Upfront with Katie Hannon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭Deeec

Not engaging with your nonsense anymore. How dare you call me a liar - i hope you never have to face the problems my sister in law faces every day with her profoundly autistic son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,179 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

i will probably be criticised for this but to give my 2 cents on Adam Harris and autism.

over the years A good few people have said to me “that Adam Harris guy seems very much a high functioning adult, in all respects”. I would have to agree, he is well able to present himself well and his position clearly. He has set up a successful NGO and sits on corporate boards etc.

regardless of who his brother is, By any standard AH is doing well in life and he comes across as a pleasant, reasonable man, fair play to him.

I would know and have worked with many so called “ordinary” ppl who would be far, far less articulate or “well adjusted” for want of a phrase than Adam Harris - maybe they have an undiagnosed issue? I don’t know.

All I can say is AH -thankfully for him - seems to be on the most capable and high functioning section of autism, certainly there are many ppl on the spectrum who have much more severe issues than him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Well said. Whilst clearly a very serious issue for some, I have no doubt (and indeed am aware of) some people will abuse the system for personal gain. People who dismiss this reality are either (a) naive, (b) ignorant, or (c) complicit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,799 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

you havent a fcuking clue about autism, but your ignorance's are extremely common in the country, including within our health system, ive met many on the spectrum that have been deeply traumatised by their interactions with our health system, and the serious lack of effective supports for the disorder!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,182 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

When my son was six weeks old, we were at a family wedding, there was an organ in the church. As soon as he heard it, he had a freak out. He’s had loads since, flying on a plain when he was two, I had to very carefully manage him. Going through the air ports – melt downs both ways. While on holidays, out of routine, several melt downs.

Any small change could really upset him. We applied through the HSE to have him accessed when he was seven, it took 5 years for the HSE to get up off their arse and access him. He has what used to be called Aspergers and is now ASD. We got the official report this March.

To look at him you wouldn’t know, he plays sports (but we’ve had to push him to do this) he as friends, but you have to make sure he goes out when they call. He often comes in annoyed or upset at something trivial that happened.

If a small thing goes wrong, he gets very upset, like doing the wrong page in homework. Change has to be very carefully managed.

Then there is the sensory overload, loud places like fun fairs or kid's discos, are a hard no. He just about manages busy shops. Going into the city center, I’ve to constantly check in that he’s ok.

He comes home for school exhausted most days too, he has to work much harder than all his classmates.

It’s much more than an over sensitive or molly coddled child.

As of support, his school have been great but not much else. Carers allowance you must be joking - that won't pay the bills. There is a cares allowance worth about 360 a month that is near impossible to get. And a tax credit of about 3900 a year that is apparently easier to qualify for. If he qualifies, we'll it to fund his education so that he can go to a more ASD friendly school.

Reading some of the comments here, pure ignorance and the worst kind of jealous curtain twitchers.

As for having a clue about autism, I don’t have much of one. I know him and very little else. I’m learning what I can. All advice freely accepted but I might ignore most of it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Not nice having your credibility questioned, is it?

Think about that next time you ignorantly question someone else's diagnosis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭mykrodot

maybe just tone down your anger a bit, it makes for pretty unpleasant reading.

I say this as someone who has 2 Aspergers family members.

No, I'm ok, thanks.

That poster would look at your family members and say their diagnoses were fake, so I don't know why you're defending them.

That poster's disgusting attitude to people with autism shouldn't be tolerated anywhere. I'm not going to 'tone down' anything because it makes you uncomfortable.

It's scummy behaviour and I find it baffling that you have a problem with me rather than her.

Where did I "defend them"?

No matter what your argument is or which side you're on, your style of posting comes across as very aggressive.

I couldn't care if you think my posts are aggressive. These are people who are pointing the finger of blame at parents and children for 'clogging up the system for real cases'. These people wouldn't know a real case of autism if it slapped them in the face but they're going to pretend to be qualified to talk about what autism is. If someone is going to suggest that parents are paying thousands of euro and putting themselves through shitloads of extra expenses to 'game' the system, then I will treat them with the contempt they have for parents and for children with disabilities.

You're taking issue with how I am responding to someone saying parents are gaming the system, as opposed to the poster who would say your family members aren't 'real' autistic.

That is quite the bizarre hill you're dying on.

But fine, let's 'tone it down' and establish the facts.

Autism Identification Assessment: €2,300
    Cognitive Assessment: €800
    ADHD Assessment: €1,200
    Occupational Therapy Assessment: €700
    Speech and Language Therapy Assessment: €700

That's €5,700 euro just to be assessed. You'll have the usual suspects here who will saying 'it's a money racket' while completely missing the point that desparate parents are paying for these because the public system is so vastly under-resourced because the government of the day failed to do anything about it. This was well flagged in advance.

Now, let's move on to therapy interventions. Again, parents are forced to go private because the public system is just non-existent.

OT Intervention: €100
    SLT Intervention: €100
    Physiotherapy: €80
    Play therapy: €60

Imagine that's one session per week. €5,200 additional cost.

