Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paul Heaton-The Point-March

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Granite Head

TLS didn't play it at the Academy either, they know their audience.

2025 Gigs and Events: 808 State, Houseplants, Dara O’Briain, Los Campesinos, Kawala, Brian Jonestown Massacre, Real lies, Frank Turner, Big Piig, Borderline Festival, Sun Mahshene, Novelle Vague, Fat Dog, La Femme, The Weather Station, Ben Ottewell & Ian Ball, Tindersticks, Spiritualized, Six Organs of Admittance, Coco & Clair Clair, Divorce, Moonlight the Philip Lynott Enigma, Lambrini Girls, Primal Scream, Flaming Lips, Viagara Boys, Mack Fleetwood, King Creosote, Get down services, Soccer Mommy, Throwing Muses, Supergrass, Camera Obscura, Forbidden Fruit Festival, Stereophonics, In the Meadows Festival , PiL, BYTP Festival, Gang of Four, Sparks, Mogwai, ATN Festival, Throwing Muses, EP Festival (Maybe), Clap your hands and say Yeah, Vantastival, The Wedding Present, Robert Forster, Declan O' Rourke, Greg Davies, Jack Dee,Gillian Welch & David Rawlings, Rhod Gilbert, Turin Brakes, Perfume Genius, John Bishop, Ardal O’Hanlon, 808 State, My Bloody Valentine, Starsailor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭Phibsboro

Enjoyable gig though Heaton was quite fidgety for the first half or so. He kept messing with his mic stand, culminating with him handing it off to a stage hand to sort out. He eventually got into it and was in flying form for the last 8 or so songs. I hadn't done standing 3Arena in a while and I wouldn't be a hurry back after an evening of shouted chatting around me - from one group of apparently coked up lads who seemed to be on a work do (overheard during one song - "no, its a statement of work, you just cut and paste from the other document"!) to two lads who looked like they were straight out of the wolf tones, if the wolf tones were heroin addicts and very chatty. Thankfully they all knew the last few hits and so sang along instead of talking through them.

I'm tempted to actually follow him to a smaller venue in his quest to play the 32 counties just to get over tonight's gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,432 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

They just don't play it in Ireland be it North or South. Its normally a show closer but in Academy and Belfast last year they closed with Riley just like tonight.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,033 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nowso

they only play it in the uk and did in scandanavia somewhere also - i was told by a superfan in the academy

the smaller gigs will be 1 hour more acoustic gigs

lightning seeds were limited on there time which was not great as i did enjoy them as i did in the academy. they did get a decent crown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭blowitupref

My first time to see Paul Heaton live and I wasn't left disappointed. Rianne Downey a fine talent. Lighting seeds good but very short set list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,040 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Would be very controversial. You obviously do not know the history between Ireland and England. Three lions on the shirt represents the emblem of the England football team. Whilst it may mean something patriotic to English people, it would be like a red rag to a bull for many other nationalities. The booing would drown out the sound. Would be funny if you had Lightening Seeds and Kneecap on tour. And if they did play that song. The 3 nordie lads would be storming the stage.

If TLS were to play 3 lions, they would need to lead into it ion some jokey manner with the crowd. Probably would need to change the lyrics from 3 Lions to something else. And maybe wave a tricolour around as a tongue in cheek gesture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭sabrewulf

Thanks for the explanation. I don't care too much about football, but I assumed this may have been the reason.

Post edited by sabrewulf on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,666 ✭✭✭Fanirish

equivalent to new order not playing world in motion here. World in motion a fair better tune than 3 lions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Excellent gig. Didn't know a lot of the newer stuff, but some of it was instantly catchy, especially the Irish one he spoke about.

Also, good to see an effort to learn some Irish football teams and have some interaction with the crowd - a lot of younger artists could learn a lot from him as to how to engage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,246 ✭✭✭SteM

At least when you're standing you can move away from people.

I'll never forgetting seeing Sufjan Stevens in the Olympia, up in the circle and the 2 women sitting beside us were babbling about how much they hated the new woman in accounts. They didn't stop nattering until one of them went to the bog half way through and didn't come back, the other one was left in her own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

I often wonder why people go to concerts they have no interest in. They must be getting free tickets or something ? I notice a lot of people at concerts, and even right at the front standing, so you'd assume they're interested. But they look incredibly bored and don't even know the words to the most popular songs the artist is singing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭Phibsboro

I'd say with my coked up lads that yes they were free tickets - one lad knew all the songs and the others were just chatting away. I assume the lad who knew all the songs was the owner/manager of wherever they were from and was paying for everything. As for the heroin wolf tones duo - I actually can't picture a scenario to explain their attendance, short of bunking in at the door for a bit of a craic. I see it got a 4 star review from the Irish Times, which is fair enough. Also love the idea of an hour long acoustic set in a smaller venue, must follow up on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ergo

Re the crowd last night

In standing at the Point on a Thursday night at these kind of legacy acts there'll always be people just there for the pints /coke if that's the new thing and the night out

Was fairly put out as had a good spot maybe 15 metres or less from stage, group just behind us so loud and annoying, couldn't really push forward 3 or 4 songs in but just couldn't take it anymore so we moved back 10 or 20 metres. Annoying to lose a better vantage but crowd all around us in new spot were decent, just normal, into the music so it saved the gig for me and in the end thought it was excellent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭DwightShrute

Did this gig sell-out or were sections of the Arena cordoned off? Amazing that he can play this type of venue when 15 years ago, he wasn't playing small Irish 300 seaters out of choice.

Seemed pretty full to me. But I was near the front and didn't get a birds eye view. I only went by chance a couple of years ago and it was so good I went again this time. The ticket price + lightning seeds support made it an easy choice too. He definitely has the songs, voice, band, and accompanying singer to draw a crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,666 ✭✭✭Fanirish

His devotion to the cheap gigs, money behind the bars near venues over last decade have helped his profile enormously. The Everyman nature of him and his back catalogue as well is why he is doing so well now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭hold my beer

The Point was absolutely packed for it. Nothing was sectioned off as far as I could see from.the standing area

it wasnt sold out but there was a big crowd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,432 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Entire venue was open and it was extremely full. All the upper tier seats were full and floor was packed. I wasn't on camera duty or I would have crowd shots.

Plenty of videos of Belfast show the next night on youtube. Looks completely full too

Hot Press review of the concert ... Yes it was good !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Good interview with him in the most recent Sunday Times Culture magazine. It was conducted in the Spirit Store. He was asked about his recent £35 ticket price cap arena tour and there been no way he could make money on it. He responded that he made a massive profit and there was no reason for the astronomical prices you see other than pure greed. After reading that interview and watching the documentary a while back i'm surprised he's never been diagnosed with autism or similar.

How many more years? How much time is there left? All the rivers reversed while you counted each step.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Yeah, a good read alright. He's a good guy but certainly has a few quirks. There's no way he's making a massive profit on that last tour and I'm not sure if it helps small acts playing those sort of gigs to come out with quotes like that but he clearly enjoys what he's doing and it's great to have a few out there giving that sort of perspective.