Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dodgy number plates

• 06-04-2025 05:58PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10

In County clare I estimate about 5% of the cars have non compliant number plates, and the vast majority of them are on BMWs and Audis.

Do the police ever take action on this issue?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,224 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

one of the few gardai i know drives a car with 'illegal' plates (those stupid '4D' types)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭goochy

I am surprised at amount of hi value cars with them ..screams drug dealer to me even though not true in most cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭SodiumCooled

I think some dealers must be offering them to be honest - few people around my area have a certain design of plate that is illegal on 251 vehicles. Normal people like the local vet on his commercial and another middle aged person locally and both are the same car make and dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Far too many non-compliant ones on the road. This highlights just how little Roads Policing enforcement there is. Some of the tinted background with black characters are very difficult to read.

I seen a reg plate last year on M50 in the format 0000-XX-YYY with numbers light blue on a silver background. There is just no way you should be able to drive about on the M50 with a made-up registration and not get pulled for it within a day or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,821 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Here's a doggy UK number plate. 🐶

Untitled Image

It gives paws for thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭mikeecho

No-one has been prosecuted for numberplates for a few years now, due to a loophole. (Which I have previously explained)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

Is the 'loophole' not a position/view by AGS that it's the Revenue Commissioners that are responsible for compliance/enforcement, not them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 muck.savage

Number plates, tinted windows, coloured lights, loud exhausts.. there should be zero leniency with any drivers breaking regulations with these. Seize the car. Might put a stop to some of them. 99% of the time they are gobshites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭mikeecho

No.

Non confirming Number plates were made a ticketable offence, but the corresponding finance legislation was never fully enacted.

So as it stands, you're entitled to a ticket, and when thats not paid, only then can a summons be issued.

A summons can't be issued before a ticket.

The tickets are flawed, as the the payment legislation is incomplete.

No I'm not posting links. As it's one act referring to another, which refers to another, which refers to another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,873 ✭✭✭User1998

Theres been enough illegal number plate threads already. We don’t need another one

Thanks @mikeecho. I am not looking for links. The RTA is a maze 😃

Bizarre the necessary legislation has not been enacted via Finance Bill post annual budget.

So as it stands, you're entitled to a ticket, and when thats not paid, only then can a summons be issued

Question on the above quote from your post; So it is enforceable /actionable (even if ticket /summons not viable) but AGS don't ? Display of non-compliant plate is akin/linked to conspiracy to pervert the course of justice ( masking vehicle ID etc) so it's not in anyone's interest not to request the vehicle plates are replaced with compliant ones within 7 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,026 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

If insurance companies had any sense, they'd refuse to insure vehicles with non compliant plates, that'd put a stop to 'my plates my choice' fúckery in jig time.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,280 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Finally, all those needless deaths will be averted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭monseiur

Having dodgy plates on is a fail in NCT so lads with them on have to have a set of 'legal' plates for test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭Damien360

Not sure it should matter about the plate as long as it's readable by current ANPR. Should be a simple ticket to hand out if not readable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Eggonyerface

I don't know why people on boards are fascinated by other people's number plates. Little to be worrying about. The spirit of sigpo never died... it just evolved

Legibility for all is key. What if you are trying to capture it on dash cam for a fail.to stop incident , or a cyclist close passed by a car or a pedestrian nearly hit crossing the road or just a concerned citizen trying to report dangerous driving / potential drink driving? A reg plate has to be readable for all, and the reason many have dodgy plates is they don't want their reg to be easily readable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,603 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

I don't have these plates, but I can't understand how vehemently some people are against them.

Here come the “what if they hit your child and drove off” posts …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Tigeire

you know your dealing with a clown once they start throwing their own prejudices into the comment

I don't understand.

Regarding legibility, I've never seen one I couldn't easily read. Most of them use that German plate font.

https://www.customeuropeanplates.com/pages/german-license-plate-codes

If the font was that bad, they couldn't drive through a toll unless they had a tag.

German plates are fine. Some of them even pass the NCT. Maybe you haven’t seen much of the tinted grey plates with black 4D font? They are genuinely impossible to read until up close. On dark coloured cars it actually looks like there is no plate until you are up close. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t care what plates people use, but the argument most on here will use is that they won’t be easily identified if they cause harm or commit a crime etc

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,224 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

not sure if anyone has posted any vehement opinions yet. has anyone called for beheadings?

it's low hanging fruit. there are regulations around the design of licence plates, for very good reason; one of the most basic things on a car there should be design laws governing. but when someone puts 'wrong' plates on a car, the gardai don't do anything about it (though as mentioned above, the process to actually do anything about it seems inadequate)

i'm not going to try to find the post now, but i do distinctly recall that a (credible) poster here who has worked on infrared systems said he's fairly sure that some of the '4D' plates with black raised characters, use black plastic which allows IR through - like the black plastic you'd see on the business end of your TV remote.

the intention would seem to be that some cameras use IR so these plates cannot be read by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

I saw one yesterday and the lettering on it was absolutely tiny, you would need to be right up behind to make it out. I have also heard that rumour that some of these custom plates cannot be read by speed vans or the cameras on the forecourts of petrol stations.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058267438/grey-reg-plates/p2

Here.

The cameras use IR as a flash at night. The plastics don't reflect the IR so the camera cannot read the plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Explosive_Cornflake

If it's passive IR, the contrast would be the only thing used. If it's active IR with an IR led, a normal plate will blind it anyway. I assume plenty of manufactures claim this, but form a quick search, I don't see anyone showing examples of what they claim

That link just brought me to the family killer posts I warned you about😂

IMG_1428.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,026 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Or speed, drive dangerously, or rob houses, or fill up and drive off. Drugs gangs and their lackeys. Are you fine with all that, you sound like a self centred I'm alright Jack character? As long as you're unaffected? As long as your place isn't robbed or they dont collide with you?

They obscure or hide a registration by having them too small or having colours illegible in low light so people, cctv or dashcams can't read them perfectly.

That leaves plenty scope for people whose intentions are not entirely innocent.