Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Transgender man wins women's 100 yd and 400 yd freestyle races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,385 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

So the solution is we go back to the same rights women had in Victorian Times?

This is just utter nuts and all rather insidious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,601 ✭✭✭volchitsa

Sorry I've no idea what you're suggesting. Do you think the Women's Rights Networks wants to remove women's right to vote??

They don't.

They just want to ensure that women are as safe as possible from male abusers (which is still an issue in the 21st century), and also that religious women like Muslims and Orthodox Jewish women can also have access to sport.

But then you think such women are just god-bothering bigots. I think they're victims of a misogynistic religion and if we can make their lives better we should.

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,749 ✭✭✭plodder

The freedom to exercise away from the male gaze;

Who are these absolute archaic loony tunes?

What about women only gyms like these ones in Dublin? Should they be banned?

https://westwood.ie/gym-zones/women-only-gym

Look, men like @Boggles know what is good for women and will not tolerate them being god-bothering bigots or archaic looney tunes.

And it's not a bit misogynistic for him to feel entitled to be the ultimate arbiter of what women are entitled to want or need. It's just that women shouldn't bother their pretty little heads with such questions - they should let men make those decisions for them.

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Frost Spice

Remember the guy who used to say sex segregation in sports was like racial segregation.

This is the level of dishonesty that gets resorted to.

I'm mint.

🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

How is offering a few female only swimming sessions going back to the rights women had in Victorian times? Are they saying that those are the only options that should be available to women? Clearly they aren't. The fact is that for various reasons, there are many women who would like spaces free of men for certain activities. That seems to be something that you just can't countenance. Why do you care so much?

Since Victorian times women and girls have been able to enjoy female-only swimming sessions and changing facilities. Until recently it was a given that women and girls could have access to their own swim sessions, and there are numerous reasons why women and girls seek out female-only sessions:●

The freedom to exercise away from the male gaze

If you told me that passage was lifted from the diary of the Mother Superior of a Mageldine laundry I would believe you without question.

Absolutely bonkers that was written by a group who call themselves the Womens Rights Network.

Despite your attempt to potray it as some sort of fringe desire held by a bunch of repressed prudes, many women would like to do certain activities without the presence of men. For example, in a 2022 survey, 61% of women polled in the UK said they would prefer to use female only work out spaces.

No one is saying that should be the only option for women, just that it should be an option for the ones that want it. Why does that bother you so much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,989 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I can't see any issue with what Womens Rights said. On the other hand anyone that has an issue with women being allowed to have and use women only changing rooms is much more concerning.

No bloke should be outraged that women don't want some creepy fùcker staring at them. The idea that women shouldn't be allowed such safety is more Victorian than anything Womens Rights has said.

Yep.

Reminds me strongly of this:

image.png

What sort of men WANT it to be the norm for women to be expected to put up with a certain amount of hassle from men?

As I said way back, if somebody wants the concept of single-sex spaces to become old fashioned and unnecessary, they need to first fix the problem of male abuse of women.

But men advocating to get rid of protected spaces for women and girls just because these men consider it prudish of women - well. You do wonder why, don’t you?

God forbid that men have to examine or change the behaviour that makes so many women feel uncomfortable in certain situations. No, the women are just prudes/"god bothering bigots" and akin to nuns from the magdalene laundries and should stop complaining and put up with it. The misogyny in those statements is there for all to see. How progressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭2Greyfoxes

Several things are troubling about trans issues and the direction they’ve taken. One is the way that they’ve been politically hijacked by both the right and the self-styled ‘progressive’ left. The right has jumped on the bandwagon of opposing trans rights, while the ‘progressives’ are framing any concern over women’s rights as ‘far right’ and smearing anyone who expresses doubts over the impact of trans rights on these, or any gender critical views, as a far-right supporter. That is both a reductio ad absurdum and extremely offensive.

The second is the constant resort to the old straw man about ‘how many trans women have committed assaults in a public toilet?’, to which the answer is that trans identity has been used to gain access to women and girls to commit crimes against them. It’s rare but it does happen. Perhaps a greater risk is that if it is possible for men (who may not actually be trans) to access single sex spaces by claiming to be so, there are some who will take advantage of that to prey on women. The safety of women is important and it’s unacceptable to brush these concerns aside.

Maybe the root of the problem is the insistence of trans campaigners that there’s no difference between a biological woman, a trans woman who has undergone surgical reassignment or hormonal therapy and a trans woman who is biologically male but has adopted a female social persona. I can see why they take this view but to many people, this raises problematic questions. The aggression with which some campaigners have pursued this and attempted to shut down objections has exacerbated these. Hounding women out of their jobs for disagreeing, calling them far right, or terfs, and telling them to shut up sounds awfully like the misogynist behaviour that so many women – especially those older than Gen Z - are all too familiar with. Both sides need to dial down the temperature of the debate.

