Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭niallm77

The issue with Project players is that there is no certainty around how they will fare. Some were success, others weren’t, but when the go to plan is sign another south African, then that means local production isn’t a priority, and guess what, when that happens, and others are producing [Leinster] we end up where we are now. The system didn’t favour Leinster. Leinster favoured Leinster and because others favoured signing south africans, guess how that fared out …. It doesn’t matter if they are NIQ or Project players IMO. If the go to is to sign another Bok/Kiwi etc then there is no real desire to improve the local pathways.

Again, I never said Munster were as dominant as Leinster are now, but Munster were the dominant province in that time, 10-12 of the national 22s at the time compared to Leinsters 5-6. They were HC SF regulars, went to 4 finals, won in 06 and 08, backboned the Grand Slam teams in 09 after being the biggest suppliers to the national team in the entire decade. But all the while, behind the scenes, nothing was happening to cash in on that success in terms of player development. It was almost like the powers that be felt the conveyor belt was just going to keep producing. And when it didn’t …..

There is Munster representation in Munster, of course there is, but there is also a hell of a lot of non Munster developed players in the squad, off the top of my head about 35-40% of the squad are signings. When the volume of locally developed players is that low, the chances of getting Munster representation in the national team is far diminished. Beirne is an outlier of the current signings realistically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,759 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

@niallm77

It's literally not the go-to plan any more, if it ever was. That argument is, at best, 5 years out of date.

I absolutely agree that not enough was done behind the scenes at Munster, but I also absolutely agree with this change from the IRFU. Because the system absolutely favoured Leinster. The system has had to be changed because of how lopsided it had become.

Even if Munster optimise their development pathways to the nth degree, Munster will always have to recruit from outside. Leinster are the outlier here; Leinster are the outlier in world rugby. It can't be the case that Leinster are the elite production line in world rugby and anything short of that line is considered failure.

For example, no one will convince me that Gavin Coombes shouldn't have more caps for Ireland. But it can't be the case that him not having more caps is somehow indicative of a failure of the Munster production line. 9 of our starting 15, and 15 of our 23 in the URC final win were Muster produced players. That seems about right to me.

The whole system has to be about more than just representation for Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭thamus doku

sexton being called up to the lions and being made a full time assistant with Ireland is truly bizarre.

There is plenty of vastly more experienced coaches available but Farrell has decided to pick a mate.
    Truly bizarre stuff.

Irish rugby is going downhill big time and I would not be surprised if the lions struggle, sexton is not coaching material. Too much arrogance and too little experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,769 ✭✭✭spillit67

As the "issue" doesn't impact Munster social media accounts

I’ve given you my answer. I don’t see what “Munster social media accounts” has got to do with it.

Are you really trying to argue that, say, Ulster not having the tax rebate is as significant or as controllable an issue for the IRFU as compared to the Central Contracts imbalance?

I don’t understand the hang up with Munster social media accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,349 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

To my point in my post, are the Munster's young players coming through better now or in 2014?

If you say better in 2014 or try to fudge it, please list the quality non-Irish capped young players that were coming through back then.

It is worth €15k for every €100k a player is paid. That is a material number in any player budget.

As is differences in cost of living (believe it or not), particularly when we are talking about median wages of rugby players.

Fluctuations in FX can move the dial materially for the IRFU annually (maybe read their annual reports) and also the value of distributions.

The only reasons these weren't "issues" is because certain people don't have a self interest in promoting them but the IRFU manage them all the time and have to make "changes". They might not feel the need to put out a press release on it because there aren't certain very loud people always giving out.

The 'system' may appear to favour Leinster but only because Munster made a complete mess of things back in their glory days and are still dealing with the consequences.

Munster were the epitome of the Celtic Tiger - they were rolling in money, from a fan base from all over the country that drove gate receipts (packed houses while other provinces had 2 men and a dog), to prize money (so many finals), to sponsorship (Toyota & Adidas), to merchandise (most kids who played rugby had some Munster gear), to the IRFU covering way more central contracts at the time for them. They felt the good times would never end and never realised they'd built on sand.

