Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2025 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,020 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

No complaints Meath deserved winners more 2 pointers. Well done @Sonny678

Meath fans jubilant and in shock

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭munster87

Could be something to playing games in neutral venues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭hugeorange

Leinster championship needed that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,429 ✭✭✭✭km79

Dubs and Tyrone 3rd seeds
    The draw is on mid week

We might have a stupid situation again where teams know it’s better to lose a provincial final depending on the draw they get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,168 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Brian -Enton ruled midfield today

Conlon, Costello, Caulfield and Keoghan all had great games too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,670 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Musicrules

🤣 But having home advantage for every single game is not an advantage we were told? Also, it was nothing to do with all the extra funding Dublin were getting yet a few years after Meath and Louth received extra funding, they're in a Leinster final together.

Getting a post-Fergie United vibe off Dublin, don't seem to be producing the same talent as before either.

Meath and Kildare ahead of them in underage at the moment alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,209 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Neither Meath or Louth are going to throw away a Leinster championship title. Ot about the best they can hope for.cannot see any of the rest of the provincial title contenders throwing a game either.... except Jim Mcguinnes being the control freak he is.

Any team fancing there chance of winning Sam will take there chances with either Dublin or Tyrone at home. In the first round

Slava Ukrainii

Should be a better turnout for Louth v Meath than the 23,000 Dubin v Louth last year. 2010 was 60,000 and this will be only the fourth ever meeting of Louth Meath in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭GHendrix

When Dublin were winning, most Dublin fans understood that it was just a very special group of players that we had in that period. Most of them are gone now though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Poorest dublin team and performance for at least 15 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,658 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Fair play to Meath. Dublin were extremely sloppy from last 10 minutes I saw but it's good for the game

If my mother tongue is shaking the foundations of your state, it probably means you built your state on my land.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭gaffer91

Exactly. Play this game with Dublin at home in Croke Park and they win. With a terrible atmosphere as well.

Take Dublin out to away or neutral venues and they lose a few points, which is crucial in close games. We saw it vs Mayo last year and now again vs Meath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭hugeorange

Also the notion that Croke Park is somehow a neutral venue for Dublin very much challenged by this.

Yeah, Dublin win that game today in Croke Park in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,945 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Put on the RTE Six One News to see in the sporting headlines that Meath have beaten Dublin. That's a huge shock. Imagine the odds on that. So that's what it takes, remove Dublin from their home ground, Croke Park. 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭GHendrix

lads, the venue doesn’t matter. I’m fairly sure it’s the huge drop in quality that makes the difference. Dublin are just not a brilliant side anymore. Definitely not adapted well to the new rules either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,429 ✭✭✭✭km79

Checks Mayos odds against Galway :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭flasher0030

I don't know. I can see how it could apply in Connacht. Galway have won the last 3 Connacht championships. I don't think Padraig Joyce would specifically instruct his team to lose the game, but I could see how his heart might not be in winning Connacht, if the prize is to have Dublin in the same group for the qualifier groups. It appears that Dublin will now be 3rd group seeds. Meaning could have maybe Armagh or Donegal as 2nd seeds. That would be a group of death - provential winner (e.g. Galway, Armagh, Dublin, A Another seeded 4th). Alternatively, a provential loser (e.g. Mayo could be in a group with Meath, Clare, A Another seeded 4th). I know which I would prefer.

Apologies if my understanding there is incorrect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

The squashed schedule really is proving to be a promotion disaster for the GAA, too many games on at the same time means people missing out on matches they normally would have been able to see.

Meath beating Dublin today probably watched by a fraction of the audience it normally would have been because the hurling was on RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Well done Meath and this is coming from a Cork person as well.😁 Gaelic Football needs Meath back dining out at the top table again.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

Nothing to do with anything on TV. Dublin people have just stopped going. Last year the 2 semi finals were a double header in Croke Park. Just 22,000 turned up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

Never felt Farrell was a man with an eye for detail. A few brilliant men got him over the line for his titles but there's not enough of them around to carry him anymore. Doubt we'll be a factor until he leaves.

That said, great day for Leinster football.

Nothing to do with the venue. Just a Dublin team who have fallen off a cliff in terms of quality available and mix that with the players playing today having a nightmare Meath were simply the right team in the right place. Twice in the second half dublin fisted the ball over the bar rather than going for goal. Also they were turned over multiple times while not under pressure.

Dessie and the lads need to forget about the "process". That was fine when the game was like a chess match. Its not anymore and a lot of those dublin lads are too robotic.

Yeah I was just thinking that for all the work Ciaran Kilkenny puts in, and he had a good shift again today, his style is still suited to the old rules.

Methodical build up, lateral handpassing, not moving it on quickly.

The runners off the shoulder were too slow or non existent. Handling errors then were laughable.

This Meath team or Louth team will win Leinster but your more likely guaranteed that Leinster football is seriiusly poor. None of them would trouble Armagh, Donegal, Galway, Kerry or Mayo.

The lack of balls to take on two pointers when the oppirtunity was viable was also telling. They were waiting until near the end for hail marys. CON and Small have to take on goal chances rather than fist points when they are 6 or 7 behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭blowitupref

No disrespect to Dublin have won enough already but great result for Meath and Leinster football. Louth v Meath final should be spicy given what happened in 2010. The Meath win has pushed Derry down to a 4th seed.

1st seeds -   Kerry/Clare   Galway/Mayo   Donegal/Armagh   Louth/Meath

2nd seeds -  Clare,Kerry     Galway/Mayo   Donegal/Armagh  Louth/Meath

3rd seeds -   Dublin,Tyrone,Monaghan,Roscommon

4th seeds -  Derry,Down,Cork,Cavan