Parents also have to fork out for therapy equipment so their children can manage at home. Examples include:

Peanut ball: €30
    Trampoline: €60
    Body socks: €25
    Bean bag: €200
    Visuals: €20
    Black out tent: €60
    Ear defenders: €22
    Chewies: €16
    Buggies: €300

And that's before anyone might have to adapt their house for a sensory room. This could be for children who are able to walk and talk and are high functional, and to an untrained eye, appear neurotypical. The type that Deeec (who loves your posts by the way) will tell you that their diagnosis was fake and there's nothing wrong with a child.

Oh, and lets talk about the extras like:

Paying for after-school support so the parents can work to be able to afford therapies: €166.50
    Certain brand food
    Special sensory clothes
    Books
    Medication
    Transport to school (for those who are lucky to have a school place)
    Some parents even have to give up work

And for what? A couple of hundred quid in DCA and means-tested care allowance?

Anyone who comes out with the nonsense that parents are 'gaming the system' and 'taking up space for the REAL cases' are chatting through their hole, and I will make sure they are told they are chatting through their hole.

Is that 'toned down' enough for you? Should I be really nice to those who tell me what is real and what isn't real autism?

You and Deec talk about family members with autism (and in your case ASD) and yet you both make an assumption that I don't have a lived experience of this myself through my own family.

Words matter. I'll make sure the words you're defending (which you are, otherwise you wouldn't be here arguing a toss about how 'aggressive' my posts are) are put firmly back in their box and locked up where they belong.

I made no assumption about you whatsoever, I never mentioned you in my post at all. In both my posts I said your style of posting is angry and aggressive. End of.

And you having a bigger problem with my response to people showing utter contempt for those with disabilities, rather than the people themselves, says a lot more about you than it does about me.

You are just as bad as them. How dare I react angrily to the utter offensive, ill-informed sh*te on display here.

Who are you to tell me how I should react? You know f*ck all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Nothing to say of any substance or with any evidence, so you’re going to gaslight me instead that I’m the one with the problem.

Par for the course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,182 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

This is really getting under your skin, I had a rant at them too, but if you aren't going to get through to them after one post, then it's best to let it go, and use the ignore feature. I'm not trying to have a go at you; this is meant to be helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭Demonique

They reason they're all labelled as autism and aspergers no longer exists as a diagnosis is because AS was seen as light autism leading to some people not getting supports for aspects of their AS that really affects them.

I was diagnosed with AS as an adult in 2003, I am unable to hokd down a job b/c of my autism.

The reason for the rise in the number of children being diagnosed with autism is because people are being diagnosed earlier instead of being diagnosed as adults, one example of late autism diagnosis is Susan Boyle, she was diagnosed a few years after she was on Britain's Got Talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭Demonique

Almost every autistic person has melt downs from time to time, a lot of high functioning autistic people contain their frustrations until they are in private.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,488 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Mod - It's quite disappointing to see posts here with people measuring each other up over what autism is or isn't, and some haranguing too. Also, clearly, some are unaware Stephen Shore's sentiment, you've met one autistic person, you've met one autistic person. Play the ball, not the man, please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,231 ✭✭✭corkie

Should older people be asked to downsize to free up larger homes for young families?
    Katie Hannon debates the contentious issue with Kieran O'Donnell, Valerie Cox, Dan O'Brien & Eoin Ó Broin & Mary Kennedy tells her downsizing story on #RTÉUpfront at 10.35pm

Promotional Poster!

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it." ~ George Santayana
    "But that's balanced out by the fact that it's a mandate not to do very much." ~ Prof. Eoin O'Malley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,175 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,231 ✭✭✭corkie

That is why I post a link, instead of forcing people to load the image embed in the thread, when they might not need or want to see the photos!

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it." ~ George Santayana
    "But that's balanced out by the fact that it's a mandate not to do very much." ~ Prof. Eoin O'Malley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,849 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Will Mary Kennedy drop Wiltshire Farm Foods ready meals into the conversation when discussing downsizing? 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,175 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Mini Mattie 🤣🤣.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,731 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

The idea sounds like it will create a bigger problem than it will solve, there won't be the builders to renovate the houses for the younger people to move in to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,849 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Major ####!

And the audience applauding his birthday today. SMH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭purifol0

What a loud of waffle from the member of govt. "Older people have a right to choose [to sell up and move into a smaller gaff because it would really help us out, cheers]".

Eoin O Broin has some numbers, he's right it what he says, but he's with SF so he can't advocate for shrinking the welfare state. More "free" housing it is. *Sigh*

Dan O' Brien also talking sense, says that even if older folks were financially incentivized to move, it wouldn't make a dent in the no.s

Quite cheeky of Katie to hit Eoin with "the electorate rejected you", however he was quick on the retort by pointing out that the govt. lied about the completed build numbers during the election campaign. Again he's absolutely right, but the govt. arent going to admit that and swap seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,731 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

O’Donnell has all the off pat get out phrases:

‘I was misunderstood’

‘I can’t comment until tomorrow’

I’m not in cabinet’

‘We didn’t lie about housing numbers’

Waffler supreme

Holy Sh1t she actually asked Dan O Brien about work permits - Immigration discussion on RTE???

Govt stooge says he has reservations about limiting immigration - aka no restrictions on work permits.

Folks the Indian student visa/"IT worker" permits is absolutely nuts.