Rather than investing their money in their future, in pathways and infrastructure that supports them, they used it on big name NIQs and a stadium that was far too big for their needs 98% of the time. They also spent it on refusing to make tough decisions like moving to a single training base - it took 20 years of professionalism before they were dragged into having the team train in a single location.

But sure keep pointing the finger at the IRFU and Nucifora for not being able to instantly fix the mess the Munster blazers made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,716 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

”Fudge it”? Why would I? I think you’re missing my point here.

Someone can correct me on my dates but around 2014, people were going batsh1t that a young Munster out half was allowed to go to England. I think this was also approximately the time when people were adamant that Dave Foley was the next long-term Irish lock and that Duncan Casey would be throwing to him. I’m sure there were more but it’s ten years ago like.

I’m not having a go at these players but at the time, people were as utterly convinced of their test credentials as they are now about Coombes, Hodnett or Ahern. Time proved them wrong back then, and we won’t know for a couple of years yet what the real legacy of the Nucifora era is either.

The root cause of this is absolutely, unquestionably the failure of Munster and Ulster. But Nucifora, as their ultimate boss, cannot be absolved of any blame because the buck only stops with the most senior person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭ersatz

Interestingly, not from an IRFU perspective. From their point of view, representing Ireland is the ultimate goal of player development. Provincial success is a by product and if the ultimate goal is successful, player development is happening around the country in the different academies, clubs and schools then the provinces would also be successful. I think it's about time that the IRFU recognised that part of it and took direct control of development, or at least tighter control, through being more actively involved in acadamies. Ulster and Munster have been badly run, thats increasingly obvious. Whatever about coaching, development has been allowed to die on the vine. There are lots of reasons and even forces beyond the control of the provinces but Leinster's success puts some shibboleths to bed. The idea that we don't produce the physical specimens required to compete doesn't hold up, competition from other sports is real but not decisive, Dublin has more footballers and hurlers than anywhere (while the number of football teams in Dublin is actually declining quite dramatically), and so on. Leinster have the advantage of the schools and population but thats about it and it is only in the last 15 years that they've made it count to the degree they've done. It's hard to find player numbers broken down by province but there are A LOT of kids playing rugby.

The argument is not 5 years out of date. The cause of now, it's a direct result of 20 years ago. The system does not favour Leinster, the way Leinster/Munster have run things has led to the current situation. History tells us that it is possible for Munster to have a greater number of CC therefore that's not indicative of a system favouring Leinster.

Leinster maximise what they have, Munster failed to capitalise back when they were the dominant province, big name sponsors came knocking, the scramble for tickets to the old Thomond, the media, the quest for the HC etc. I think there was maybe an element of complacency or maybe even arrogance looking beyond the need to harness the success.

It isn't about Munster matching Leinster, it's about Munster being utterly abject for a long time and complaining now about Leinster, IRFU, CC etc.

Nucifora was getting blamed earlier in the thread but he was the guy who very publicly met Joey Carbery around April/May 2018 and basically encouraged him to move to Munster. The same Nucifora who signed off on a considerable number of signings for Munster, be it IQ, NIQ.

The system is about representing Ireland, thats the end goal for lads entering the academies surely? Is to play for your country? And the more lads in Munster, who they develop into regular internationals, the more likely they are to get a CC = more room on the budget.

As for Coombes, to get more ireland caps he would have to displace Conan and Doris. That's unfortunate timing for his career to be behind two great players. But as I said previously, yes Munster have improved but they are still several generations behind Leinster playing catch up. And the fault for all of that lies primarily within.

When Munster were the dominant team, all the supposed favouritism being afforded to Leinster now, were afforded to Munster back then. Will Munster ever be in that dominant position again, no. Realistically I think 4-5 guys on CC is a medium-long term goal. The announcement on Tuesday is the continuation of a delicate balancing act for the IRFU but it's going to be a generation of players before that bears fruit.

Interestingly, not from an IRFU perspective. From their point of view, representing Ireland is the ultimate goal of player development. 

That’s exactly my point tho; it’s the ultimate goal. It’s not the only goal.

