Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

We didn't discuss this

• 21-04-2025 10:34PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭

Ever do something that you think you discussed with your partner 10x, go and do that thing, and hear from them that, "You did WHAT?!"

One of our cars has been causing issues, twice leaving me on the side of the road with the engine light on and clearly acting broken. It's fixed now, but I'm not convinced. The engine vibrates a bit more than I remember at idle when it's cold. The bolts are showing signs of rust. It's 6 years old and has almost 80k on the odometer. Time to go I think.

I've articulated all this to my wife for over 6 months, drove various models and told her which ones I liked. I mentioned one is coming up for sale soon as the new face lift has arrived in Ireland. A week later, one model on my list came up for sale at 20% off, brand new, and I put a deposit. It's not even that expensive, 300 per month and we can easily afford it. It's a Skoda, not even fancy or show off-ish.

Then I shared the news, all excited to save 20% on a new car. Right?

"We never discussed this. I'm not driving that thing. Where are you going to charge it? We cannot charge at home. I'm keeping the other car. We never agreed to buy a new car. You can't even drive to abc town and back." All this in one go.

It has 560km range and I can charge for free at work. But facts are irrelevant.

How to approach this in the future so the obvious to me is not a surprise to her?

Post edited by HildaOgdenx on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

Your talking could have just gone over their head.

You ask of future risk reduction?

Subtle WhatsApp text. "Quick one, opportunity won't last long on what might be bargain. I appreciate you have loads of other stuff going on, but all ok if I pull trigger on this car thing?".

Post edited by Andrea B. on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,377 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

You made references to buying a new car randomly over a 6 months. Multiple times. Then when one of the came up for sale at 20% off. You went out and put a deposit down. Is that a fair summary?

If so you made it clear you were in the market for a new car. But you absolutely didn't discuss that you were about to make a to make a 5 figure purchase. Which you probably should have if it's a shared expense.

Assume this was a new Elroq or similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭RurtBeynolds

Talking about getting a car and actually buying a car are two different things.

I couldn't imagine making that kind of purchase unilaterally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Deeec

You just talked about getting a random new car over a period of time. Nothing definite planned, no decision made.

You then ploughed on and bought a car without discussing the car, the price, the deal etc with your wife. Your wife is right to be annoyed - you did not involve her in the decision.

How would you feel if it was the other way around and your wife came home and said she bought a car without involving you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Buffman

Really depends on the exact car situation and who pays for what.

Are both cars shared and paid for equally or do you have a car 'each' that is 'yours' and fully paid for by you?

If it's the shared costs option then obviously detailed discussions are required, but if it's fully yours and you're fully paying everything for it and it's not affecting joint finances at all, then it's your own choice what you drive.

The below is a general 'signature' and not part of any post:

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,430 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

What's completely lacking from this account is any hint of what your wife said over the past 6 months on any of the many occasions when you suggested that it might be time to change the car, or when you talked about what car you might like to get.

Also completely lacking is any suggestion that on any of these occasions you asked her what she thought, or what she wanted.

You say you discussed this with her many times but there is nothing to suggest that you listened to anything she said. Or, if you did, it doesn't appear you think what she said is important enough to mention here.

You see the problem here?

Now, fair's fair. Maybe the account you posted here is incomplete. I get that this is a fairly informal place and you're venting, not writing an essay. So maybe your wife did have views, and maybe you did find out what they were, and maybe you attached considerable weight to them, and maybe you thought what you were doing was entirely in accordance with her wishes.

But, from the reaction you report, it doesn't seem so.

So, perhaps the answer to your question . . .

How to approach this in the future so the obvious to me is not a surprise to her?

. . . is "Talk to your wife, bearing in mind that talking to someone involves more than just telling them what you are thinking".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 charlessmith22

The advice for future is blatantly obvious, consult her before making a big purcahse and try to agree on the thing you're purchasing.

But I think there's an issue behind the issue here, you both sound a little resentful of each other. The car issue is symptomatic for a breakdown in respect and communication which obviously will have leaked into other areas of your marriage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,869 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

The bolts are showing signs of rust. It's 6 years old and has almost 80k on the odometer. Time to go I think.

80K on the clock is nothing. (Km or miles, still low). Rusty bolts? Superficial rust probably, not a cause for concern really.

Seems you just fancied a change and went ahead off your own bat.

