Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Very quiet in here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,064 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

It explains why theres such wild inconsistencies in how people are moderated. Either a rule was broken and a warning correctly recieved or not.

Throwing out that politeness might lead to preferential treatment in appealing the unappealable is utterly bizarre.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,378 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Paterson Jerins

Even when they are wrong?

And what about when a mod is giving the smart arse digs? No warnings or bans when reported. Ive witnessed Non polite/civil posts by mod/admins recently. Rules do not apply to them?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 7,020 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Thank you hometruths, noted, this is a fair point, we will take it into consideration.

One thing I forgot to clarify/remind earlier: we still rely on people reporting things they consider as anecdotes or otherwise breaking rules. Sometimes we may catch such posts by accident, but we don't always read everything posted, especially in the fast moving threads, and it's very easy (and indeed often) to miss things.

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland, The Courettes, Nine Inch Nails, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Nova Twins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,167 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Mods are only fallible imperfect beings like the rest of us.

If you talk to them nicely, the chances are you will be given more credence than if you don't.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 7,020 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

But context is important pjohnson and can naturally result in inconsistencies.

If for example you have been banned for the first time for breaking a rule and you approach a mod to explain your case in a civil manner, it is a bit more likely that a mod would consider reversing the ban. If you are a repeat offender of a particular type of rule breaking, it's maybe less likely to get a reversal. I don't think this is unreasonable.

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland, The Courettes, Nine Inch Nails, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Nova Twins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,598 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

A huge amount of the issues in the conspiracy theories forum were caused by one user who spent close to two decades grandstanding and openly abusing people.

The same behaviour is present in some CA threads, I believe the Conspiracy forum user in question went on another platform and allegedly doxxed a user or users on this site (I'm open to correction here) which lead to their banning along with other issues surrounding their overall behaviour and attitude.

It was a valuable lesson in how it doesn't take much to make a forum an inhospitable place and that taking these types of users to task should likely be something that happens quicker before they destroy the place for everyone else.

Glazers Out!

No that would be the obvious and normal way to do things, but it utterly contradicts the fact they are officially unappealable for no justifiable reason.

Either everyone can appeal equally or no one should. There also should not be a "MIGHT" anywhere near this secret appeal system. You can either appeal or not.

Thats why its shouldn't be secret PM's but rather public in say maybe a "dispute resolution forum" so everyone can see that being civil can work. If some eejit comes in screeching about woke censorship fascism etc. Then they've utterly fúcked their appeal but they shoud have the chance to fùck it.

More transparency should lead to more consistency which should then make everyones life easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,608 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

That is pretty much the definition of backseat modding...

I somewhat get the rule. There's been a pretty common trend of manufacturing stories to provoke outrage, particularly around refugees. It's a lot harder to moderate such stories which will then get cited as evidence over and over.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭hometruths

Thanks, and on the reporting/mods missing posts point I suspect that is a big part of the problem and possibly an unsolvable issue.

I would never, (and I suspect many others are the same), report a post to a mod because it is an anecdote.

The idea of flagging up a post along the lines of "In my workplace the policy is X,Y and Z" for a mod warning is utterly alien to me, and I'd never do it no matter how much I might disagree with the poster.

However I'm equally confident that there are many posters who are very avid reporters of posts, and those reports tend to be entirely based on their view of the poster rather than the harmfulness of the anecdote.

And if it is flagged, and a mod has to decide it is an anecdote, no matter how harmless, that's against the rules so it receives a warning. With no report, that same mod may well have read that same post and thought nothing of it.

I don't think it is a stretch to suggest that some posters actively seek to have other posters sanctioned, and whilst that might be a small number of posters, these posters represent an outsized number of reports.

If that is happening it would go a long way to explain why the modding often appears to be inconsistent or biased.

Other than banning/limiting certain posters from reporting it would seem to be a very difficult problem to solve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Yvonne007

You arent meant to be an arbiter of the truth. You are meant to facilitate conversation in your role as moderator. The many should suffer because of the actions of a few.

That does seem up to sum up the moderation. A conversation about a contentious topic will require people speaking about their experiences. It's a nonsense rule and does nothing except serial spammers discounting valid news reports and reporting people who have actual experiences.

As what was said earlier, there are people derailing threads with impunity and because they aren't technically breaking the rules, they are allowed away with it. While posters who respond to these posters are banned.

I think even anyone with the basic comprehension of how a debate or conversation works would realise that the problem lies with the rules in this case.

Not directed at you personally, because although I disagree with the ban I am still serving, you have previously been fair to me.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,378 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

You're not wrong. What we see a lot as well is posters reporting the other side of the argument repeatedly and ignoring any infractions or wrong doing by 'their team.' Tit for tat reporting is what I refer to it as. Often there can be an offending post that sparked all the issue in the first place left unreported simply because their side posted it. It's petty, it's ridiculous and most of the reports are largely benign comments that are just reported because the other side made the point - but I have to be crystal clear here - Both 'teams' are doing it on a daily basis so it's not just one person or particular viewpoint guilty of this. It's multiple people, from both sides.

It's really not. It is asking a valid question.

In relation to a specific poster's post so reads like backseat... You're free to report and query it with a moderator privately but doing it on thread just sounds like trying to get a rise out of a poster.

It might read like backseat, but in grand scheme of things, I hardly think it warranted such a severe ban. I do understand that a couple of my other warnings were warranted, not all of them were, but I cant dispute them. So I had to suck up a 3 month ban for a very tame response to a very insulting post from a moderator to another poster.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,611 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

@pjohnson will you cop on!

