Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hamas strike on Israel - mod warning in OP updated 19/10/23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,250 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Im certainly not advocating it, but yes, unfortunately it is beginning to look like they have a free pass. As pointed out, barely a mention of the atrocity you posted last night.

Trump has virtually given Israel a free pass also, he warned Hamas, release the hostages or else. Militarily Hamas haven't a hope in hell of beating Israel, its a lost cause and war at this stage. I just wondered how anyone could think that holding on to the hostages at this stage would achieve anything. It's obvious Netanyahu and idf care little as to their safety anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Equal? I mean we both know that's bullshit right?

I mean Israel have killed (at least) 50 times as many Palestinians in this slaughter. Hostage negotiations generally constitute multiples of Palestinians to Israelis. Israel slaughtered 274 Palestinians recovering 4 Israeli hostages which was championed here. During the 2018/19 right of returns protests, Israel killed 223 Palestinians to a single Israeli, 46 of which were kids. We've had a lads on here, who said what Israel are doing isn't a genocide cause Gazan numbers are up, like its an accounting trick and another who've said the Palestinians shouldn't be trusted with their own state cause of domestic abuse or some shite like that. So yeah, bullshit… I'm not even going to address the nonsense about hiding behind civilians, I mean they learned that from the Israelis. They were doing this back in 1948. I mean glass houses, stones and all that.

If Israel wants to protect its own people and defend its own borders, why doesn't it define what they are? Why does it continue to illegal annex land? I mean does that constitute its own borders? Can I take your house and claim it as my own? I mean again just to be consistent?

Do Israelis have a right of return? Of course they do. If they wanted to. I mean many of them have multiple passports anyway while the majority of Palestinians don't even have one. I think you need to have an auld listen to Avi Shlaim and see the forced displacement of Jews from Arabs lands wasn't quite the narrative we're fed. In any case yeah, the right to return should be extended to them too right?

Why have the Palestinians rejected multiple peace deals? Well to quote David Ben Gurion;

"If I were an Arab leader, I would never sign an agreement with Israel. It is normal; we have taken their country. It is true God promised it to us, but how could that interest them? Our God is not theirs. There has been Anti-Semitism, the Nazis, Hitler, Auschwitz, but was that their fault? They see but one thing: we have come and we have stolen their country. Why would they accept that?"

A cursory look at the details of any "Peace" deals pretty much reveals why. Israel keeping its settlement banks, maintaining control over Palestinian borders and resources, controlling their airspace. Basically legitimizing its illegally annexed territory, maintaining apartheid and not giving them sovereignty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2025/apr/01/palestinian-teenager-walid-ahmad-dies-in-israeli-detention-in-west-bank

Another day, another example of Palestinians being "equal".

Now imagine an Israeli hostage in the same situation. Needs a time to kill monologue...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭taratee

That's convenient. You ignore the source that contains video footage of the incident and countless firsthand accounts from the people of Gaza. As I mentioned a few pages back, the humanitarian angle that supporters of Palestine have pushed on this site is merely a front. Your primary goal is the vilification of the State of Israel—the only Jewish state—and its people.

Nonetheless, I will continue to hope that the State of Israel endures and that both the people of Israel and Gaza can live the lives they deserve—lives filled with peace and prosperity. Even if that happens, supporters of Palestine in the West will still harbor a deep hatred for Israel and its people. And we all know why—that hatred stems from who they are and what they represent.

Am Yisrael Chai - Bring them home.

No, I don’t believe Palestinians face an existential threat for a number of reasons.

Firstly, no country or group has implemented an explicit policy aimed at the total destruction of the Palestinian people. In contrast, Hamas—according to its founding covenant—has an explicit policy calling for the destruction of the Israeli people and the State of Israel. While Hamas has the desire to implement this policy, it does not have the ability to do so. October 7th and it's aftermath are proof of this.

The Palestinian population has been growing steadily over the years, both in the West Bank and Gaza, as well as in the global diaspora. An existential threat typically implies the possibility of complete eradication, yet the population data suggests continued resilience and growth rather than decline.

