A girl I work with lives in Blanchardstown, she drives daily to Summerhill in her car. Why t f?
What’s wrong with a modest hatch back?
She’s unmarried and no kids. What the f does she need it for?
Do you own a vehicle, if so what is it?
Typical Irish defenses here. People are either jealous and/or too nosy when objecting to something. Stop being a selfish cnut and think about others when purchasing a vehicle.
Good YouTube film on the subject.
https://youtu.be/jN7mSXMruEo?si=gXS5x8uq_XL3BISu
Absolutely agree but what I really meant are the speed enthusiasts, not the people who love cars and are on a vintage run. Send those ones who want to drive fast to racing tracks and keep the roads safer for ordinary users. Maybe Ireland should have a Grand Prix and let all those lads off to see how well they’d do. I don’t know.
I think it was eighter Ernest Hemingway or William Shakespeare that wrote wot they wrote in Animal Farm.
"SUV good,, two legs bad"
SUVs are largely vile, ugly and take up too much space.
They very much appeal to the selfish, the inconsiderate and those who justify buying these dangerous behemoths because they feel that they "need" them, like everybody else...
SUVs and Mondello are opposite ends of the spectrum. No one who is into high speed or motor racing is likely to be interested in SUVs. Frankly, most people who are into cars (so called petrolheads), wouldn’t have any interest in SUVs.
Just on the Mondello Park suggestion it's fair to point out that not all classic/vintage car enthusiasts are into speed.
Runs on the public road and static shows in fields are more their thing.
Do Irish people drive more SUVs in comparison to other countries, in Europe? Seems these days everyone wants a higher car to have better views, easier to get into ( if passenger or driver has mobility issues - which unfairness is totally understandable) .
Will there ever be a point where all road cars are equal and safe?
Bring the car/ speed enthusiasts to Mondella park or the like and let them do their thing there and not on the roads.
It’s not just jealousy. Some people could well afford SUVs, but they think they occupy some sort of moral higher ground by driving a small EV (which are disproportionately heavy), and cycling a bike SUV/cargo bike.
It’s not selfish. It’s inconsequential. It makes no real difference to anyone except the deluded. Most so called Irish SUVs occupy a smaller footprint than Estates of yesteryear. It just wasn’t fashionable to insult Estate drivers.
typical irish response; 'if you're against something it must be jealousy'. i guess it's handy way to avoid the debate while saying more about yourself than you are about those you're debating with.
Yep, a very Irish trait, along with the "I'm not doing that, so you shouldn't be doing that either" attitude. And I'm not even a fan of those SUVs, but I'm not bothered at all what someone drives.
The jealousy in this thread is unbelievable.Just because some can’t afford a large vehicle doesn’t mean the rest shouldn’t have one .People should be more concerned about drivers abilities than what vehicles people drive. Plenty of commercial drivers in large vehicles who have never been involved in an accident having to share the roads with drivers who can’t park a fiesta in a super valu car park.
No, let's not ready any reports to actually understand the issue, let's just rely on personal bias instead.
It doesn't matter how Lidl and Aldi increase their revenue. If they don't charge more to people taking up more space, those who have smaller cars those with larger cars. It's just maths.
Neighbour bought his wife one of those Hyundai yokes 4x4 absolutely massive car only 3 weeks ago and she's already had two bumps with it one taking their driveway pillar out. I mean it's a free country do as you please but they've one kid and a dog im sure a car half the size would be more than suitable for them as he drives his own car. Agree with others though they should tax cars on their weight.
Why?
TL:DR
it's not an election so there's no cancelling out as such!
but here's the thing - i have my opinion, and you have yours. it's my opinion which is purely aspirational at the moment, so if you did regard it as a vote, you've won already! you get your way, and i'm not getting mine. such is life…
I said most people don't. If you have 5 kids you might need a large car. I see people with 2 large cars and 1 kid.
It's not us that see the impact,it's the poor bastards in the 2nd/3rd world who have to live with the impact. Can you imagine if we had to open cast mine our countryside, destroying air, water, soil to provide minerals for SUVs for people in Africa for example.
We are taking from the poor and from nature and are wilfully ignorant. It's a crazed culture of consumerism and greed.
No matter which way you cut it, people do not have the right to consume way more than others.
But, It's got so crazy, it's become like a religion, the religion of consumerism.
And I'm not going to edit this on my phone or second guess myself. Or question my morals. I know it's wrong deep down and I know I'm part of the problem.
I am just amazed that people continue on as normal as the problem seems to be getting worse, not better. I.e. More and more and larger cars.
So the Govt has been partly responsible for the proliferation of the likes of the Ranger Raptor on Irish roads. Btw what's the story with the quoted childish shite
Well I think they shouldn't so I cancel out your vote on that one.
I think the cars as they stand are pretty much ok and I don't think that I should have a right to tell you what you should be able to buy or not buy once your purchase is compliant to the laws we have at the moment.
Well, yes, of course I do in that there are certain regulations about the physical mass of private cars and all sorts of regulations about noise and air pollution they create, and how they operate. Restrictions are already there, I think they should be tightened.
Sometimes I'm driving something small other times a bigger vehicle.
The bigger spaces make the car park a more pleasant experience all round and safer for pedestrians.
They also have family spaces, disabled spaces ev charging spaces and a bicycle rack that I don't use.
The whole space is well designed to work for all users.
Why would the marginal cost on my trolley 🛒 of groceries bother me ?
And what if that single male regularly transports friends or family members when not working?
My point stands.
You are making assumptions about the reasons why people might choose to buy the cars they do.
And quite frankly, I see it as nobody else's business.
I wasn't doing a direct one on one comparison. I just think any cent spent on rarely used cycle lanes is a waste. I have no interest in reading your UK based report though. Especially one that claims to be preserving the planet.
I'm sure that if Lidl and Aldi are making bigger car spaces it will have been looked at from a properly economic standpoint and they expect it to increase families to shop there which will subsidise any cost that arises.
And I don't use facebook.
That's greedy and selfish. You could drive a smaller car, or sell it and get a bike, and save some destruction of the planet, and even use the money you save to give to the poor and starving on the planet.
A 4 door version of this with a roof.
Yes, that's why I sarcastically said I didn't ask it about it's environmental impact.
Tax doesn't pay for Lidl car parking! 😂😂😂
You might want to do some research on cycle lanes in general and return on investment in particular, institutional of parroting Facebook comment myths.