Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people drive unnecessarily large cars?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,432 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Well, yes, of course I do in that there are certain regulations about the physical mass of private cars and all sorts of regulations about noise and air pollution they create, and how they operate. Restrictions are already there, I think they should be tightened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Yvonne007

Well I think they shouldn't so I cancel out your vote on that one.

I think the cars as they stand are pretty much ok and I don't think that I should have a right to tell you what you should be able to buy or not buy once your purchase is compliant to the laws we have at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭creedp

So the Govt has been partly responsible for the proliferation of the likes of the Ranger Raptor on Irish roads. Btw what's the story with the quoted childish shite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

I said most people don't. If you have 5 kids you might need a large car. I see people with 2 large cars and 1 kid.

It's not us that see the impact,it's the poor bastards in the 2nd/3rd world who have to live with the impact. Can you imagine if we had to open cast mine our countryside, destroying air, water, soil to provide minerals for SUVs for people in Africa for example.

We are taking from the poor and from nature and are wilfully ignorant. It's a crazed culture of consumerism and greed.

No matter which way you cut it, people do not have the right to consume way more than others.

But, It's got so crazy, it's become like a religion, the religion of consumerism.

And I'm not going to edit this on my phone or second guess myself. Or question my morals. I know it's wrong deep down and I know I'm part of the problem.

I am just amazed that people continue on as normal as the problem seems to be getting worse, not better. I.e. More and more and larger cars.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,432 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

it's not an election so there's no cancelling out as such!

but here's the thing - i have my opinion, and you have yours. it's my opinion which is purely aspirational at the moment, so if you did regard it as a vote, you've won already! you get your way, and i'm not getting mine. such is life…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Ezeoul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,379 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 EmergencyExit

Neighbour bought his wife one of those Hyundai yokes 4x4 absolutely massive car only 3 weeks ago and she's already had two bumps with it one taking their driveway pillar out. I mean it's a free country do as you please but they've one kid and a dog im sure a car half the size would be more than suitable for them as he drives his own car. Agree with others though they should tax cars on their weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,762 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

No, let's not ready any reports to actually understand the issue, let's just rely on personal bias instead.

It doesn't matter how Lidl and Aldi increase their revenue. If they don't charge more to people taking up more space, those who have smaller cars those with larger cars. It's just maths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭scwazrh

The jealousy in this thread is unbelievable.Just because some can’t afford a large vehicle doesn’t mean the rest shouldn’t have one .People should be more concerned about drivers abilities than what vehicles people drive. Plenty of commercial drivers in large vehicles who have never been involved in an accident having to share the roads with drivers who can’t park a fiesta in a super valu car park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭mulbot

Yep, a very Irish trait, along with the "I'm not doing that, so you shouldn't be doing that either" attitude. And I'm not even a fan of those SUVs, but I'm not bothered at all what someone drives.

typical irish response; 'if you're against something it must be jealousy'. i guess it's handy way to avoid the debate while saying more about yourself than you are about those you're debating with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,900 ✭✭✭?Cee?view

It’s not selfish. It’s inconsequential. It makes no real difference to anyone except the deluded. Most so called Irish SUVs occupy a smaller footprint than Estates of yesteryear. It just wasn’t fashionable to insult Estate drivers.

It’s not just jealousy. Some people could well afford SUVs, but they think they occupy some sort of moral higher ground by driving a small EV (which are disproportionately heavy), and cycling a bike SUV/cargo bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭babyducklings1

Do Irish people drive more SUVs in comparison to other countries, in Europe? Seems these days everyone wants a higher car to have better views, easier to get into ( if passenger or driver has mobility issues - which unfairness is totally understandable) .

Will there ever be a point where all road cars are equal and safe?

Bring the car/ speed enthusiasts to Mondella park or the like and let them do their thing there and not on the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,000 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Just on the Mondello Park suggestion it's fair to point out that not all classic/vintage car enthusiasts are into speed.

Runs on the public road and static shows in fields are more their thing.

SUVs and Mondello are opposite ends of the spectrum. No one who is into high speed or motor racing is likely to be interested in SUVs. Frankly, most people who are into cars (so called petrolheads), wouldn’t have any interest in SUVs.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,565 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

SUVs are largely vile, ugly and take up too much space.

They very much appeal to the selfish, the inconsiderate and those who justify buying these dangerous behemoths because they feel that they "need" them, like everybody else...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭satguy

I think it was eighter Ernest Hemingway or William Shakespeare that wrote wot they wrote in Animal Farm.

"SUV good,, two legs bad"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭babyducklings1

Absolutely agree but what I really meant are the speed enthusiasts, not the people who love cars and are on a vintage run. Send those ones who want to drive fast to racing tracks and keep the roads safer for ordinary users. Maybe Ireland should have a Grand Prix and let all those lads off to see how well they’d do. I don’t know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,954 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Good YouTube film on the subject.

https://youtu.be/jN7mSXMruEo?si=gXS5x8uq_XL3BISu

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭BP_RS3813

Typical Irish defenses here. People are either jealous and/or too nosy when objecting to something. Stop being a selfish cnut and think about others when purchasing a vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭mulbot

The average age of a car in Ireland is less than the European average. Which (all other things being equal) might suggest a trend towards more SUVs here, as the car industry pushing SUVs is a relatively recent thing

From this map, only Denmark and Luxembourg have younger fleets, I think.

https://www.acea.auto/figure/average-age-of-eu-vehicle-fleet-by-country/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,441 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

II don't particularly have opinions about the people who buy those SUVs, i think they're ugly though.

My only issue with them is that the engine block happens to be right around where my head is in my small car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭forumdedum

I just push a toy dinky car around my living room floor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,616 ✭✭✭timmyntc

The real problem is that people are choosing bigger cars for better visibility, but that creates a vicious feedback loop.

Buy taller cars to see above rest of cars in road → height of national fleet increases -> visibility gets worse as all cars are equally tall → buy taller cars

i drive a (soon to be retired) octavia and now regularly find myself in traffic where my eyeline is level with the door handle on the SUV beside me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,379 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

It's an "SUV arms race" in many parts of South Dublin, one road starts off with a bigger car and the rest soon follow because "we don't want to drive a small car that would come off worse in a collision.." crazy logic…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭BP_RS3813

Exactly, its a vicious feedback loop and no one within the loop realises that at this rate, vehicles will be the full width size of roads. NCAP safety rating doesn't matter if your car is so heavy and big that they instantly crush pedestrians which cannot be seen.

Small Toyota Auris.