Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump the Megathread part II - mod warnings in OP, Updated 06/06/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,623 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Not sure whether to put this in the Pope Francis thread or here but i could see Trump making waves in Rome when he attends the funeral of Francis - conservatives have been the order of the day in US Catholicism and that’s just the way Trump likes his Christian religious - Francis drew the ire of many conservative bishops and cardinals including American ones - I’ve no doubt Trump will be wheeling and dealing in Rome this weekend - he’s certainly not going out of “respect” for Francis - he likely can’t stand what Francis represented which was care for the poor and marginalised and a lot more progressive take on divorce and homosexuality and married priests - I’d say Trump will be out to advocate for a conservative Pope

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2025/apr/22/vatican-power-struggle-will-an-anti-francis-pope-emerge-from-conclave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,894 ✭✭✭✭Penn

F*cker will probably throw a hissy fit if he's not in the front row, and will then try to claim that he should have a hand in selecting the next Pope because of how Christian America is.

It really wouldn’t surprise me if he made some comment on the election of the new pope - really, I just wouldn’t be surprised- that’s how fcking off the wall he is at this point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,568 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

image.png

Francis looked absolutely ecstatic the last time he met with him and his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,877 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Qanon, the fact that conspiracy theories are the norm in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,116 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Absolutely he was the exception, and truth be told, in hindsight, it wasn't ideal the way it played out.

It was fantastic for him to be President for 2 terms and to have won so successfully, but, he's understandably been ineffective since he stepped down and at a young age.

The "system" would have been much better served had he done 2 terms as senator before going for President. He was too good a politician and communicator to have used him so ineffectively.

Whoever would have won in his stead, right now, he could have been starting his second term after being in the senate for 2 terms or whatever. A much better scenario than him having come and gone so quickly in my view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,468 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

"Do you know how many popes there have been? Lots. I mean LOTS. And romans. You know, like with knives and robes? and they. Beautiful people but they were mean to me. But that's OK. I don't. Popes. So many popes and no Americans. Can you believe that? hundreds. Have them all the time and no Americans. But the pope. Beautiful man but he said to me, "Mr President, you're my favourite president. But you need to forgive" And, y'know, that's not in MY bible. I said. Mr Pope. Did JESUS forgive? Co's y'know, the woke, they don't want to forgive. The loony Left want to forgive EVERYONE. Terrorists. Immigrants. People who stole…. And we won the election.

But I said "Mr Pope. you gotta… You gotta vote for an American pope. Cos. Cos Jesus. Did you ever see that movie? And he was. Very handsome man. I mean, not my type but. Handsome. Blue eyes. Women. So Mr Pope. You gotta do the right thing. Make Rome Great Again". And Biden. He. He said. Pope isn't even in Rome! Can you believe that? Like all "Pope doesn't live in Rome".

So, we're gonna get a pope from America. Maybe not the biggest pope because of corruption. You know those romans. But, we'll get one. We can/ Did you see that place? Looks like my houses. So classy. I mean. Gold. I said "Mr Pope, I may. you are copying me". But we'll get an election. I'll talk to him next week in Rome and. We'll get the pope. And he'll. New York. I mean. Hundreds of popes and not one pope from America. We're gonna change that. And taxes. Boy. Do they…….."

And on and on.

But yeah, he'll stick his oar in and try to get an American pope. Nevermind the vast majority of Catholica in the US are… them people from "sh*thole countries"… He'll be front and centre. Surrounded by his nodding dogs and his puppets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,894 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Can't wait for next year's Easter service from the Vatican to be delivered by Pope Kidius Rockus I.

He was too good a politician and communicator to have used him so ineffectively.

The hilarious thing about that is, his own political coach right up to that speech in 2004 described his communication skills as "excrement".

Hindsight is rarely applicable for obvious reasons.

But for Obama the stars just aligned a just the right time, he was also a notorious hard worker.

Also I think McCain would have beaten Clinton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,048 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

That is the one thing about the MAGA people that amazes me, the US populace see them and Trump removing two foundation stones of the US, the constitution and the economy, the MAGA people think it's the way to go and the populace are doing nothing to stop them. King George got an angrier response from the North American populace over how his Govt was treating them. How much more are the present US N/A populace going to take from Trump and his shower of useless gits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,609 ✭✭✭valoren

“How much more are the present US N/A populace going to take from Trump and his shower of useless gits?”

Considering the number of people who were idiotic enough to vote for him in the first place, I fear quite a bit more actually 😀

But don’t worry, they’ve sorted all those LGBTQ people and are defunding those horrible universities who preach human rights - you might not have a dime in your pocket but hey, you can’t have it all - Drill baby Drill !