Seriously.

Mod discretion is a thing. Always has been. If you're an arsehole you'll be treated like one. If you take a break from being an arsehole you might get a favourable response from a sympathetic moderator.

There's nothing new about that.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭hometruths

I don't doubt you that it is a both sides thing, which goes back to @Arghus 's point that perhaps the problem is intelligent and reasoned discussion is well nigh impossible these days because everything has become so polarised.

It's not just the most contentious issues like immigration or Trump, it has filtered through to almost everything. In any type of current affairs story a line is drawn early on and both sides stick to it no matter what.

I don't have a good suggestion of how to fix both sides tit for tat reporting, but I'd much rather see the mods try and tackle petty and ridiculous reporting from a minority of posters than banning all posters sharing any and all personal experiences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

From my perspective the angry polarised debate, which is widespread now and becoming prevalent in all walks of life far beyond this site, is a turn-off and makes me avoid certain topics sometimes. But it doesn't affect my view of the site as a whole, it doesn't affect the "vibe" for me. That is down to the tone I feel has started to take over in how the site is being managed by some - how posters are spoken to and about by some. There's a mean-girls judgey, "won't you all just get a life", air of derision that is being used. I read such posts almost daily now and it's the first time I have had negative feelings about the site in general.

I think it's this reason people will continue to get banned. Reacting to such "uncivil" comments like you have just posted.

If others had of said what you said, it would result in a ban and telling you to rethink your posting style.

That attitude absolutely stinks.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,611 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

I'm a moderator and an admin. It is my role to tell people to cop on.

If others had of said what you said, it would result in a ban and telling you to rethink your posting style.

Yes, because that's called backseat modding.

well that clears up everything. Its supposed to be a lottery system.

Thank lord that hasn't infected into other forums/area

I would argue that if you expect civility and respectful dialogue between posters or else be banned, you should lead by example.

I think your last post fell very far from those standards and think that you shouldn't be exempt from your own rules because you have a voluntary "role".

But that is a nice example of what some people have been speaking about.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,467 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

For as long as I have been a member of Boards, mod discretion has been a thing across every forum on the site.(That means it has been there since you became a member also) It's not new and you are making it out to be something that it is not.

It's hardly being an arbiter of truth by having a rule in place that permits people from telling wild fantastical stories that happen to support their side.

Unfortunately yes that means that generic, daily occurances fall foul of the rule too but if you want someone to blame, the posters who decided to make up the wild fantastical stories in the first place are who you should be aiming your ire at, not the mods.

And I remain completely unconvinced that if we suddenly lifted the rule, it wouldn't start to happen immediately again. Because people will use absolutely everything they possibly can in that thread to show the other side is wrong, or even just to get the last word sometimes, I often can't tell the difference.

Thank you. So to answer my question (which I was banned for) Mods are allowed post uncivil comments on a thread which would see others banned, because the rules about uncivility don't apply to you.

If you want to complain about it, you need to pm a mod about their immunity and see if they want to do anything about it.

That's fair and as usual, you made your point without being abusive or condescending, and I appreciate that

In fairness, this absolutely is not what they're saying. Being blunt as an instruction in a moderator capacity is different to a moderator actively engaging in a discussion, same rules apply to them in the latter scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,170 ✭✭✭Damien360

I am not sure that is the correct way to look at it. It is not even on both sides. I have a large number of posters on my banned list, pretty much all from immigration thread, so i dont see and dont flag their posts, i found there was no point as clearly there was no action.

I am sure i am not the only one but you can see in the replied posts the consistent baiting and trolling particularily from "one side" (your words), and the only action I can see mods doing is applying bans to the ones who rose up and replied. I got a week long ban from CA from you for pointing out trolling and it was blindingly obvious but when i looked back, it had and still is merrily done by just a few posters.

I spend my time in the soccer forum which before the new site, was shocking for trolling. That has cleaned up by removing the trolls sonewhere around the changeover. If I am honest, I would be long gone out of here, primarily due to the modding, only for the soccer forum.

I like the idea above of warning for anedotes but leaving them visible as evidence of issue so we all know where the lines are. I would also ask that a post that has been actioned by the mod should not be able to be multi posted (replied) so the issue does not propagate but given the speed of some threads, I dont see how you action that without finding the copies and deleting but then you create issues with posts just disappearing without comment.

Discretion onto whether or not something is a breach is always down to moderator interpretation. Thats why there are disputes and decisions overturned. But each forums charter was usually the set of rules moderators and posters were to follow in that area.

The updated CA charter

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058368026/new-rules-charter-for-the-ca-forum#latest

4) Warnings issued in the Current Affairs forum are no longer subject to the dispute resolution process and moderators/admins will not engage in PM discussion about them either.

Maybe I am reading wrong the part where it says moderators/admins will not engage in PM discussion about them. Thats my mistake clearly.

At least other areas still have valid charters and rules that are clearer to follow thank christ.

Leave a Comment

Rich Text Editor. To edit a paragraph's style, hit tab to get to the paragraph menu. From there you will be able to pick one style. Nothing defaults to paragraph. An inline formatting menu will show up when you select text. Hit tab to get into that menu. Some elements, such as rich link embeds, images, loading indicators, and error messages may get inserted into the editor. You may navigate to these using the arrow keys inside of the editor and delete them with the delete or backspace key.