Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump the Megathread part II - mod warnings in OP, Updated 18/03/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭aidanodr

From CBS News:

NEW: The TV pool says the White House has informed them the joint Trump-Netanyahu press conference is no longer happening. It was supposed to be at 2:30 p.m.

Reporters will still go into the Oval.

https://twitter.com/kathrynw5/status/1909294211163103671

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,689 ✭✭✭yagan

I think part of the problem is that for many US investors there's simply nowhere to go. You can see that in how little gold has compared to how soars in a cyclical downturn.

None of the established market behaviour matters at the moment as this crisis is political in origin.

One of the reasons Berkshire is doing ok is that it invested in the likes of byd almost two decades ago. Amazon is doing ok too because it has operations independent of its US store.

Apple is in big trouble unless Trump gives them a tariffs waiver. It's payback time for benefitting from the Huawei ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Odd. I don't see how Trump can really give a deal to any country on tariffs so soon. If he does the world will know then that it's a ruse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,721 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

China is built for this kind of standoff. The government has control that Trump only dreams about and they don't have to worry about lobby groups and billionaires complaining about how the trade war is costing them money. But Trump can't be seen to back off. I think he might have put himself in a situation he deserves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,972 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

The planned press conference between trump and Netanyahu that was scheduled for later has been cancelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭poop emoji

So they using that as excuse to tarrif Penguins

However one can just import via Russia from which US still imports 5x the amount than Ukraine last year

@Itssoeasy Old news :D .. top of this page 4 posts above yours :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Emblematic

A lot of people are saying that the Trump tariffs are ill-conceived because they will lead to higher prices for consumers in the US.

But that is the point: make foreign imported goods expensive for consumers to encourage local production.

Is it that he seems to have gone too far that people have an issue with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,848 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

His latest offer to China is to up the US tariff rate on it by 50% which would bring it to 104%, if it didn't drop its rate on the US. As bargaining goes, that's somewhat like the cold war style of bargaining "if you don't lower your missile numbers, I'll build more missiles and silos than you cos I can". The end of that round of bargaining ended with the collapse of one of the nation-states and it's style of government.

It would take years and years to build and employ in US and it still be more expensive to end consumers

Same consumers who were moaning about prices of eggs ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,601 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I guarantee you that Trump and his minions will make money out of this upheaval of the markets .

I think it is noted, even within the US that equivalent US products are not any cheaper, many are apparently dearer even with the tariffs. AND the quality of the US produced product can sometimes be not great either.

Watching a video on this recently with examples - will try dig it out and add it here

EDIT - As promised the video .. worth a look. Even with tariffs these heavy equipment items still cheaper imported from China than US equivalent

Treasuries went up not down today

https://www.marketwatch.com/investing/bond/tmubmusd10y?countrycode=bx

That is bad, very bad, very very bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

Yes, even with tariffs, US goods are dearer and the reason for this is that tariffs reduce competition from the foreign supplier. But this is necessary in order to stimulate local production.

I agree it will take years which is why I think Trump is doing this now at the start of his term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Israeli media reporting Trump is expected to announce reduction in tariffs on Israel after Nethanyahu meeting. That's the cat out of the bag so. Countries can negotiate the tariffs down.

@Emblematic As promised the video called "Trump’s New Tariffs: Can You Afford To Buy From China?" .. worth a look. Even with tariffs these heavy equipment items still cheaper imported from China than US equivalent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,390 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Are there not a huge number of possible issues with that though?

Local production would take a fair chunk of time and money to setup, you would have to likely pay higher wages (would the local workers even have the skill sets needed?), a lot of the raw materials/parts etc will likely come from outside the US so they will be subject to these huge tariffs. There are also just some things the US cannot produce, at least not in the quantity required, tonnes of examples including things like potash, bananas or coffee, there are plenty of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,640 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Remind me, what actual problem was the abrupt imposition of these tariffs aimed to solve? Like, was the US economy in a bad way, what with growing employment and higher stock prices? Higher tariffs means health care inequalities will be solved? That crime will be reduced? Inflation slowed?

One has to ask what Israel is using/has used as a bargaining chip that its media think Trump is going to lower the tariff rate the US is using to lower any deficit Israel has in trading with the US.

Edit: Thanks, poop emoji, I suspected as not. I assume he has some sort of embassy passport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Qaanaaq

I think China would be tougher and have more resilience than the US in a trade war. The Chinese people would also be able to endure any hardship much better than the American population.

Americans are addicted to consumerism more than anybody else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,650 ✭✭✭Infini

The problem is "the president" in this case is an incompetent, vindictive, corrupt orange oompa loompa that is getting away with all the BS along with his South African Snowflake because congress, the part that should be working to put him back in his box is riddled with his useful idiots that kowtow to their orange overlord and completely quagmire the 2 houses from actually acting.

Honestly I'm just tired of this crap every other day with this orange turd, it's incredibly hard to even tune out because he's like an attention whore black hole, sucking up every distraction left right and center.

If things keep going this way on Wall Street, I am left wondering would Trump ever step out of Trump Tower on to 5th Avenue in New York, or even go there again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭nachouser

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tax_Cuts_and_Jobs_Act

Most of the changes introduced by the bill went into effect on January 1, 2018, and did not affect 2017 taxes.[8] Many tax cut provisions contained in the TCJA, notably including individual income tax cuts, such as the changes to the standard deduction in §63 of the IRC, are scheduled to expire in 2025 while many of the business tax cuts expire in 2028.[9][10] Extending the cuts have caused economists across the political spectrum to worry it would boost inflationary pressures[11][12] and worsen America's fiscal trajectory.[13] The Congressional Budget Office estimates that extending the expiring provisions would add $4.6 trillion in deficits over 10 years.[14]

He's wiped out the markets with a hope to raising enough from tariffs to extend the TCJA tax-cuts.

Training and higher wages for local workers? How could people possibly vote for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,639 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

This whole stock market mullarkey does not interest or impact me in the slightest. What are a bunch of wolfs of Wall Street gonna do?? These lads don’t even seem to have seats in their offices. They look like a bunch of security guards who finished a night shift and go into the early house for a few pints. I like Donald and he is a very nice President.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,689 ✭✭✭yagan

I was looking at them too but I think they're not going down because there's no mystery about what's happening.

Back in 08 or the pandemic it was uncertainty that drove panic, whereas now no one is in any doubt about what's happening.

This isn't an economic downturn, it's economic vandalism and they know the only solution is to unseat Nero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

I just find it very sad that the entire world, both economically and politically, is now at the mercy of someone that is fundamentally a f*****g idiot. You'd have to wonder how we reached this point and where it'll all end.

1. In a few months it lead to job losses in US and abroad, like night follows day
    2. Inflation is going to return and rates increase not decrease as expected that impacts us homeowners already fucked by 1 and no social net
    3. Years of pensions payments by average working people in Ireland just went poof in last few months, you might be ok if you are on dole, but remember how angry the working people got at welfare sponges and protected workers after 2008

Think back to 2008 it was months and years before the fallout of Lehman hit us in Ireland, but hit us it did, this is already breaking records going back to 1930s Great Depression

edit: rates as in interest rates, typo