Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meanwhile on the Roads...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,280 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

I see it every day cycling through Dublin city along with abuse of the bus lanes up and down the quays. Drivers on video calls and even watching videos and not even hands free. Pulled up beside a taxi driver one evening at lights who had 3 mobile phones in various mounts one of which he was scrolling through Netflix for what to watch next.

All it would take is a couple of gardai on bicycles (even electric bikes) on loops up and down the quays pulling over drivers and handing them fines with points in the post. Would be a serious earner and with the threat of repercussions there mightn't be such blatant abuse of the rules of the road but there's obviously no will. In all the years cycling in Dublin I don't think I've ever seen a Garda on a bicycle along the quays and rarely on a motorbike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,204 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

A Garda on a bike? But that's not half as much fun as spending €100k on a new truck and playing vroom vroom chase games on the motorways. You can't be serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,709 ✭✭✭Macy0161

I was close to posting something similar - our "professional" drivers are just as bad in my experience (perhaps worse given the additional consequences).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,658 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Worse in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭JMcL

I'd agree with him and it's a multi-faceted problem with seemingly no interest from the stakeholders in law-making/enforcement/judicial to address it cause it'd be unpopular with the Twits.

For some masochistic reason I read the comments to see if it got around to blaming cyclists eventually. Good old Journal keyboard warriors - they never disappoint!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,702 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

I've been up in a few trucks in my time.

You can see straigth into the orher cabs

At night it's ridiculous. Lads with laptop on dash watching a movie driving down the M8.

Hauliers are definitely in the worst offenders bracket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Shotser

Walk the kids to school every morning (about 10 minutes total) and count about 10-15 people on their phones in their cars. Email the local Garda station to see if they would walk past the school in the morning to make a killing in fines. They said they drive past all the time and never see anyone on their phones. Replied asking if they would consider walking or cycling? No response. Since the email I saw two Garda in a van having the craic while the person two cars ahead was holding their phone scrolling and people driving past them with the phone held in front of their face, the two were too busy laughing and chatting to notice (or care). It is madness, and its the parents at it. In front of the school with kids everywhere, two lanes of traffic, a row of parked cars and the footpath so narrow two people can barely pass each other. It is only a matter of time before there is a totally preventable serious injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭ARX

Seems that the "guardians of the peace" are mostly interested in guarding their own peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,903 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Almost every school in the country. Garda refuse to enforce the parking or anything near schools/cemeteries/churches/residential areas, as it is not popular

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

More that it is hard to police without presence everyday, but it is definitely policed when requested by the school on safety grounds, or at least has been in some areas in the past. The social contract is effectively broken in many areas. At least three when I lived in Dublin had done it which at least for awhile resulted in one of two responses, one they drive in to the school like they are meant to, or two, they dropped the kids further away to walk the last few 100m. No idea if this held up over time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,432 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭cletus

He "panicked as a very young person", yet still clocked up two more driving convictions subsequent to this one

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I remember that time a cyclist hit a car after he ran a red light. The car was hit it so hard the driver was thrown higher than a bus…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,204 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

That was some panic, for sure;

"CCTV footage showed Garkovskis taking the Canada Goose jacket from the car before he abandoned it on a street."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Paddigol

Perfect example of context and why treating cyclists rolling through on a red the same as a car putting the foot down to avoid stopping at a red is at best completely ignorant and at worst maliciously disingenuous. But no matter how many times you try to explain it, there'll be an article in the journal the next day with comments of "yeah but cyclists".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Shotser

14 this morning and a red light was broken (as the poor traffic warden was walking out onto the road). Emailed the station again. Will see what/if anything I get back. Might contact the media with my correspondence if I don't get anywhere… although I suspect I'll get the same non-response

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭tommythecat

Outside our primary school in Dublin suburbs we have parking chaos in the mornings. People blocking driveways etc and if the owner of the house says anything they have been shouted and swore at! So much so the principal on many occasions has emailed all the parents to ask them to stop. Incredible stuff. People really are entitled arseholes when they get behind the wheel of a car.

4kwp South East facing PV System. 5.3kwh Weco battery. South Dublin City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,218 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

So the lad pretty much stole the car, as he used fraud to pretend he’d paid the owner for it.
    Gave fake details. No insurance either I presume.
    Pretended he wasn’t driving but was just a passenger.
    So only pleaded guilty when there was no way to get away with it.
    Scum deserved the full 5 years.

"Mr Lynn submitted to the court that his client “panicked as a very young person”, did the wrong thing then but has been trying to do positive since then."

Doing positive since then by: "He has two previous convictions, which post-date this incident, for road traffic offences." It's incredibly difficult to get a driving conviction given the lack of enforcement but this individual has picked up 3 that we know of in 4 years? Why aren't such pleas and mitigating statements thrown out given one conviction may be a lapse in judgement or carelessness but any additions show a lack of conscience at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,520 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Judge Martin Nolan……….. no more needs to be said really

Councils are now more pliable to releasing data from those radar advisory speed signs. This is the R336 west along the coast from Galway

image.png

This is truly depressing reading. The victim was mowed down and killed nearly 9 months ago in a hit and run in a stolen car where
    "At least one of the people in the car was actually on bail and under curfew at the time the accident happened,"

Again the use of "accident" but what's really infuriating "After Michael Farrelly was killed, the teenager didn't give up joyriding. He has since been arrested or prosecuted in relation to eight separate incidents, including four car thefts."

Gardaí actually doing good work at occasionally catching these scum "11 particularly active members of the gang have been charged a combined 427 times" and all the time and resources that involved to be met with the revolving door. It's no wonder Gardaí and victims are disillusioned with the whole judicial system and lack of deterrents.

Post edited by Dr_Colossus on

Worst traffic congested spot in the country 😢 😥

The Journal says: A six-year-old girl who was cycling her bike was killed this afternoon in a collision involving a heavy goods vehicle in Galway. https://www.rte.ie/news/2025/0405/1506072-galway-fatal-road/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,432 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Speechless. God bless her parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭what_traffic

Very sad.

City Council have only in the last few years changed the layout of that junction at Sandyvale by installing on road cycle lane inbound and a YELLOW hatched box. Did not change the geometry of the Sandyvale entrance though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

That's the location.

Poor child and family.

Fatalities/serious injuries must take their toll on the emergency services, but I don't think you'd ever be right after something like above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭ARX

The other day I had to roar at a woman to stop before she reversed onto the footpath and over a child. She was within half a metre of hitting the child.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/courts/2025/04/07/thousands-of-speeding-prosecutions-on-hold-pending-test-case-over-defective-notice/

Now this might be an obvious statement, but if she was driving at an average of 131km/h, she must have at least once driven at that speed, between the two points. So the statement she was sent is accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭hesker

She’s not denying she offended but is saying that the exact nature of the offence wasn’t stipulated. Whether she has an argument or not remains to be seen