If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

BBC sounds going to be GEolocked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭bureau2009

There should be a protest about the loss of BBC Sounds. Imagine the outcry if Premier League football couldn't be shown in RoI? This is the aural equivalent. What is our Department of Communication doing about it?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

To be fair to the BBC the radio stations are their product and they’re paying rights for music play out so they are in their right to try to restructure costs as they see fit. We don’t face a right to listen to the BBC but that’s why I’d consider a subscription worthwhile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,445 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

The government should have included it as part of this...

https://highlandradio.com/2010/12/15/local-welcome-to-cross-border-tv-deal/

The memorandum commits the two Governments to facilitating the widespread availability of RTE services in Northern Ireland and BBC services in Ireland on a free-to-air basis.

https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/debates/debate/seanad/2010-04-21/13/

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭No Bills

I see an update to the BBC Sounds app waiting for me in the Google Play Store:

Screenshot_20250325-171511.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭TheBMG

when does this all happen? BBC sounds working fine here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Manc-Red_

Update for Sounds on iPhone today and playing away without issues.

Better Born Lucky Than Rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭No Bills

Spring 2025 was the only date given as far as I know. I think there are a lot of people waiting to see when it will happen and what it will mean for listeners.

”Spring 2025” is all that is quoted by the BBC. So anytime up to the 31st May i suppose. Sweden v N Ireland currently in the clear on R Ulster via Sounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,984 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Or mid-June, depending on your definition of spring...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭Genghis

10 minute segment on R5 Tony Livesey just now.

Presenter refers to his international audience, calling out messages from across the globe. He said many had contacted, worried etc, then his guest (James Cridland, editor of Podnews.net) explains a bit more.

Key point being that access post BBC Sounds via 3rd Party apps will be maintained it seems from recent updates to BBC website.

All confirmed in this thread but good to hear. It in BBC (even though it's weird they didn't have a BBC person on to explain it, rather than an independent commentator.

Listen back from around 23.35 to 23.45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,866 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Why would there be an outcry about that? It's a paid service and rights are sold on an individual country basis

What role does our Dept of Communications play exactly with regard to IP broadcasters based outside the State?

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,866 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

The services are available cross-border for services e.g. cable who wish to carry them, it doesn't say the BBC have to pay for carriage outside the RoI - and they don't and won't.

The provision of BBC services throughout Ireland is a commercial decision for the BBC, as, unlike RTE, it does not have a mandate to provide its services throughout the island of Ireland. 

I'm just quoting this:

The memorandum commits the two Governments to facilitating the widespread availability of RTE services in Northern Ireland and BBC services in Ireland on a free-to-air basis.

Maybe the content doesn't match the headline \ summary.

Post edited by odyssey06 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,968 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

slight tangent, but abroad theres a precident for carrying stations from outside the juristiction, eg in Südtirol, the german speaking area of north Italy.

Heres the list of their DAB stations, most from Germany and Austria

https://www.dabplus.de/2020/10/29/dab-in-suedtirol-neue-sendeanlage-verbreitet-35-programme/

BBC services are free to air across the whole island of Ireland on satellite, box ticked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,445 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Widescreen

BBC Radio5 still works ok on BBC sounds app with Express VPN (Chelsea v Man City women on)but it doesn’t work on two 3rd party apps I have. I get the “rights restrictions” stuff. Anyone any thoughts on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

They were discussing it on Feedback on Radio 4 today; https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/m002975q

I can access this on the laptop with a vpn.

I'm a Rock n Roll Amputation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,240 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I think most of the BBC radio stations being geoblocked to Irish listeners is a real shame.

Even though RTÉ have had controversy with how they have spent our TV Licence in more recent years; their own radio stations are still broadcasting their programmes to Irish listeners who live outside of Ireland. They have not or will not make any plans to restrict the broadcasts of their own radio stations to Irish listeners living overseas in the future.

The Taoiseach Michael Martin & the British PM Keir Starmer were having the UK/Ireland summit in Liverpool some weeks ago. Keir Starmer was talking up of maintaining the UK's & more importantly his own special relationship with the Rep. of Ireland. He expanded that relationship by inviting members of the Irish diaspora into 10 Downing St for the new annual celebration for St Patricks Day. It would appear that the relationship between Ireland & the UK was getting stronger by the day. But when this recent spanner in the works is now being thrown about by the BBC; the talks of strengthening our relationships with each other when this news from the BBC is in the headlines does ring a bit hollow to me. Does Kier Starmer not listen to RTÉ Radio sometimes when in 10 Downing St at any time throughout the year. Does he also listen to RTÉ Radio within Ireland as well? Does the same question not apply to the NI Secretary; Hilary Benn while he travels between the two countries as well?

The Feedback on BBC R4 was referencing near the end of the programme that Kier Starmer himself was actually struggling to listen to BBC Radio Ulster while he was on holidays in Donegal. That issue itself is actually an farce when the British PM himself can't even get the chance to listen to a BBC radio station when in a county that literally makes up the 9 counties of NI. It looks like a farce but it is literally reality for himself & many other UK citizens who live here in the Republic of Ireland who are making similar criticisms when trying to resolve this issue of maintaining soft power between the two countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,885 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Ireland has always had an awkward relationship with UK broadcasters. BBC iPlayer, ITVX, UKTV play whatever Channel 5's on demand service is called, all blocked if your device identifies you as a republic of Ireland user. Channel 4 are the outlier. Quite a few commercial UK radio stations are unavailable these days as well. I know people talk up VPN but that can interfere with with other internet of things devices.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭thereiver

On BBC sounds it says there,ll be a new website setup for radio listeners outside the UK ,

Even in the 80s people would put up aerials on the roof in order to get BBC tv on uhf ,no cable tv needed. Eg it would pick up the northern Ireland broadcast signal .also itv and c4 tv uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭Deedsie

William Crawley had a good conversation about this on talkback on BBC Ulster. It's a shame we won't have access anymore. I always enjoyed keeping an eye on politics up North.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,162 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Disappointed it's going but completely understandable that they're blocking the freeloaders, lol.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,126 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Those who listen to live radio via third party services such as Amazon and TuneIn will not be affected.

grand, I only listen to 6music on TuneIn

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

"Those who listen to live radio via third party services such as Amazon and TuneIn will not be affected."

Just pondering out loud here, but if the BBC radio stations are going to continue to be available via 3rd party platforms like TuneIn, then it's not "geoblocking" as such, but merely a case of the BBC Sounds app itself being made UK only?

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

I find that my VPN (Express VPN) does not enable me to listen to BBC five live football and cricket commentaries using 3rd party apps but it will let me listen on BBC sounds, not a good sign I would think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭Genghis

That's it.

I don't think they are worried about say the cost of streaming, they seem to be concerned that BBC Sounds distributes podcasts and other material for free when commercial platforms are trying to monetise the same content for BBC international outside the UK.

There is probably also the argument of cost- let's say the app costs 10m a year to maintain and develop, if half the users are outside of the UK then unquestionably licence payers are subsidising international users. Cut them out and you cut the subsidising. It may not even be a cash saving, i.e. it could be almost the same cash cost just for UK base, but at least it's 100% funded by and 100% for UK licence payers.

I like TuneIn and I'm glad BBC will still be available live but BBC Sounds features like listen back and live rewind are unmatched anywhere, never mind the library of content and full local radio streams, etc.

As others have said, it would have been better if they kept it international but for a paid subscription.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭hold my beer

I can still listen to BBC6 & BBC2 via a Naim smart speaker. Will I lose access soon?

unable to listen to Utd v City on BBC sounds , 5 live using Express VPN , but ironically match is in the clear on BBC World service today!?