Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you go on a J1 visa now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

@cptm, he's going to the outskirts of Seattle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Mattyonthepatty

Respect the federal and also the state laws of your J1s destination. Laws can vary from state to state

Don't fret over politics etc, you will find few people actually talk about politics, hell 36% of eligible Americans don't even vote 😀 just like here everyone is too busy living their life and trying to keep a roof over their head.

Enjoy your life away from the screens I say.

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

A guy from my class in college took an American flag down from a flagpole on the 4th of July and spent a night in the cells for it. I thought it was a bit daft.

I remember Bank of Ireland in UCC gave J1 loans. This was 20 years ago. I couldn't afford to go myself. I'd have loved to have gone on one but I couldn't afford it and didn't see the point in taking out a loan for it. All my summers were spent working to pay my fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,767 ✭✭✭✭8-10

I never went on a J1 but I'd much rather have gone back then than go these days. It's really not worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

My mother was super keen on the idea of me going on a J1 to New York and getting a job as a barman/cocktail waiter. This was about 20 years ago. Unfortunately, reality set in, and a: I'd need 2k in cash + 1k for the tickets, and b: at that age I'd have no hope of being a barman because I was younger than 21. If 20 years ago, you'd need the guts of 3k going, I wouldnt like to think what you would need now, although flights have gone down in price since then.

To the poster I was replying to, why save up 3K+ to go to the US, when you can get a Ryanair flight to Madrid for 50 quid, and if anything happens or you get homesick, you can be home in 3 hours. I can see why a european erasmus type trip would be more attractive.

I never went on a J1 but I'd much rather have gone back then than go these days. It's really not worth it.

Completely agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭horse7

Or having their phone checked with anti Trump or pro Palestine comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

God forbid you think of people on visas abiding by the countries rules they require of you. Imagine if our country did the same, it would be a lot better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,473 ✭✭✭beachhead

You would need to delete/factory reset any apps,sms etc on a phone,tablet or laptop that have critical comment contained within them.Or bring a burner phone.Look up electronic frontier for advice.The advice applies to US citizens as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,473 ✭✭✭beachhead

Homeland Security change the rules every 5 minutes.No regulation is set in stone anymore.A bit of da auld oirish charm will probably get you deported or locked up for a spell in current conditions,if HS have any reason to doubt your creditionals,attitude.Myself returning(not in a trump era) to America was once accused of bringing my entire family to America when I presented my green card at Dublin airport.The official didn't even ask for their passports/visas before making an assumption.We were going to a relative's wedding.I had been on holiday in Ireland at the time.Imagine what would happen today-they might even wait until landing in the US to stir it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,160 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

why save up 3K+ to go to the US, when you can get a Ryanair flight to Madrid for 50 quid, and if anything happens or you get homesick, you can be home in 3 hours.

Because Anerica will always have an attraction and an allure that other places don't have, and not just for Irish people.

A trip to America is a once in a lifetime experience for many people, a trip to Madrid could be a weekend away.

Plus their is the obvious language thing, much easier to get a job in an English speaking country than non English speaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Absolutely not and I've forbidden our 19 year old from doing so just a few weeks ago.

While I'm sure that, on balance, the USA is still a relatively safe place for a white, middle-class kid from Ireland, I'd see it as being on par with holidaying in the UAE, Russia, Belarus, North Korea, Israel, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Qatar or the like: financial and tacit moral support for an evil regime, particularly if you're planning on working there.

It's one thing to be forced to visit such places as a condition of your employment, it's quite another to choose to visit such places to watch a sporting competition, buy over-priced clothing in an air-conditioned mall in the dessert or relax on the beach.

We have freedom of movement to 27 other countries on our doorstep in Europe. Flights can be had for under €100 or you can get a ferry to France with your bike for around €200. There are countless work-stay programmes, hundreds (if not thousands) of "Irish" bars only delighted to hire someone with an Irish accent, well run campsites with great facilities, diverse cultures with thousands of years of history to explore, vastly superior food and breathtaking scenery all over the place. Why would anyone with a working moral compass choose to spend a summer in a country that's effectively declared a trade war against us instead of supporting our allies in that war instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,544 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Irish college age tourist in Australia have managed to give us a bad reputation over there. It was reported in the media here a few years ago. It’s all a bit of craic for them but less fun for the people cleaning up after them. Even here ask people that live in college towns, there are plenty of issues.

So he stole it? Did he intentionally do it on the 4th of July to try maximise the offence he was trying to cause or was he just stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,243 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

I went to Russia where you had to register with the police every time you visited a new city. Kept my head down and respected the nation.

