Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭spillit67

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

Duncan Casey turned 24 in 2014. He had zero caps and never got anymore.

JJ Hanrahan turned 22 in 2014. He had zero caps and never got anymore.

David Foley got two Ireland caps with his first at 25.

Craig Casey debuted for Ireland at 21, was selected for a Rugby World Cup and had a dozen Ireland caps by the time he was 24.

Jack Crowley had 19 caps by the time he was 24 having debuted when he was 22.

Coombes made his first Ireland test team at 22 (he isn't Ireland 23 worthy, but certainly Ireland 33 worthy). Nash is 23 level.

I picked 3 "like for like" examples - this isn't a make believe narrative. In terms of how they measure up, there is no comparison.

Really from that period we are only talking about Rory Scannell and Niall Scanell making the grade of even bubble internationals (not even regular 23 players), that's the yawning gap in the Munster squad. If I go down further on it even the quality of the non capped players just isn't there from that generation vs. the most recent one.

Frankly if Munster produce 3-4 regular home grown regular internationals (i.e. regularly in Ireland 23s) every 5-6 years along with some more bubble players (potential to cover gaps for Ireland) and squad players at provincial level, they are fine. Add to that in some Leinster bred players like Beirne, Loughman and (to an extent) Jager then Munster should be in and around 10-12 players of the Ireland 33 every squad and getting 5-7 players in the 23. It's the missing generation that is Munster's problem and that DOES predate Nucifora.

And no, having being involved in age grade rugby around that period, this was clear to everyone. The year JJ got nominated for Junior World Player of the year, Munster only had 4 of the 29 in that Junior World Cup squad. There were also only 4 in 2013. 2 in 2011! I can go on here - check the age grade results around then as well. They were NOT pretty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,516 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

Give Over. The obsession somw peoplw have with certain social media accounts is hilarious. Especially i imaginr poeple behind such accounts as theyre just laughing away at outrage. Irfu dont care about any social media accounts. Dont delude yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭darkened_scrum

The IRFU official account responded to some Munster based "fan" the other week who got outraged at Jack Crowley not featuring in promotional material posted on twitter. Maybe you think it's stupid, maybe it's a gigantic waste of their time, but rightly or wrongly they absolutely do care about social media accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭niallm77

The IRFU responded because the account you speak of was telling lies about the IRFU social media post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,508 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

And Leinster had to turn off replies to a post about Ross Byrne.

The continued portrayal on here that rubbish on social media only comes from "fans of a certain province / certain part of the world" is nonsense.

In any case, I don't understand why "social media posts" keep getting dragged into the discussion here. Why can't we debate what posters have actually said on here.

And it completely misses my point on this; even if you think "entitled social media users from a certain part of the world" are the most bad-faith, bad-actors in all of this, their points on THIS seem to have been correct; the IRFU have actually changed their policy.

I honestly don't understand why people would follow them if it produces such ire…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,240 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

That answer seems quite close to the fudge I feared as you never actually directly answer my question.

The current guys you mentioned aren't even what I am really talking about, though do play a part, I meant more the level below that, the likes of Gleeson, Edogbo x 2, Kendellen, O'Connell, Quinn, Campbell, O'Connor, and hyped even younger players like O'Leary Kareem.

Sure the buck stops with the most senior person but if that is the case he was the man in charge when three provinces won the league during his time at the top, with Munster being the most recent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,474 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

I’m not fudging anything and I’m absolutely baffled as to why you’re so angry about this. I think Nucifora did a great job overall.

You’re throwing out a list of names, most of whom have either never played European rugby or have one or two appearances, as evidence that things are fixed at Munster. only two of them are in the 23 this weekend.

My point is that we won’t know for several years if you’re right and we really have turned a corner. I hope we have but people have been saying that for the last ten years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,837 ✭✭✭✭phog

Leinster rugby official account had to turn off replies to one of their posts. They're eejits everywhere unfortunately a posters here go to seek such eejits and make mileage here.

If people want I'm sure Munster fans here could post a few beauties from Leinster fans in X but other than point scoring what does it achieve ina discussion forum.

It really really isn’t. Generally speaking the IRFU are quiet on how they run their operations. You need to dig into annual reports to find out any info and know how to read a set of accounts. I would say social media AND the media drive this.

And no, when Sterling absolutely tanked you didn’t hear much about it but I can assure you it was as material an issue for the IRFU and one province in particular as central contracts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

I'm surprised that the IRFU haven't stepped in before to address the quality of coaching at the other provinces. It's been marked for years how deficient they have been in comparison to Leinster in basic skills. Would lads like Staunton, Hanrahan or Doak have developed to the potential they were projected to have, if they'd come through Leinster's system?