In future, talk things through. You have to agree, and sometimes your arguments will fail to convince (like here, I have to say).

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭mykrodot

was just thinking this, my car is coming up to 6 years old and has 83K on clock (diesel). That's nothing for a car these days! I live in a rural area so its on the road a lot.

OP, this is about communication, nothing more , nothing less. Communication is talking and listening, discussing, debating, especially when it comes to buying a new car. I assume the 300euro repayment every month is from joint funds or will affect household budget to some degree?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,132 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

Mod - Some posts deleted.

Throwaway comments on the merits or otherwise of the car are not addressing the core issue here.
    If that's what the OP wishes to receive advice on - the car - they are free to start a separate thread in the Motors forum.

Anyone unfamiliar with the PI forum, please take time to read it before posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,154 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

You might have talked about it but you never agreed it. You should have been clearer and said, I'm think of xyz car what do you think.

By the way 80K is nothing and some light surface rust on bold isn't something to worry about. The car is probably fine. If it's diesel the check engine light or DPF line means you aren't driving it enough on ling trips to clear out the DPF.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,850 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

My wife has made continuous comments about how she no longer likes or sitting room suite of couch and chairs. Getting old, bit worn, etc etc. I tell her yeah I can see that etc.

Now, I sit on this couch every day. If she took a decision herself to go out and buy a brand new one without discussing it with me, let me look it over, hell even try it out... Id be pretty pi$$ed off. And I'm not talking 5 figures here, not even about the money really.

If someone chooses something that I would have to use every single day without my agreement I wouldn't be very happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭HazeDoll

There is a thing that can happen and I'm sure there's a name for it, a sort of reverse confirmation bias. It's where we don't really process input from others if it doesn't align with our own ideas. It's not a conscious disregard for other opinions, it's a subconscious failure to see that alternative views are as valid as our own.

A: "I think we should go on a golfing holiday."

B: "I don't think that sounds like fun. Let's look at some other ideas before we decide."

Person B has gently shut down the idea and given their reason without putting their foot down and explicitly denying person A permission to book a golfing holiday.

Person A has heard person B say that they aren't aware how much fun golfing holidays can be, and the option is still on the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

to summarise, you bough a new car cos you wanted a new car. and you thought your wife would accept your weak reasoning as gospel, and now your shocked she doenst like her new finance handcuffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,534 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I think that is precisely what happened, except person A has found a great deal on a golfing holiday, put down a deposit and told person B "Good news, I've booked our holiday!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭Soc_Alt

A simple question

Did you have monthly payments on the previous car or was it paid off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,093 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Is there a cooling off period where you can cancel the whole thing?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,830 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

The description of the issues with the "old" car seem to me that you were looking for reasons to get rid of it…

One of our cars has been causing issues, twice leaving me on the side of the road with the engine light on and clearly acting broken. It's fixed now, but I'm not convinced. The engine vibrates a bit more than I remember at idle when it's cold. The bolts are showing signs of rust. It's 6 years old and has almost 80k on the odometer. Time to go I think.

Rusty bolts? Ah, would you cop on, FFS!
    The age and mileage show that the car is still has a lot of life left in it.

Reading your opening post the first time and re-reading it a number of times afterwards, it appears that you wanted to change and are seeking our approval for doing so now that you didn't get that at home. You mentioned it to your wife in passing but did not have a proper discussion about it - I can only guess that this was a deliberate act.
    You went and test drove various cars - without her.
    You compiled a shortlist of models - without discussing her preferences.

You also seem to justify your solo spend by telling us how it was a bargain with 20% off and sure it wasn't a fancy model, just a Skoda.

Like others here, I think you wanted this all along and completely excluded your wife from the discussion. She is supposed to be your partner in all matters including finances but you completely ignored her possible opinions and thoughts on the matter and I would wonder why you did this - would she have spoiled your fun by bring a dose of fiscal reality into the conversation?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,342 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Just a couple of points:

You mention "One of our cars", was it your car or her car, or do you both share equally where neither car is neither persons?

Who paid for the new car? You, her or both of you together.

The only answers to the above questions that maybe you have a case is "my car" and "I paid for it 100%". Otherwise it was not a good move to unilaterally decide + spend. Also to echo the posters above, 80k/6 years/some bolts starting to show signs of rust doesn't mean a new car straight away (for me anyway).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

OP I agree with what others have said but another thing I just picked up on - you said you test drove a few different ones & decided which you liked. If your wife is going to be using this car too, did she test drive any of them? Did she like any of them if she did?