The USA sounds like a walk in the park unless you're an idiot who wants to push your ideologies on them. You enter someone's house you show respect it's pretty simple.

Yes I'd go or encourage others. Might be the best time with less idiots either travelling or getting in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

It's clear that you love America and I understand that considering you've lived there.

However the rose tinted look on the USA that is portrayed on tv shows isn't what the younger generations see it as these days. it's no longer seen as the "land of the free" and somewhere where you can make your fortune through the "American dream".

They've elected for the 2nd time a lunatic sex offender, mass shootings continue to increase, they are actively supporting genocide in Gaza along with now basically allying with Putin.

I enjoyed my 2 holiday's to Florida when I was younger but I've have little to no interest in ever returning to America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,160 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

We have freedom of movement to 27 other countries on our doorstep in Europe. Flights can be had for under €100 or you can get a ferry to France with your bike for around €200. There are countless work-stay programmes, hundreds (if not thousands) of "Irish" bars only delighted to hire someone with an Irish accent, well run campsites with great facilities, diverse cultures with thousands of years of history to explore, vastly superior food and breathtaking scenery all over the place. Why would anyone with a working moral compass choose to spend a summer in a country that's effectively declared a trade war against us instead of supporting our allies in that war instead?

Because no matter how you wrap up the virtues of Europe over America Irish people are still closer to Boston than Berlin.

The story was just recounted to me. No idea what became of the flag. It seemed a very heavy handed response to the situation. I doubt the guards would put you in the cells for doing the same here. While not a respectful thing to do I doubt your typical 20/21 year old would be thinking of it in those terms.

When I was in college one of my sisters friends got to spend the night in the cells for giving the Gardai cheek. He got charged with a public order offence and spent the night in a cell, he apologised in the morning and was released without charge.
    Now imagine going any of these things in Dubai for example.

Post edited by Potatoeman on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,223 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

“However I did end up being arrested for having music too loud”

Shirley you weren’t arrested for playing Thelonius Monk’s music, no matter how loud ? 😀

Yeah, just place it beside your PLO scarf in your hand luggage 🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,273 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

it was the summer of when everyone played that californication record incessantly, every track is seared into my brain now forever much like the david gray album that was out at the same time

Ah class -I think we all had a final year/just post college record - the likes of Nevermind and Use Your Illusion spring to mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,644 ✭✭✭yagan

I don't think so, most of them have done oz/nz backtracking as tourists, they're just more interested in language immersion.

Different times we're in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭RickBlaine

I despise Trump and his dipsh*t supporters. There are loads of places in USA that are high on my to-visit list, especially some of their national parks. I'm not going to let the fact that Trump is president alter my plans. That feels like giving him more power over my holiday plans than he actually has.

Despite some headlines, there are still millions of foreign tourists to the US each month without incident. And it isn't about supporting America over another country. I simply want to go to places I want to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,540 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

I'm actually not so sure about us being closer to the US. Eg I'm closer to my cousins in the US who are left leaning but I equally have a cousin who holds some pretty extreme and radical views by European standards, I'd have no desire to visit him and my American mother is as horrified by his politics as I am. Meanwhile I've traveled to the likes of Belgium and Germany because I have friends there, there's far less difference socially and politically speaking than I would have with many Americans including my own cousin. Similarly I have at least one cousin who has moved to Europe because he simply feels like he's far more at home in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,900 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

If you're getting a j1 then you will have your prints and details registered when getting the visa so it's the same as it's always been.

When did they start doing this? I didn't have to do it for my J1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I find that the majority of the bleedin' hearts giving out about this are attention seekers who can't not draw attention on themselves with their online presence, and thus can have no complaints if they had trouble getting a J1.

Maybe ease off on the 'opinions' if your so hell-bent on spending a summer in that hell-hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭PixelCrafter

They're probably not all that close to Berlin, and particularly not at the moment, but they're often very close to a whole plethora of other countries, particularly in Western and Northern Europe and also places like Spain - quite a lot of shared values and attitudes.

The Berlin or Boston dichotomy was only ever a catch phrase for a speech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,343 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

I think the whole Irish people being closer to Boston is disappearing. We were close for years when emigration to America was very high from Ireland. America was full of Irish people and people of Irish descent. My own family saw the majority emigrate to the US, and when I left school in the 90s, loads of friends and relatives emigrated there. Things have changed in the last 20 odd years. We are not so much like Americans, the younger generations are going to different places and just don't have the same interests as sitting in Irish bars, listening to Irish music etc