through it. Out of curiosity, did you grow up in Northern Ireland?

I agree with you - I grew up in inner city Dublin where the anti-british sentiment was quite high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

Cancel culture from the right. Who would have thought.

The right are turning into the left.

Freedom of speech and anti cancel culture? Not anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Im trying to keep up can you clarify if possible.

The left want MPs killed and support Middle East terror groups ?

Its such a changing landscape

thanks

Right. But you didn't grow up in an area where not only could the police not set foot without being accompanied by the army, but also where paramilitaries decided what the law said and who would be punished for breaking it. And most of those paramilitaries were just thugs themselves. Guys who would have been petty criminals and drug dealers in a "normal" society like inner-city Dublin, but who in Northern Ireland were able to portray themselves as Robin Hood hero types. With a very few exceptions, most of them really weren't.

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,982 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

I listened to a lot of that when I was younger. Who wants what banned exactly?

So no children were murdered by Hamas then? Really?

Because that is just not true.

Videos from Hamas themselves have been shown to various groups including UK and US journalists that show that they deliberately killed children just because they were Jewish.

It's perfectly fair to say that Israel over-reacted to these killings - but in that case you'd need to suggest a better, more reasonable response to Hamas' attack on civilians in Israel (not in the occupied territories nor in Gaza) that would ensure that Israeli civilians would be safe from the future attacks promised by Hamas. Nobody ever seems able or willing to propose anything stronger than some version of "Israel should just suck it up and accept regular rocket attacks against their schools and towns and the occasional deadly incursion by Hamas militia".

But even assuming Israel's military response was morally wrong and unnecessary, Hamas' attack on Israeli families in Oct 2023 was nevertheless nothing less than a crime against humanity, and quite possibly attempted genocide. Israel's response to that has been deadly, I agree. But tell me what they should have done instead, and I'll be happy to condemn them for having chosen war instead of your more effective suggestion.

(I've been asking this for 18 months and I've not heard anything yet other than what people think Israel shouldn't have done - which is not the same thing at all. So I don't expect you will either. Still, I live in hope.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,280 ✭✭✭seanin4711

so kneecap are this weeks cancellation attempt