Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Missing 8yr Old Kyran Durnin - presumed dead *READ Mod Note Added to OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,099 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Is the mother claiming he is missing? Surely she and the grandmother could be charged

Now it seems one of the questioned, has a violent past, I'm guessing the boyfriend who son was put as Kyrin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,254 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

The man arrested last week has been found dead at the house which was searched last week.

The man (30s) was found dead at a house in Drogheda which last week was the subject of a search operation by gardaí investigating the child’s disappearance and suspected murder.

Gardaí are at the scene and have launched an investigation. Sources said an initial assessment suggests the death was a “personal tragedy”.

The man had access to Kyran in the period before the last confirmed sighting of him as a six-year-old in 2022.

He was known to the Durnin family and a close associate of another chief suspect in the case.

Edit: now also on RTE

Post edited by Hotblack Desiato on

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,367 ✭✭✭paul71

Hopefully there was a note left or some kind of admission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,963 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

What do you say to this news? Did he kill himself out of guilt? Did he kill himself because he was innocent and was being condemned by local residents? I know which option I'd be guessing at.

I hope he's left a note saying where Kyran's body is, that's if he's guilty, and an explanation of what happened and who was involved in the cover up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭This is it

Breaks my heart every time I see a photo of this poor boy.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod: I understand that this is an emotional case for some but can we remain civil in our posting please. I have deleted a vulgar post along with one quoting it. Do not respond to this on thread. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,674 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The story might just have taken a massive turn.

Has the child's murderer just killed himself?

Hopefully now the real story might come out, and put this sorry saga to bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,358 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

If he had anything to do with Kyran's disappearance/murder, I really hope he put it down on paper, do one right thing at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,476 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

It may have just got a lot harder if not near impossible to find the poor boy.

Crazy case just got a bit more crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,830 ✭✭✭✭banie01

A possibility but, it doesn't diminish the culpability of the child's mother or grandmother for their part in his death and in the 2 year effort to conceal it.

One can only hope the suicide of one of POIs doesn't lead to the whole matter falling asunder without other parties being brought to justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,841 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Obviously suicidal people don't always adhere to the norms of human behaviour but if this guy was the main culprit I doubt he'd be looking to incriminate others he was close to or had formerly been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,610 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Not only that, but the pessimist in me feels like if this guy was involved with what happened to the child and has now killed himself, he's likely done it to try ensure that his involvement never comes to light, particularly in the eyes of his own family and friends. So may have committed suicide without any kind of note or admission which would shed any light on what happened to Kyran, rather than any kind of guilt weighing on him and wanting to at least provide answers before committing suicide.

Unfortunately as others above have said, this feels more like a potentially valuable person of interest who may have had some info has now killed themselves and therefore that info is now lost to investigators.

I'd love to be wrong and that he's left behind some sort of info or admission that can bring this whole horrific case to some form of resolution, but sadly I'm not hopeful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

If he was involved, I really don't see him offing himself to save his reputation.

It's very likely guilt got the better of him. Whether he had a shred of decency to leave a note remains to be seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,537 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

That's really not how domestic violence works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,254 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Yes, but it's hard to see anyone getting convicted on the basis of someone else's suicide note. Other evidence would be needed.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭dbas

He likely knew the evidence the gardai had on him, got released without charge and offed himself to save doing a life sentence for murdering a child.

If guilt had got the better off him he'd have killed himself straight after killing the child as opposed to two years later a few days after a gardai interrogation

The poor little child and everyone who loved him

Presuming he was involved in whatever happened to Kyran, guilt never got to him after whatever happened, or in the years since the child was last seen. Guilt never got to him when questions started being raised a few months ago. Guilt never got to him in the months of investigation.

He killed himself a few days after being brought in for questioning. Released without charge, yes. But he's a person of interest in the disappearance, and kills himself just a few days after being questioned by investigators (who presumably had reasoning for bringing him in for questioning).

Sorry, but unless he did leave some form of note or admission about what he did, that's not guilt for whatever act he may have committed. That's trying to take secrets to the grave in the hopes they're never revealed, particularly if those secrets are horrific in nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,321 ✭✭✭chooseusername

If there is a suicide note admitting guilt would guilt still have to be proved? I know he can't be convicted now, but there must be some report to apportion blame.

I think guilt would still have to be proven through some corroborating evidence.

There would still have to be an on-going investigation into involvement by Kyran's family, and who knew what, when. An admission of guilt may not be proof by itself, but it would further narrow down what might have happened and who else was involved or knew about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

The fact IF he committed suicide is irrelevant at this stage.

The guards I imagine have a very solid line of suspects. These people, if involved, don't seem the brightest.

The minute the guards caught sniff of this, a huge amount of resources were gathered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,963 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Man questioned in Kyran Durnin murder case found dead

https://www.rte.ie/news/leinster/2024/1217/1486998-kyran-durnin/

The story has been updated with the name and photo of the deceased suspect.

Untitled Image

Gardaí and emergency services found the body of 36-year-old Anthony Maguire at his Drogheda home shortly before midday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,476 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

There'sa difference with being suspected by the locality, and being arrested in suspicion.

Maybe he knew the game was up and just decided to go out on his own terms. I very much hope he's not going to take the truth with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,924 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

One can only imagine his state of mind after being released, given the gruelling sessions of 'interview' which I'm sure were very forceful and intimidating.

I hasten to add that the above is just an observation and should in no sense be interpreted as sympathy for him in any way.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,146 ✭✭✭Jizique

A name that is always associated with Drogheda, any relation to the others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

No chance. Way more evidence. This will go to trial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

He’s not related to the traveller gang Maguires, no. He’s from Rosevale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,099 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Was he dating the mother?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Yes. He wasn’t the missing child’s biological father, but he did attempt to use his own biological son as a decoy.