Clever word play may win debates, but it doesn't make it true.

Understanding and explaining things, is not the same as justifying them, if in doubt… please re-read this statement.

Most of that I'd agree with - but when you say "Both sides need to dial down the temperature of the debate" could you give some examples of how women are "dialing up" the temperature?

Apart from allowing themselves to celebrate the result on the day of the judgment, which is understandable, surely? - I really can't how any ill-feeling is women's fault?

For instance what women have done anything comparable to trans protests today involving a "pee-in" according to trans activist India Willoughby?

image.png

The same protests also led to the statue of women's rights activist Millicent Fawcett being defaced:

image.png

Proof if proof were needed that Trans is a Men's Rights movement.

And that this has never been about toxic behaviour from "both sides".

This has always been about women trying to assert their rights and protect their spaces, services and sports, and men screaming, abusing and threatening - or carrying out - violence whenever they are told "No".

So please don't fall for the "both-sides-ism" on this. That's not what's happening.

Some people will use gender criticism to mask their Transphobia, see the likes of Matt Walsh. He did a lot of acting in bad faith, which is never good and undermines any legitimate point he may have made/had.

Understanding and explaining things, is not the same as justifying them, if in doubt… please re-read this statement.

Matt Walsh is an American, and in no way a feminist. He's got very little to do with the UK debate.

So when you say "both sides", can you make it clear that you mean MEN on both sides please?

Because I think it's unfair to blame British women for anything that an American and an avowed anti feminist says - even if he does agree with them on issues such as the earth being round, the sun rising in the east, and women not being men.

There's actually another point I didn't reply to in your earlier post (adding to it, not exactly disagreeing with it)

You talked about whether trans women are a threat to women - and like you I would normally take the position that it's not so much that trans women are inherently a threat as that allowing males into female spaces removes the element of (entirely relative) safety that such spaces should afford women.

BUT: today's protests also point up a specific problem with trans activists. Because while not all men are a threat to women, and it's often hard to tell which ones are, sometimes there are signs. And defacing feminist statues, waving placards threatening to kill women, complete with posters decorated with "bullet-holes" to show their intentions, all because they've been told they cannot breach women's boundaries without their consent… I think we can conclude that those men are very likely to be a threat to women.

Indeed I'd go further and say that this is all beginning to resemble domestic violence on a large and organised scale. And that it feels like having finally walked out on an abusive relationship, ie the most dangerous time. Men are furious and the misogyny in response to this ruling is white hot.

Never Implied he was a feminist, he is however part of the discourse around the debate. When I said with sides, ai meant both sides of the debate, didn't mean specifically British Feminist.

Yeah Saturday's march has been ugly. They do seem to react in a very 'aggressively male way', and defacing feminist statues is all part of their manifesto.

The point is that he is NOT a feminist though, so he is NOT part of the UK debate.

And while I don't usually care about Matt Walsh and US culture wars, I think it's extremely important at the moment, given the violence that trans activists are directing at women, not to accidentally give them encouragement by suggesting that this is a "both sides" situation, and that women also need to "dial down the termperature", ie that women can/should do something to appease these men.

Because that will inevitably incite them - as men so often do in DV situations - to blame female victims of their violence for "winding them up" and thus being responsible for male anger and violence against women.

As I said, this resembles the most dangerous time in a domestic violence situation, ie when the woman finally says "Enough". These men are furious and there is a danger IMO of violence - from men. Not from women. That needs to be made clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

If mixed changing rooms are grand, then why can't transwomen just change in the men's changing room? Since sex based changing rooms are so passe?

The argument seems to be that unisex changing rooms are good enough for the women who don't want to change in front of men because they are frigid, sexually oppressed religious prudes and bigots who need to get over their issues. However men do somehow pose a severe threat to trans women (formerly known as men) so therefore its totally understandable if they dont want to change in front of other men, so they have to be in the women's area to be safe from the men that the prudish women are irrationally scared of. Make it make sense.

In reality it's all about validation

Post edited by ceadaoin. on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Mr.Wemmick

it’s really scary how much hate/violence there is for women. This now feels like a women-hating movement, when all women have done is to say: live you life, dress the way you want, enjoy the same rights we all have, but NO to taking our rights away; we want our single sex places back - we want to be able to access same sex services with safeguarding in employment, hospitals, schools, prisons, rape crisis centres, mental health & disabled facilities and elderly care.

