Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2025 (Munster And Leinster Championships,Liam McCarthy Cup)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,916 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

The Munster Hurling Championship starts tomorrow- I expect both the standard of hurling, the competitiveness and the excitement io really start then. Todays game was like a league game in essence by comparisson.

Reckon there was more attended the Cork football game tonight than Kilkenny v Galeay in hurling. Shocking really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,628 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Cork has a population of 600,000 and were playing at home. A county that size should definitely be pulling in a large crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,619 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Reckon there was more attended the Cork football game

Well it definitely wasn't cork fans in the crowd because they don't show support for the footballers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

I agree with you there and the all Ireland finals should also be held in August at the very least. I know it wasn't sustainable anymore with the increasing professionalism in regards to preparation and training of teams, but a part of me misses the excitement and tension of the old instant knockout format. I also think the round robin format in hurling is leading to an oversaturation of games in Munster and Leinster as well.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,916 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Well it wasn't Kerry fans! They only travel in numbers for the final in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭C4000

The game in Parnell park was very enjoyable. Good crowd and atmosphere and two fairly evenly matched teams. Dublin just pulled out a bit more in the final minutes. Oisin Kelly some weapon for Offaly, looks and, to a certain extent plays, like Kyle Hayes.

Both Ravenhills and Jason Sampson also very good. The Hayes brothers were the difference for Dublin, along with 5 points from the two midfielders. Offaly well able to compete at this level and will give Galway and Wexford plenty to think about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭C4000

The old straight knockout format was terrible. The round robin has been a huge success and gives teams a fair chance. There's only about 9 weekends of serious hurling a year so definitely not over saturation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

No fears of lack games anymore for sure but i'm not sure that Waterford fans have enjoyed the round robin format so far.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭JoyceDavenport

Only 3 counties have more football AIs than Cork.

Limerick haven't won one since 1896.

Limerick won ONE AI hurling title between 1940-2017 so their current hurling bandwagon is understandable after being serial bottlers for years.

A nothing county in GAA terms bar the last few years which will end soon enough if it hasn't already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,449 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

fair enough but when a team urns a corner it can quickly change the mindset and taught process in the county , i know the likes of clare and limerick will probably never catch the likes of cork or kilkenny , it doesn't mean though they cant operate at a higher level now

my point is , this argument was knocking around before the 2013 all ireland final , cork supporters taught we were a bit cocky talking ourselves up with only 3 all irelands ever won against a county that had won 30 , what brought on that confidence is our success 14 years previously that spurred on 2013 which in turn spurred on last years win , i imagine it will be easier for limerick in future to win all irelands on the back of there recent success

That's just your opinion tho.

I understand the traditionally weaker GAA counties in Munster (Waterford Clare Limerick) have to set up a siege mentality and hatred of the most successful GAA counties Cork Kerry Tipp.

Its evident on here with Limerick and Clare atm and in the media with Dalo and TJ trying to build Cork up to fail.

However I've always found your posts balanced and fair but you know once Kelly SOD and Conlon go yere goosed for a few years as these are generational players.

Ditto with Limerick.

Kilkenny are the proof and they're guaranteed an AI semi final spot every year by virtue of geography.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,449 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

no they havent they have just got better over time what kind of nonsense is this , clare have beaten cork in the last two all ireland finals limerick destroyed cork in 22 because they were better not because of siege shite , the problem is clare and limerick have overtaken cork and they now have to catch up , tradition means nothing

Tradition means nothing to Clare Limerick and Waterford because ye don't have any and are jealous of Cork because of theirs across all codes and grades.

It's only since this backdoor/round robin bullshit that ye won anything at all.

When it was straight knock out?

Zilch.

Truth hurts.

Overtaken Cork ?

Last year Clare won a one off game in extra time with the benefit of a biased referee.

Check the AI and Munster rolls of honour.

Cork have dominated Limerick and Clare for decades in hurling football camogie across all grades.

Neither Clare or Limerick will overtake Cork anytime soon in any GAA code.