Head coaches are one thing, and I'd have a lot of criticism of the various hires over the last decade, but surely the IRFU should be ensuring that each province is developing players with an equivalent level of base skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,240 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

Giving repeated non-answers, like you have, is the epitome of a fudge.

Why would I be angry? I have never met Nucifora and as I said in an early post he signed up for the job knowing the state of the provinces and got well paid for it.

I do find it crazy how certain people have an absolute distain for the guy and refuse to admit that he was successful in many aspects of his job and completely ignoring undisputable facts* when it comes to positive things he was involved in related to their province.

None of the above makes me angry, I am really just in awe of the mental gymnastics or echo chamber it must take to get to their own little reality.

(*I wouldn't put our current discussion on the pipeline being an undisputable fact, more an opinion, but facts are three different provinces winning a trophy during his tenure and the long list of coaches and signings he sanctioned or at times forced through).

On this topic yes it is. There are issues in Ulster rugby that historically have not got the same traction. Now part of this is the fact that the “southern” media naturally does not have the same presence there, but they are there.

The IRFU will naturally respond to attention. The point I have consistently made is that the IRFU are constantly tweaking the “model”. You just don’t always hear about it because they don’t have to disclose it to you or I. If it is something like this (and yes certain social media accounts have pushed this, that’s a fact) or say something like Connacht Rugby protests, then they will feel the need to respond.

If they are "constantly tweaking the model" to account for things like FX rates, no tax rebate, then it sounds like things are in order, and that is a good thing - so where's the problem?

With regards Central Contracts, there hasn't been a change there in, what, over a decade? More? It became completely apparent at the end of last season that the distribution of them wasn't tenable. And credit to the IRFU, they have made a change that, imo, was completely necessary, and was always obviously going to make social media.

So again, it sounds like the criticisms - regardless of source - were completely legitimate. And that the IRFU implementing these changes is a positive outcome. The "southern media / social media accounts from a certain area of the country" that you're criticising have all been positive about this change.

From a Munster perspective, at least, I think things began to improve towards the end of the JvG era, and have clearly significantly improved since Mike Prendergast has been on board. But you'd imagine that base level of skills should be happening further down the chain.

And tbh, I don't think Hanrahan's lack of basic skills were what prevented him from becoming a top player; he was a really skillful player, but he 1) seemed to be a real confidence player and 2) lacked distance in his kicking.

Fwiw, I think working with Mike Prendergast would seem like a pretty attractive prospect, making Munster a more attractive proposition. The issue now is that how Munster play is pretty removed from how Ireland are playing. But I am glad Munster are pursuing it, because 1) I believe it's the only way we can compete against the monster packs at the pointy end of Europe and 2) it's a more attractive brand of rugby to watch.

Leinster look to be playing a bit more like Munster now, in terms of using off-roads more aggressively. Wouldn't be shocked if Ireland looked to transition that way as well. I'd agree that Munster's play has taken a definite swing upwards over the last few seasons, it's good to see.

I’m not suggesting there’s a problem.

I’m also not suggesting tweaking Central Contracts is wrong either, because they’ve done this many times. More times than you’d be aware of.

The point is they feel the need to publicise this. I know it gives certain people a dopamine boost, but don’t get carried away.

Condescension aside, to clarify.

You’re not suggesting tweaking Central Contracts is wrong.

But you have suggested that mentioning tweaking Central Contracts was “negativity, moaning, giving out, throwing a strop”.

Those two positions directly contradict each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

I really hope Tommy O'Brien stays fit, same as I have for the last couple years. Would love to see him in green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭johnh6767

Mad to think he'd likely have been the starting 14 for the last few seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭Juventu4

I'd play Cormac as a blindside, stole 2 Leinster lineouts so a taller replacement for Peter O'Mahony. Ryan unfortunately hasn't been great for Ireland since the South African tour last sumner where he outplayed his opposite number, just seems a bit underpowered this season.

Post edited by Podge_irl on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,473 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭ersatz

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,499 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Yes, and I can't imagine he would end up anywhere else internationally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭niallm77

He played 6 on his international debut in November IIRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,713 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

Imagine if we could have such an intense rivalry between two excellent young candidates in every position. It’s a good thing. We’ve bigger problems elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,473 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I know he played back row in the past but he's full time in the second row now.

You cannot consider a lad playing full time in one position for a position he rarely played and doesn't anymore.

This is clearly rubbish. He has 5 starts at lock and 4 at blindside this season.

You cannot consider that as "full time" at lock and "rarely played and doesn't anymore" at back row.