I was getting a company car a couple of years ago & had the list of 3 options on it. I test drove all 3 to find which one I preferred. My partner also test drove 2 of them (couldn't make the 3rd) as he would also be able to drive it & I wanted to make sure that he didn't absolutely hate which one I picked. Now if we'd gone solely on his pick, I'd be driving a car that I didn't enjoy driving at all but he loved it. Like really loved it. I even tried to convince myself to like it because of how much he did.

It's one thing to talk about potentially making a purchase like that over the course of a few months but a very, very different thing to jump the gun on it without a discussion first with your wife.

So to answer your question - maybe have the discussion before you put money down on something as to what you're thinking. Especially if it's a large purchase that is going to have monthly repayments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭hello2020

not sure if to Laugh or cry after reading this post as this is so normal reaction i get from my wife on lot of occasions..

like they say

Rule#1 The Boss is always right.

Rule#2 When Boss is wrong , Refer to Rule #1

after years of experience now I know who the boss is in married life :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,416 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

I presume that's an Enyaq, which is a 50k car or thereabouts, perhaps even after discounts. A lot of money, 300 per month is PCP rate it's not really 300 a month, it's a 45-50k purchase.

Look she'll probably be pissed for a while that such a decision was made without her, I would be too if my partner did that. It is an expensive purchase, a new Enyaq EV is pretty much a plush purchase despite not having a prestige badge.

Your old car doesn't sound too bad, it's what a 2019 with 80k kms? Should be loads of life left in it and make sure you get a decent trade in if you do plug ahead with the new car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭slo007

I sent her something similar a few days before. The issue is not so much the car, but that it's an electric vehicle. She's extremely put off by the technology.

I bought the new car for 42k. The trade is worth 13.5k. Yes, on PCP because I suspect the depreciation will be huge. Finance says it will be worth 22k in 3 years. I doubt it, but would be happy to be wrong.

I would definitely keep the 2019 car longer if the engine hadn't gone shaking on me, twice, over a year span. Previously, I had another car that did something similar (different fault) and it needed a complete engine replacement 6 months after the warranty expired. I don't want to be in that position again…

You really don't need to justify any reason to random people here for buying a new car OP, people do it all the time.

Financially is it 'your' car or a shared car?

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,416 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

If the problem is that it's an electric vehicle rather than the money or the communication,she'll get over that. I've seen family members, work colleagues and friends change their tune on them over the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭slo007

Great summary. Sorry for my long post.

It's not a shared expense. I won't even notice the payments tbh. She only pays insurance and fuel on her car. I pay everything else (car is under my name). I get charging for free on the new car, so after saving 160-200 in fuel expenses, the monthly expense is actually 140 max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,325 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

I suppose it depends on whose money it is OP.

If you are buying a car, for yourself from your own money, then shouldn't be an issue. However, if you are buying a car for use by both of you, using shared money, then yeah, of course she should have been properly consulted. I'm surprised that this is surprising to a married couple.

Grand, so it's 100% your car, don't see any issue on your end so, you can go out and buy a new Ferrari if you want if it doesn't effect the joint finances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭Tork

What's notable is how much you're writing about the car, yet you are giving us very little about how you communicated with your wife. The impression I get is that she wasn't particularly interested in your various test drives but assumed that when the time came to buy something, you'd include her in the decision. Instead, you presented this major purchase to her as a done deal. It doesn't matter how great this shiny new car is, or that you're the one who'll be paying for it. You came to her after the event.

Did you even have a meaningful conversation with her about what owning an electric car would entail? It certainly doesn't look like it from what you've typed - it looks like you sprang this surprise on her and aren't addressing her concerns very well. Maybe you're just annoyed at her but that's the way this is coming across to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,420 ✭✭✭circadian

I just bought a new car with the missus. I'm the sole income into the house and we still sat down and discussed models, pros and cons and settled on something I like but wasn't my first prefence.

Like others, I feel communication wasn't great and certainly hasn't been explained more here. It feels like OP mentioned in passing that he wanted a new car and that any response was milquetoast at best. Dropping more than €100 should really warrant a confirmation in my eyes, although I'm sure this is different for others but a car would fall into that category for 99.99% of people.