Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

organic farming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭StoutPost

Could I get a 60% grant through OCIS for a two wheel tractor type mulcher? I know the horticulture lads can, but in the other sections it talks about self propelled?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,830 ✭✭✭✭Water John

There is a mulcher mounted on the TAMS 3 list

I've nothing to mount it too, that's why the two wheel tractor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭anthony500_1

In one of our knowledge transfer meetings it was mentioned that a 60% grant was available for new tractors upto either 60 or 80hp if your in organics. It might be worth asking the question of your advisor if your in a position to afford/justify one about the farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,724 ✭✭✭893bet

I at a bit of a loss to understand when a fellow says, 'the derogation… underpins our organics'.

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/derogation-underpins-our-grass-fed-model-of-agriculture-mulvihill/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,896 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Ah sure that fella is straight from whitewashgreenwash.ie

It

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Diarmuid B

Into year 3 of organics, struggling to grow grass in most of the fields this time of year. Silage fields are the only ones growing grass (getting all the slurry and some of the FYM). Fields are completely overcome with rushes now, even silage fields are covered in them.
    West of Ireland land and weather does not suit organic farming if you can’t spray rushes to try control them. Have been mulching and mowing rushes for bales the last two years to try control them

Years 2- 3 are the low point, its a old turkey conversion process we've to endure so normally the land will start to recover from the years of chemicals and thungs will improve. Last year was a bad year for the rushes anyway, they grew everywhere. The thing is spraying isn't a long term solution either and there's the implicit downsides.

The question I ask myself is how did people manage in previous generations? With much less equipment and resources they farmed and grew grass and the place wasn't covered in rushes with them either. Fair play to them, but I'd be scratching my head too sometimes.

If they did it, we can do it, and at least we will be making progress rather than going back to poisoning and polluting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,409 ✭✭✭endainoz

The old generation used far less chemicals if any, used much lighter machinery and likely far lighter cattle better suited to the ground they had. Other than that I guess meticulously hand dug drains would have been common as well, can't see us going back to that somehow!

Rushes is a bit more of a problem for myself these days awell. Looking into improving soil indices with some dung and possibly lime to discourage them from growing. Also a lot of topping to get them under control.

Yes we definitely have to look at the cause when trying to find solutions.

Aa an old relative once said to me when I was giving out about rats… "and are you feeding them?"

Wise words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭Packrat

I'm into year 4. I never sprayed much rushes anyway, so they're no worse. Bracken ferns are my biggest enemy.. it depends on your land and you have my sympathy because particularly the soft rush is very difficult to kill or control on heavy land. Constant cutting and lime. Dexters will eat rushes I find if fed ration outside in an area. But you've to be careful with that crack because poaching is the one thing that drives them mad.

Grass is very slow this year (extreme SW here) in any field without lots of shelter. I've silage ground closed that got slurry, that's doing well.

I've ground closed for lambing (next week) that also got slurry but that's very slow. Sheep only need a pick of grass though, and a drop of rain anytime in the next week or so would save the day.

Cows will gtfo as soon as there's a sprout on the coarse ground, maybe a bale with them just to keep me happy that I'm not starving them but I doubt they'll eat much of it.

I shook CAN the 20th of Feb a few years back and saw nothing out of it. The animals lived that year, and it taught me a valuable lesson that I put into action 4 years ago - much fertiliser is wasted.

I don't agree with this "poisoning the land" outlook on organics. I like money, and between the payment and the saving I'm far far ahead financially since I converted.

I will say though, that you have to get mean with ration, which I hate being and raise a stock type that will mostly do without it.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Silverdream

Year 4 organics, sold yearlings at Sixmilebridge last Saturday got serious prices, I was surprised at how well they weighed considering they were on very limited amount of nuts.

Grass is slow this year so far, I think the nights have been too cold. I'm well back on the amount of slurry and fym I have and will be looking to import some.
    Had the inspection last week, all good, inspector told me about whey liquid from the coops that you can get, I must look into that. Also Sulphate of Potash from target, anyone use this and what prices?

I've also put in for a new mower, haybob and loader in Tams, the grant on the Tams for the mower costings is above the price for the mower and haybob but below for the loader

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭StevenToast

There must be serious leakage from organic beef at the moment....what are goodherdsmen paying?....€7??

€8 flat to be got in conventional factories?

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Silverdream

Yep, loads of conventional buyers stuck around the organic ring last Saturday they outbid the Organic buyers on several lots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭massey 265

Didn't know there was a flat price on offer, thanks. Have stock booked in for June and July. Maybe some should go later and put on more weight.

Organic price has always been a flat price since i started sending cattle over 20 years ago.Organic price used always command a priemum of 20 to 30% but now its on a par with conventional price also transport was covered by the factory which is no longer the case.At present if you are quality assured and in a breed bonus scheme with r grade or better organic cattle then the conventional route may be better but if plain o grading stock non q a then organic route would be best bet.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,833 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Organic organisations could do a lot more for beef farmers, it's ridicules that there is no bord bia bonus for organic beef, it's 'included' in the organic bonus.

Also tight on grass here too, I bought a ton of ration to help tide me over. March and April are two hungry months on organic farms.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭Packrat

Truth be told, I haven't been doing anything recently as it's regrowth usually coincides with a period where I'm rushing around trying to get other things done and then working away every day for the summer. Any day I'm free in May is devoted to moving stock, getting them away to grass or tidying up silage fields.

I sprayed a good lot of it about 5 or 6 years ago but even if I wasn't now Organic I wouldn't do it again. That spray is one of the most carcinogenic ones, and the Bracken comes back quickly anyway unless it's very big old stuff.

This year it's started very early and I'm hoping to get some topped at least once before the madness begins. The oul lad was forever cutting it with a 5'6 disc mower in small gairdíns that would take days. It definitely was less but still had to be done every year.

Cutting it twice in one year weakens it away to nothing.

A lad I know near Leenane gives his time up the hill among the rocks with a strimmer. He claims to be able to do a good area in an evening after work and that it's weakening it away.

Plough and reseed is one way but I'm not going that road bar maybe the edge margins of the silage fields if I can't kill it any other way and it's gerring worse.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

Sent cattle to the factory today at 8.40 .i think its a great price.long may it last but i doubt it will.

Was that a flat price?...i take it they were heifers, aax/hex QA cattle?

Yes 8.40 flat.they were a angus heifers q assured 2yrs old ,r and o g grade and circa 310 kgs dead weight.

Ok...thats good to know...id say if you killed those conventionally you could have got around €8 or abit more maybe.....

Important that organic price remains higher than conventional.

I checked the conventional route out and coudnt get a quote for this week or next week as they said they were killing their own feed lot cattle these 2 weeks ,but then im not a regular customer of theirs so maybe they had no interest in me.I did get the impression from the factories that they were trying to stall the cattle price being paid but then i could be totally wrong on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭tractorporn

I only have organic arable these days but I killed a heifer in Navan last Friday at €8.30/kilo, at a price difference of only 10c I can't ever see me putting the grass back into organic. Even with homegrown combi you'd need at least a euro extra per kilo to make it work.