Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Missing 8yr Old Kyran Durnin - presumed dead *READ Mod Note Added to OP*

1181920212224»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭antfin

What you're suggesting would be a charge of neglect or perverting the course of justice or some such lesser offence. That would effectively rule out every bringing a more a serious charge after prosecution because a person can't be prosecuted for same offence or a substantially similar offense if they have already been convicted or acquitted of an offence in relation to the same acts. We've seen many cases where facts come to light over time, sometimes many years, that allow the case to become clearer so I wouldn't be in favour of someone being convicted of a lesser offence at the expense of potentially preventing a later prosecution on a more serious charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Banjo Carney

Any law that allows the mother and extended family of a missing child walk free without answering any questions needs to be changed. It's a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭csirl

I dont think this applies. The alleged crime of not knowing where your child is, is a very different crime to murder or manslaughter. Potentially both offences may not even involve the same people.

The Gardai dont have only one shot at sending a file to the DPP. Multiple files can be sent over time.

In the normal back and forth between Gardai and the DPP, a file nay be sent, and then the DPP may advise the Gardai on the evidential deficits. Gardai may investigate more and send further evidence to address the deficit. Its not a one shot scenario - there"s a lot of dialogue between the two on many files.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,258 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

There'll be nothing done I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Banjo Carney

• Site Banned Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Raichų

when you’re extraditing someone there isn’t an opportunity to present half arsed evidence and finish it off later.

Of course it applies. The same set of facts/circumstances can't be used to prosecute a person twice. For example if you rush to prosecute someone for assault and after the conviction the assaulted person dies you can't prosecute again for murder/manslaughter afterwards. If further evident arises here and they've brought a lesser charge of neglect (ie not knowing where the child is) that has been prosecuted they can't prosecute again on the same event.

Ireland doesnt have double jeapardy laws. If new offences are uncovered, they can be prosecuted.

Ireland absolutely does apply the principle of ne bis in idem! It's enshrined in the Charter of Fundamental Human Rights of the EU too so I'm not sure how you think we could simply start prosecuting people multiple times arising from the same acts rather than waiting for all of the evidence and then seeking to prosecute! There are very strict exceptions in the Criminal Procedure Act 2010 but the correct course of action is to wait for the full evident to bring the appropriate charges and not prosecute a lesser offence in the hopes of being permitted to prosecute a second time. It's very, very difficult to frame an exception when you knew in advance that you were short of evidence for a more serious charge related to the same event.

If what some posters are saying is true - then a bank robber can get away with the robbery by simply getting a speeding conviction via a camera, when driving away in the gettaway car.

Child neglect and homicide are not the same incident. Someone can be convicted of neglect and then, they or someone else can be convicted or murder at a later time.

Have you given the Gardaí and the DPP the benefit of this advice?

Where does it say they were previously prosecuted for lesser offences?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

These two lads were never convicted of anything related to the same event.

They were charged with attempted murder, and then they were upgraded to murder before they had stood trial.

What happens here, new charges brought, and the old ones were thrown out.

It's completely different if you convict someone for a lesser charge and then try to upgrade them.

When people talk about the same incident, they mean e.g. the following:

If a person is put on trial in the Central Criminal Court for killing someone, they cannot be tried again for the same killing (once appeals etc exhausted). If the jury verdict is e.g. manslaughter, everyone has to accept it - they cannot go back and have a trial for e.g. murder.

But someone CAN be put on trial twice for different charges relating to a sequence of linked events. For example, in the bank robber example I gave, some can be put on trial in the District Court for speeding AND be put on trial at a later date in the Circuit Court for armed robbery at a later date if evidence emerged they were involved.

As for files being sent to the DPP - Gardai can send an unlimited number in respect of the same alleged crime. Its not a "one chance" scenario.

The elements test would apply so it's not that straight forward. Rather than leave it open to challenge the preferable approach would be to wait until all evidence is available to bring appropriate charges. In reality you have no idea what evidence is available to bring any charge so any outrage about the lack of any charges to date is merely based on supposition. There are a multitude of possible scenarios that could have unfolded and the State prosecuting prematurely any charge without an appropriate basis may endanger the ability to ensure proper justice at a later stage.

In fairness to AGS, they are fighting an uphill battle here. They are heavily reliant on Tusla, who are the most inept public body in the country. We already know Tusla dropped the ball on this one, so its doubtful that Tusla has the complete paper trail of notes, assessments and reports required to build a case.

Jesus Christ almighty how can those two be conflated as the same thing?

Having charges upgraded to murder because the victim died — that’s hardly the same thing as extraditing someone and charging with child neglect and then changing those charges to murder if new evidence is discovered.

Such a rush to prosecute you’d see the whole case destroyed- thank God you’re not in charge of these decisions.

Best not charge them with anything and let them live happy as Larry thank god they have their freedom!

no, it’s best not to charge them to appease the witch hunt and piss away the work they’ve put in to date.

how would you go about it then? Please fill us all in on how you’re better placed at this than the experience Garda detectives and other officers and staff who have been tirelessly trying to find out what happened to Kyran?

You think it doesn’t turn their stomachs knowing these people are walking around at the minute? But if it were me I’d still want to make sure when I have them locked up it’s for the longest possible time and without any chance they worm out of it.

Suppose that’s the difference between us here.

"When I have them locked up".....yeah thats not happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

With the greatest of respects, you know f*ck all about what they've been doing.

okay PJ- I’m glad you are here to give us such insightful commentary- maybe you should contact the detectives on the case and just tell them to pack it in now and save themselves the hassle.

Sure while you’re at it have a think if there’s any other cases they’re only wasting their time on and save some Garda resources. Jaysus you might get a medal for this n all.

Are the legal guardians in Ireland or the UK?