Your problem is Cork dont fear or respect Clare and never will.

The result today won't change that.

Btw have a word with TK and Hogan about the diving.

It's embarrassing at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,552 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

The pressure seems to be getting to some 🤣

To be expected when you haven't won an All Ireland in 20 years I suppose.

In my lifetime there has been no big 3 and only the big 1. Tipp, Limerick Cork and Clare have won practically the same amount of All Ireland's in that time.

Limerick won one AI senior title across all codes between 1940-2017.

77 YEARS 🤣.

Now they win a few but couldn't do the 5 in a row.

Why?

Cork. That's why.

Cork won AI football in 2010.

Im not forgetting that just like I'm not forgetting that Cork beat Limerick last week.

That means nothing to Cork cos it's just Limerick. Big deal.

If we had beaten Kerry last night that would have meant something.

Cos we respect Kerry as a great traditional rival. Limerick don't make me laugh.

Your lifetime doesn't matter to me or historians.

Cork are the most successful GAA county across all codes and grades.

Limerick have been a nothing GAA county until v recently and still aren't in historic terms.

Cork don't respect or fear Limerick.

Never will. Why should we?

Nothing that happens today or this year will change that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Shocs24

I thought drivel wasn't allowed on an Easter Sunday 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭Iecrawfc

22 August 2021 Attendance 40K viewership 1.1 Million, battered in front of the entire country! Most embarrassing performance in an all ireland since 2008.

Limerick 3-32 (41) – (25) 1-22 Cork

(HT: 3-18 (27) - (14) 1-11)

I can still remember that Goldenmiller fella telling us for weeks that the awesome power of Cork's history was going to be too much for Limerick.

Come back when you the double.

Nothing county

Beat ye twice last year.

Stopped the drive for five 🤣 with yere thug Hayes and his mentor Kiely.

Serial bottlers

Remember 94 and 96.

How we laughed.

Post edited by JoyceDavenport on

And it was.

Twice.

30 hurling 7 football.

You'll never see that.

FACT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Charlo30

Winning 5 All Irelands in 6 years isn't an attribute I'd associate with bottlers. By that logic the 4 in a row Kerry team were bottlers

All the Limerick lads think they invented hurling in 2018 getting triggered by the facts.

Post edited by JoyceDavenport on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭Iecrawfc

Says the guy posting all over the place getting triggered by the 20 years famine!

1940 - 1973 = 33 years

1973 - 2018 = 45 years

Now you know all about famines.

Mustve been miserable growing up in Limerick all the same.

No wonder the jerseys are green.

With envy looking over the border to the most successful GAA county in Ireland.

I nearly felt sorry for ye coming out of Thurles one year in the middle of one of yere famines but I said nah when they're down keep them down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭kksaints

It's fairly early for someone to be on the sauce even if it is Easter weekend.

But their history didn't win the game for Cork

FACT.

"With envy looking over the border to the most successful GAA county in Ireland"

Ya looking over the border at Kerry and their 39 All Ireland's 🤣

We have 37.

2 behind them.

Not counting all our camogie and ladies football AIs.

Like I said we respect Kerry.

Why would we respect Limerick?

How many AIs have ye got?

Sober as a judge

Everything I've said is factual.

Some people need to be told a few home truths now and then but they find it difficult to hear.

I know I'm lucky to see my county win AIs in both codes a few times.

Even two in a fortnight one year led by the late great Teddy Mac.

A true Cork and Irish warrior legend.

Bate that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Krazy gang

What sort of nonsense is that? The game is not played in the record books. Cork went asleep and were lax with underage for years while limerick and clare got their act together off the field. Couldn't win a minor or u20 since early 2000s.

Guess what? Since they've put a plan in place and invested in development squads etc they've started winning. 3 u20s and a minor all Ireland since 2020. And now reaping the benefits at senior level. Also clare have beaten cork the last 4 championship meetings. So clare will be relishing today's match.

Of course cork could blitz them. But I think it will be a cracker with 3 or 4 points in it. Bring it on!!