And the constitution prevents the calling of a snap election by the US Govt, so it'd be useless planting the idea "the people love you, they'll re-elect you 100% - with the electoral college as back-up" into Trump's brain. The President and the V/P can resign but the next in succession line in the constitution covers that, ensuring continuance of Govt from within. Even scrapping the electoral college seems to be a worthless idea.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,876 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

He did but that was the first almost anyone knew of him. He was a rising star but that was it. He was absolutely not expected to be the presidential nominee. No more than Angela Alsobrooks (a person I've never heard of) is expected to be the 2028 nominee.

No one has a clue who will be the Dem nominee and I suspect a good 20 to 30 people are eyeing it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,116 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

We've been hearing for months now that despite Democrats claims that Republicans will gut Medicaid, that Republicans insist that that will not happen and no one will touch it.

Here's how they're going to do that.

Screenshot_20250422_160743_X.jpg

They're planning on removing the 90% of federal and telling Governors that if they want the program to remain, they must fund it.

They'll then tell Joe Public that the Governors were the ones who decided to end the program.

Things will get very difficult in red states if they succeed with this.

The Vatican State is an independent state within Italy. ROFL if Don was turned away from Vatican City by the Swiss Guard "sorry, Mr Trump, you're not on the funeral invite list and don't have the correct visa".

Personally I hope the democrats are not waiting for the next enigma to burst out from nowhere.

I said the second Trump won they need now to start seriously grooming a few candidates and getting them a national platform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

I saw this chart on LeopardsEatMyFace and it's got some very interesting facts imbedded in it.

image.png

Ignoring CFTrump for the moment, if you look at the chart (there are about 3000 counties in the US, they're defined arbitrarily and most are historic - NJ where I lived for some time is a geographically small state with 21 counties, Alaska the largest state has 30 'county equivalents.' California, also a huge state, has 58.)

Anyway, if you look 25 years ago, government assistance was close to even between Blue and Red.

Now, in 2016, Blue is up to 169 counties. Red has ballooned to 1276, about 1/3 the entire national total.

The thing the chart is missing, is what changed in 16 years. Manufacturing leaving? Population soaring so fewer good paying jobs? 2000 to 2016 was split GQP/Democratic in the WH and various parts of Congress. So, why so many getting support?

Then, 4 years later, another spike (and Covid accounted for some of that for sure, not sure when the chart was generated probably the following year.)

So, yeah, red counties have been collapsing economically for some time. Unfortunately, they vote GOP, the classic voting against their own interests. A lot do poorly because they're 'right to work' states, a euphemism for 'union free,' attracting business but no pesky unions so employees get shafted with no recourse. But, another missing fact, if you look into the money spent on those programs especially Social Security, which is direct $$ in the pocket unlike the medical program, and ignore the over 65's, that's a lot of money gone out, yet, still voting for Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,232 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

A quick witted bill burr type who could take trumps abuse at debates and send it right back at him ten fold is what's needed(sadly)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,232 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Only losers (in politics) mention popular vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭17togo

Funny you mention the pledge of allegiance. The yanks staying with us were telling my kids about the pledge of allegiance before the start school everyday. My 10year old said, that sounds like north Korea. 🤣 Even a kid can see it. In fairness to her she kinda admitted it does sound like it when she was explaining it to them, she just never had thought about it like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭CFlat

The pettiness of the Trump Administration really is astounding. Just because Ukraine/Russian war hasn't ended when they wanted it to, they're willing to walk away . Thank god he wasn't President during WW2 , cause if he was, we'd all be speaking German now.

Trump and his band of merry men don't understand the meaning of the word, diplomacy, that's why they're never going to stop any war.

Except for the fact that Trump said that knowing it would be a headline giving him free promotion material without any intent of ever doing so, while knowing he might meet an NRA member citizen prepared to defend himself in line with his amendment rights. Imagine no 1st or 2nd Trump presidency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Field east

what was Vance before that and why did he convert? Given his’ take on things’ I would be of the opinion that other American beliefs would be more suited to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Field east

Is Trump not behaving clearly un constitutionally and when does the army ‘show an interest’ in what is going on and ‘do something about it’?

My bad in that I misnamed the Chief Justice. It should have read Roberts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,748 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Make it the 51st state? Papa Donaldus Casino Roma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,326 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I love the jokes about Trump somehow rigging the pope vote, but in the grand scheme of things he's done more mental **** already