The Ireland team will always have primacy as that’s what funds the game in the country. But they also have a broader remit to the provinces, player development, pathways, playing numbers etc. and everything that comes under the banner of the health of the game in the country (which then, in turn and in time, feeds into representing Ireland).

I think this was an important an necessary change to redress the imbalance.

And, like I said, I think we can at least agree that none of:

• Ulster not having the tax rebate
    • Cost of living
    • Fluctuations in FX rates

are in the direct control of the IRFU in the same way as the distribution of funds with regards Central Contracts.

Even if you intensely dislike these "certain people / social media accounts" that you keep bringing up, there clearly was a legitimate argument here completely independent of anything they've said, as evidenced by the fact the IRFU actually did make a change.

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

Duncan Casey turned 24 in 2014. He had zero caps and never got anymore.

JJ Hanrahan turned 22 in 2014. He had zero caps and never got anymore.

David Foley got two Ireland caps with his first at 25.

Craig Casey debuted for Ireland at 21, was selected for a Rugby World Cup and had a dozen Ireland caps by the time he was 24.

Jack Crowley had 19 caps by the time he was 24 having debuted when he was 22.

Coombes made his first Ireland test team at 22 (he isn't Ireland 23 worthy, but certainly Ireland 33 worthy). Nash is 23 level.

I picked 3 "like for like" examples - this isn't a make believe narrative. In terms of how they measure up, there is no comparison.

Really from that period we are only talking about Rory Scannell and Niall Scanell making the grade of even bubble internationals (not even regular 23 players), that's the yawning gap in the Munster squad. If I go down further on it even the quality of the non capped players just isn't there from that generation vs. the most recent one.

Frankly if Munster produce 3-4 regular home grown regular internationals (i.e. regularly in Ireland 23s) every 5-6 years along with some more bubble players (potential to cover gaps for Ireland) and squad players at provincial level, they are fine. Add to that in some Leinster bred players like Beirne, Loughman and (to an extent) Jager then Munster should be in and around 10-12 players of the Ireland 33 every squad and getting 5-7 players in the 23. It's the missing generation that is Munster's problem and that DOES predate Nucifora.

And no, having being involved in age grade rugby around that period, this was clear to everyone. The year JJ got nominated for Junior World Player of the year, Munster only had 4 of the 29 in that Junior World Cup squad. There were also only 4 in 2013. 2 in 2011! I can go on here - check the age grade results around then as well. They were NOT pretty.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lost Ormond

Give Over. The obsession somw peoplw have with certain social media accounts is hilarious. Especially i imaginr poeple behind such accounts as theyre just laughing away at outrage. Irfu dont care about any social media accounts. Dont delude yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 722 ✭✭✭darkened_scrum

The IRFU official account responded to some Munster based "fan" the other week who got outraged at Jack Crowley not featuring in promotional material posted on twitter. Maybe you think it's stupid, maybe it's a gigantic waste of their time, but rightly or wrongly they absolutely do care about social media accounts.

The IRFU responded because the account you speak of was telling lies about the IRFU social media post.

And Leinster had to turn off replies to a post about Ross Byrne.

The continued portrayal on here that rubbish on social media only comes from "fans of a certain province / certain part of the world" is nonsense.

In any case, I don't understand why "social media posts" keep getting dragged into the discussion here. Why can't we debate what posters have actually said on here.

And it completely misses my point on this; even if you think "entitled social media users from a certain part of the world" are the most bad-faith, bad-actors in all of this, their points on THIS seem to have been correct; the IRFU have actually changed their policy.

I honestly don't understand why people would follow them if it produces such ire…

That answer seems quite close to the fudge I feared as you never actually directly answer my question.

The current guys you mentioned aren't even what I am really talking about, though do play a part, I meant more the level below that, the likes of Gleeson, Edogbo x 2, Kendellen, O'Connell, Quinn, Campbell, O'Connor, and hyped even younger players like O'Leary Kareem.

Sure the buck stops with the most senior person but if that is the case he was the man in charge when three provinces won the league during his time at the top, with Munster being the most recent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,716 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

I’m not fudging anything and I’m absolutely baffled as to why you’re so angry about this. I think Nucifora did a great job overall.