The Palestinian cause enjoys substantial international recognition and support from numerous countries, organizations, and advocacy groups. The United Nations and various human rights organizations consistently reaffirm Palestinian rights, and many nations officially recognize Palestine as a state. Additionally, significant financial and diplomatic aid flows to Palestinian territories, ensuring that their political struggle remains visible on the global stage. This international backing serves as a buffer against any existential threat by keeping the Palestinian issue in focus and advocating for their continued existence.

Finally, the possession of governing bodies such as the Palestinian Authority (PA) in the West Bank and Hamas in Gaza, which exercise varying degrees of self-rule, indicates that their national identity and political aspirations persist rather than being extinguished.

It's unbelievable, isn't it? Thousands of Palestinians gathered in Gaza last week, urging Hamas to relinquish power and release hostages immediately. Yet, you have people on this forum who claim to be acting with the best interests of the hostages and the innocent people in Gaza in mind, calling for a conditional release.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

I think it would be better that Hamas release the last hostages and leave Gaza. But I don't believe that will solve the problem in Gaza completely. It will be progress but I think there is a legitimate fear that Trump's plan to expel the Gazans, that bibi has said he supports will actually be implemented. We could be just living in the calm before the storm.

Regarding the future of the Palestinians in West Bank it is hard to know what will happen. They have some protection from the majority of the International community but Israel with the protection of the US will challenge that. Israel will continue to be the aggressor in the West Bank as they continue to illegally settle portions of it. I don't seecthat changing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,701 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Historically, the far-Right hated the Jews - that is true. But these days I think the far-Left hates them more.

Rubbish.

The left may be against what the state of Israel are doing in the Middle Eastern region. Things like wanton murder, slaughtering paramedics, killing children and destroying civilian homes and infrastructure amongst other criminal acts tend to draw ire from people, including many Jews themselves.

NONE of that is hatred for Jews.

On the other hand, the right wing tried to exterminate the Jews in their millions only 80 years ago as the zenith of their hatred from both a religious and ethnic point of view.

You and your lot may want to try and portray criticism of a state, a state that is completely out of control with how it treats its neighbours and the second class citizens within it, as "hate", but that's a lie and what's more you know that it's a lie and everyone can see that.

What makes you believe that the Israelis wouldn't just continue their campaign of murder even if HAMAS release the remaining hostages?

Their word? Because that's been shown up as bullshit numerous times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,062 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Anything to say on the murders of the Health Workers and the attempt to hide the bodies??

taratee.

No, I don’t believe Palestinians face an existential threat for a number of reasons.

Firstly, no country or group has implemented an explicit policy aimed at the total destruction of the Palestinian people.

The above was as far as I read. If that's what you think then there's no point in me reading any further.

If you believe that then you have a real problem.

It's unbelievable, isn't it >

15 Health Workers executed and their bodies hidden in a shallow grave and you have people still posting on here that Israel can do no wrong. Unbelievable !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭Fuascailteoir

If you look at what has happened in Gaza and don't think that represents an existential threat then you are deluded. Almost all civilian infrastructure has been attacked and destroyed including water treatment plants, sewerage facilities, hospitals, mosques, churches, health clinics, schools, universities, not to mention the annihilation of civilian homes and farms. Basically everything required for people to live. Add in the blockade of electricity, water, medicine and food aid. Then the systematic slaughter of tens of thousands of civilians and the maiming of hundreds of thousands of others. Your argument is disingenuous in the extreme and beyond contempt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,896 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

A sick and depraved society enables the summary execution of paramedics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭dmcdona

Convenient? Sorry, I'll pick and choose the media I consume - no-one will dictate what I consume.

But remember what the discussion was about - you said Hamas were starting to execute all the protesters.

Perhaps your sources will give an update on the additional murders since the one that was reported? There must be hundreds by now, right?

My primary goal is to call out murder, war crimes and genocide perpetrated by terrorists and war mongers- so that covers Hamas, Hezbollah and Israel.

Your primary goal appears to justify all the above for Israel alone.

as posted multiple times, Likud does indeed have a mantra calling for the destruction and cleansing of Palestinians.

At this stage you may be right, I don't know for certain. All I know is what they said. They said if the hostages were released they'd talk about continuing on to phase 2 of the ceasefire. But maybe they wouldn't, they seem intent on killing on and it seems their excuse is wanting rid of Hamas. So all in all it'd be a gamble. But I know for certain nothing has been gained from holding on to them!