..and this is the result of saying no to these men as Volchitsa has already stated.

Scary stuff..

image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg

“The fact that society believes a man who says he’s a woman, instead of a woman who says he’s not, is proof that society knows exactly who is the man and who is the woman.”

- Jen Izaakson

These "terfs" they're on about have never done anything hateful to them besides saying that women are entitled to rights based on biological sex and that trans women arent the same as biological women. Last I checked women weren't threatening to rape and kill trans people and pissing all over the place as a protest (not that easy if you don't have a penis really), unfortunately the same cant be said about them. Let them show the world who they are, I think they might find that most people outside of the activist bubble find this behaviour abhorrent, and I'm pretty sure that includes other trans people who don't object to women having rights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Mr.Wemmick

image.jpeg

Sums up feelings this morning. Many would’ve been sympathetic and kind towards trans as a vulnerable group all the while correctly asserting women’s rights. Any good will there was though is disappearing fast.
    How they can get away with this heightened level of aggression and threats against women is beyond me. Where’s the outcry from the media?

“The fact that society believes a man who says he’s a woman, instead of a woman who says he’s not, is proof that society knows exactly who is the man and who is the woman.”

- Jen Izaakson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭tarvis

I can’t help wondering when will the Irish courts similarly support biological Irish women and girls. Irish Media coverage of and political comment on the UK decision here has been decidedly underwhelming.so far.

Post edited by tarvis on

I'm actually quite concerned that the 2015 Irish self-ID law may mean that we've already passed that stage here, and a woman going to court would find herself in a similar position to Sall Grover in Australia, who was sued by a trans identifying man for having thrown him off her woman-only meeting site, Giggle. She lost - because the judge found that in Australia, the law DOES say that men can be women.

The applicant, Roxanne Tickle, sued Giggle for Girls Pty Ltd (Giggle) and Sally Grover, Giggle’s Chief Executive Officer and founder, alleging unlawful gender identity discrimination, contrary to the Sex Discrimination Act 1984 (SDA). It is not in dispute that Roxanne Tickle was prevented by the respondents from using a mobile phone social media application, known as the Giggle App, marketed for communication between women, which did not allow men to join or use the app. The issue is whether that was unlawful discrimination.(…)

Roxanne Tickle is a transgender woman, whose female sex is recognised by an official updated Queensland birth certificate. For that reason, I refer to her as Ms Tickle.

I have found that there was no inconsistency between the Births, Deaths and Marriages Act 1994 (Qld) and the SDA. (…)

Conclusion I have found that Ms Tickle’s claim of (…) indirect gender identity discrimination succeeds. I will make a declaration of contravention by way of unlawful indirect gender identity discrimination (…) I will also order the respondents to pay Ms Tickle compensation in the sum of $10,000 and to pay her costs…

The case has not yet reached its final appeal (both parties are suing, Giggle to have the judgment overturned, and "Roxane Tickle" to have the damages Sall Grover has been ordered to pay increased) but it shows that the exact wording of these laws matters - the UK Supreme Court couldn't just say "Well it's common sense!"

If the Scottish parliament had been able to pass its planned laws on gender reassignment (which failed precisely because they were alleged to contravene UK law of course - as has now been demonstrated) things might have been very different. As I suspect they may be under Irish law thanks to the madness that is the GRA. Of course we won't know for sure until it's tested in court.

image.png

Written in chalk. The Police better find the perpetrator quickly as the evidence will be gone in the next shower of rain.

Yes we know you hate feminists, especially those terrible Victorian ones. No comment about any of the other points made?

I am a feminist.

I imagine Millicent would see the funny side of it, she was quite progressive.

It's the fact that they see a woman's rights activist from the Victorian Era, ie not related to trans rights at all, as being against trans rights that is significant. It shows that their movement is against women's rights per se. They themselves obviously feel that trans rights are men's rights.

What was that you were saying about wanting to "go back to the same rights women had in Victorian Times"?

Right argument, but you're on the wrong side of it. Well, you're on the anti-woman side - you seem to think that's the right side, and I won't try to change your mind. I'm just pointing it out for others.

And I notice you don't care enough about the other notices, about dead TERFs, or the ones with "bullet holes" for women to even comment on them. You're grand with those it seems.

I'm quite sure that Millicent wouldn't see the funny side of crowds of angry men wanting to kill women because they can't go into their toilets. I mean she already had to deal with angry men having a fit about women wanting to define themselves as seperate entities with equal rights to men and men setting off bombs about it, so I'm sure she'd be over it. Plus ca change

How do you know it was man that did it?

Plenty of women on that march yesterday too.