You’re throwing out a list of names, most of whom have either never played European rugby or have one or two appearances, as evidence that things are fixed at Munster. only two of them are in the 23 this weekend.

My point is that we won’t know for several years if you’re right and we really have turned a corner. I hope we have but people have been saying that for the last ten years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,227 ✭✭✭✭phog

Leinster rugby official account had to turn off replies to one of their posts. They're eejits everywhere unfortunately a posters here go to seek such eejits and make mileage here.

If people want I'm sure Munster fans here could post a few beauties from Leinster fans in X but other than point scoring what does it achieve ina discussion forum.

It really really isn’t. Generally speaking the IRFU are quiet on how they run their operations. You need to dig into annual reports to find out any info and know how to read a set of accounts. I would say social media AND the media drive this.

And no, when Sterling absolutely tanked you didn’t hear much about it but I can assure you it was as material an issue for the IRFU and one province in particular as central contracts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,943 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

I'm surprised that the IRFU haven't stepped in before to address the quality of coaching at the other provinces. It's been marked for years how deficient they have been in comparison to Leinster in basic skills. Would lads like Staunton, Hanrahan or Doak have developed to the potential they were projected to have, if they'd come through Leinster's system?

Head coaches are one thing, and I'd have a lot of criticism of the various hires over the last decade, but surely the IRFU should be ensuring that each province is developing players with an equivalent level of base skills.

Giving repeated non-answers, like you have, is the epitome of a fudge.

Why would I be angry? I have never met Nucifora and as I said in an early post he signed up for the job knowing the state of the provinces and got well paid for it.

I do find it crazy how certain people have an absolute distain for the guy and refuse to admit that he was successful in many aspects of his job and completely ignoring undisputable facts* when it comes to positive things he was involved in related to their province.

None of the above makes me angry, I am really just in awe of the mental gymnastics or echo chamber it must take to get to their own little reality.

(*I wouldn't put our current discussion on the pipeline being an undisputable fact, more an opinion, but facts are three different provinces winning a trophy during his tenure and the long list of coaches and signings he sanctioned or at times forced through).

On this topic yes it is. There are issues in Ulster rugby that historically have not got the same traction. Now part of this is the fact that the “southern” media naturally does not have the same presence there, but they are there.

The IRFU will naturally respond to attention. The point I have consistently made is that the IRFU are constantly tweaking the “model”. You just don’t always hear about it because they don’t have to disclose it to you or I. If it is something like this (and yes certain social media accounts have pushed this, that’s a fact) or say something like Connacht Rugby protests, then they will feel the need to respond.

If they are "constantly tweaking the model" to account for things like FX rates, no tax rebate, then it sounds like things are in order, and that is a good thing - so where's the problem?

With regards Central Contracts, there hasn't been a change there in, what, over a decade? More? It became completely apparent at the end of last season that the distribution of them wasn't tenable. And credit to the IRFU, they have made a change that, imo, was completely necessary, and was always obviously going to make social media.

So again, it sounds like the criticisms - regardless of source - were completely legitimate. And that the IRFU implementing these changes is a positive outcome. The "southern media / social media accounts from a certain area of the country" that you're criticising have all been positive about this change.

From a Munster perspective, at least, I think things began to improve towards the end of the JvG era, and have clearly significantly improved since Mike Prendergast has been on board. But you'd imagine that base level of skills should be happening further down the chain.

And tbh, I don't think Hanrahan's lack of basic skills were what prevented him from becoming a top player; he was a really skillful player, but he 1) seemed to be a real confidence player and 2) lacked distance in his kicking.

Fwiw, I think working with Mike Prendergast would seem like a pretty attractive prospect, making Munster a more attractive proposition. The issue now is that how Munster play is pretty removed from how Ireland are playing. But I am glad Munster are pursuing it, because 1) I believe it's the only way we can compete against the monster packs at the pointy end of Europe and 2) it's a more attractive brand of rugby to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,943 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Leinster look to be playing a bit more like Munster now, in terms of using off-roads more aggressively. Wouldn't be shocked if Ireland looked to transition that way as well. I'd agree that Munster's play has taken a definite swing upwards over the last few seasons, it's good to see.