This video shows the complete scumbaggery of the Israelis -

https://www.rte.ie/news/primetime/2025/0401/1505298-irish-surgeons-footage-shows-impact-of-israeli-hospital-strike/

They have absolutely no boundaries and there are no lows they won't reach. People who accept this and back the what they are doing aren't any netter.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 6,907 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Mod note:

2 posts deleted.

No personal comments please, and thank you.

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland, The Courettes, Nine Inch Nails, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Nova Twins

Fair enough - the data is there. As previously mentioned though, what Hamas has done to Israelis and the Palestinians is abhorrent and I utterly condemn it.

Just saw that - that poor 11 year old girl. Likely to lose both legs.

Justice for war crimes must be seen to be done.

Israel has reneged on the Gaza ceasefire.

Israel has broken the Lebanon ceasefire multiple times and continues to do so.

Israel now illegally occupies Lebanon, Golan, Gaza and the West Bank.

Israel is before the ICJ for Genocide.

Two Israeli leaders have arrest warrants against them for War Crimes.

The Israeli premier is currently being prosecuted for corruption.

Hands up - who believes Israel is trustworthy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭political analyst

CPS decisions in cases of lethal force by armed police in England have been influenced by previous such cases, i.e. acquittal of officers who mistakenly but honestly believed that the persons who they shot posed a threat to their lives or to the lives of members of the public meant that, in some cases of fatal shooting, the CPS didn't prosecute on the grounds that a jury probably would've accepted the officers' defence. So it's reasonable to believe that the ICJ could apply a similar logic to Israel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,458 ✭✭✭Odhinn

mispost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,458 ✭✭✭Odhinn

What risk did you think the IOF saw when they shot the guy whose hands they bound?

"According to the UN humanitarian affairs office (Ocha), the Palestinian Red Crescent (PRCS) and civil defence workers were on a mission to rescue colleagues who had been shot at earlier in the day, when their clearly marked vehicles came under heavy Israeli fire in Rafah city’s Tel al-Sultan district. A Red Crescent official in Gaza said that there was evidence of at least one person being detained and killed, as the body of one of the dead had been found with his hands tied."

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2025/mar/31/israel-killed-15-palestinian-paramedics-and-rescue-workers-one-by-one-says-un

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭batman75

As I've said before the Jewish lobby in America renders America a biased player in the middle east. Israel by it's genocide is doing it's international standing tremendous damage. The Palestinian people will not leave Gaza by free will. It's their land. Israel despite overwhelming force has not defeated Hamas or Hezbollah nor in all likelihood can they. So any 'campaign' to do so is a red herring to justify genocide.

I'm not sure how much longer Israel can remain on a war footing in terms of finance and the army's willingness to fight on endlessly. Israel cannot bring itself peace through killing. It has neighbours and it needs to realise that it must co-exist or forfeit it's right to exist in it's current guise.

Exactly.

We have two deeply untrustworthy actors at play here with HAMAS and Israel and it's utterly ridiculous to be coming out with statements about how things are going to proceed if one party does something. Statements to the effect of "HAMAS should hand over the hostages and everything will be grand" are easily proven empty because of Israel's past behaviour, where they have shown nothing but a deceitful and dishonest course of action time and time again.

The bottom line is this, the hostages are the only card that HAMAS have to play even if that means Israel will keep murdering Palestinians. But even if HAMAS hand over the hostages, there is absolutely no guarantee that Israel won't simply carry on, murderous business as usual, because it appears that Netanyahu and his band of psychos don't want this current round of killing to end.

The fact of the matter is this, however…HAMAS were complying with the ceasefire deal that was in place that would have seen the return of all the hostages. It was Israel who reneged on it.

And we all know why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭political analyst

The IDF said that an inquiry had found that on March 23rd, troops opened fire on a group of vehicles that included ambulances and fire trucks when the vehicles approached a position without prior co-ordination and without headlights or emergency signals.

Israeli soldiers would be taking an unnecessary risk with their own lives if they had stayed around to bury the bodies, i.e. being in a sniper's line of sight. None of us is in Gaza but it's possible that the terrorists had bound that guy's hands after he had been killed and had buried his body and the other bodies after the Israeli soldiers had left.

Ah yes. And he had a winning lottery ticket in his pocket. Do you believe that too?